We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop by at least once everytime we're in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,600 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Redding, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“stop by at least once everytime we're in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

probably the best Chestnut gelato outside of Florence. super seed cookies. Convenient parking. we always stop in before getting boiled crawfish To-Go at KJean's next door, or after dinner at Luizza's (another great italian family owned eating establishment) around the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    62
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

we recently visited New Orleans. Trip Advisor ranked Angelo's #1 well they were right on!! the ice cream was awesome but the bakery items were out of this world!!! We live in California and plan to visit New Orleans again and this place will be our first stop. You have to go here if you are in New Orleans

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Italian deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is your must do if you are looking for Italian treats in New Orleans. It used to be the only place to get gelato in the city, and is still the best. They also do authentic Italian coffee drinks and make amazing cannolis.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Brocato's is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have tried the best Italian bakeries in New York, Boston and the like and none of them hold a candle to Brocatos. It is the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cannoli! Espresso! Spumoni!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you miss Brocato's....well....you've missed one of the best spots in New Orleans! If you want authentic Italian pastries, ice cream, and coffee.....with a slice of New Orleans history thrown in...then this is the place to go! I've had cannoli all over the world....Brocato's is THE BEST!!! My son says that their espresso is "the real thing". Don't miss perusing the old photos on the wall. A slice of New Orleans history!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.