We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,600 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know how they do it, but I'm local, go frequently, and always think it's better than the time before. The coconut and blueberry gelato are a must try. I wish they still had the French Quarter location, but it's without question worth making the trip to Mid City.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    63
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Praline gelato amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You have to get the praline gelato. It's a must! Plus the straciatella is excellent. That is the Italian equivalent of our chocolate chip. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Spumoni is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of my favourite walks in the world is along Esplanade Avenue from the French Quarter/Faubourg Marigny past Treme to City Park, and then down Carrollton to Angelo Brocato. The houses on Esplanade are brilliant, you see Edgar Degas' mother's place and an unusual girl who has an ostrich as a pet. Then you get to City Park, feed the ducks and swans, and walk down to this great Italian cafe that used to be in the French quarter. The spumoni is brilliant. The aniseed flavoured cookies are old school Italian. The cannoli are light and fluffy. The atmosphere is fun with a mix of locals and tourists. I recommend a jaunt to this place highly even if it is some distance from the classic tourist haunts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Italian Ice Cream at it's finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

You walk in and its cold, especially great in the summer. Then, your problems begin as there are so many options that my mind freezed up. This spumone is so good and then you have so little time before the next choice. This is a slice of New Orleans that needs to be tasted. I think they have made this Italian delicacy for over 100 years

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.