We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bafflingly great gelato.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bafflingly great gelato.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A local business owner, who has also spent time in Italy, and has also eaten much Italian gelato, told me Brocato's gelato was better than most of the gelato he'd had in Italy, and on par with the very best he's ever had. I was skeptical, to say the least.

I was wrong to doubt him.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I too have travelled to Italy and this is as good if not better. A must stop! We had salted caramel which was a special flavor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is the best dessert place and is in a great location.the gelato is great.I love the atmosphere.its a great place for kids...theres a reason its very popular

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just visited Brocato's and had the BEST Tiramisu and Cannoli - the person who gave one star and said they "just returned from Italy" and made a comparison is ridiculous! Of course, it will not rival Europe...but pretty darn delicious for this full-blooded Italian woman from the East Coast! It is rated as a number one place to visit for authentic Sicilian style pastries, biscotti and gelato because of the consistent high quality of the products! Take the Canal streetcar to Carrollton - it is well worth the adventure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Take the Canal streetcar to check out this historic Italian shop. Cannolis gelato biscotti coffee and more. All very good. We had gelato and cannoli. Cool to visit just because its so historic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.