We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gelato! Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Ice Cream in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Dessert, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Memphis, TN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great gelato! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The gelato is delicious. They have tons of flavors. I had the New York Style Strawberry Cheesecake. Amazing!

My husband was very impressed with his espresso.

But... we are in the tiny minority (maybe it's just us?) -- we did not enjoy the cannoli. The chocolate filling is more like hazelnut, not very chocolatey (perhaps it's supposed to be that way and we're just not cannoli people?).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    77
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kaplan, Louisiana, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great ice cream. Chocolate chip was the best. Wife loved the pumpkin cheesecake. Very nice setting, quiet and cozy. Off the beaten path so you can enjoy without the riff raff of the French Quarter. Take the time to go, you will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The best of old New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place has the freshest, and by far the best, canoli(s) on earth. Their ices are made with local fruits. Their other pastries are great too. This is a MUST when we visit family and friends in NOLA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know how they do it, but I'm local, go frequently, and always think it's better than the time before. The coconut and blueberry gelato are a must try. I wish they still had the French Quarter location, but it's without question worth making the trip to Mid City.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.