We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gelato! Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Dessert in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great gelato! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The gelato is delicious. They have tons of flavors. I had the New York Style Strawberry Cheesecake. Amazing!

My husband was very impressed with his espresso.

But... we are in the tiny minority (maybe it's just us?) -- we did not enjoy the cannoli. The chocolate filling is more like hazelnut, not very chocolatey (perhaps it's supposed to be that way and we're just not cannoli people?).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spotted_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great ice cream. Chocolate chip was the best. Wife loved the pumpkin cheesecake. Very nice setting, quiet and cozy. Off the beaten path so you can enjoy without the riff raff of the French Quarter. Take the time to go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best of old New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has the freshest, and by far the best, canoli(s) on earth. Their ices are made with local fruits. Their other pastries are great too. This is a MUST when we visit family and friends in NOLA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wernolabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know how they do it, but I'm local, go frequently, and always think it's better than the time before. The coconut and blueberry gelato are a must try. I wish they still had the French Quarter location, but it's without question worth making the trip to Mid City.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank klmatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingG0urmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing