We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,661 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just visited Brocato's and had the BEST Tiramisu and Cannoli - the person who gave one star and said they "just returned from Italy" and made a comparison is ridiculous! Of course, it will not rival Europe...but pretty darn delicious for this full-blooded Italian woman from the East Coast! It is rated as a number one place to visit for authentic Sicilian style pastries, biscotti and gelato because of the consistent high quality of the products! Take the Canal streetcar to Carrollton - it is well worth the adventure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    69
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Take the Canal streetcar to check out this historic Italian shop. Cannolis gelato biscotti coffee and more. All very good. We had gelato and cannoli. Cool to visit just because its so historic.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentically Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Best cannoli I've ever eaten. Off the beaten path, but so worth the short drive down Canal Street. My husband got the creme horn(?) and it was equally delicious. A NOLA treasure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, FLorida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Folks, This ice cream shop is #1 restaurant in NO?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The reviews on this ice cream parlor, giving it a rating as the #1 restaurant in New Orleans is beyond my comprehension. We went based on these reviews, and we were disappointed in the adventure. Yes, the ice cream is OK, not the best I've ever had, but it's fine, the service is OK, the bakery items were average, the atmosphere also average. When fellow reviewers give it a "must visit" rating, it naturally brings in visitors. I am not against Angelo Brocato Ice Cream Parlor, I'm just being realistic for the sake of travelers who depend on Tripadvisor.

It's a long drive from the French Quarter for an ice cream cone so get out your electronic map, and it's an even a longer drive when the gelato is more or less average, parking is minimal, and there's very little to see in the area of Angelo Brocato;s.. It's a small ice cream parlor in what may be a vintage building, but surely not a tourist attraction.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“stop by at least once everytime we're in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

probably the best Chestnut gelato outside of Florence. super seed cookies. Convenient parking. we always stop in before getting boiled crawfish To-Go at KJean's next door, or after dinner at Luizza's (another great italian family owned eating establishment) around the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.