We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Ice Cream in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I don't know how they do it, but I'm local, go frequently, and always think it's better than the time before. The coconut and blueberry gelato are a must try. I wish they still had the French Quarter location, but it's without question worth making the trip to Mid City.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    78
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh Lordy can I have a cannoli!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great Gelato. Awesome Cannoli, cookies are fresh and delicicious. This is an original New Orleans favorite which dates back to the turn of the 20th century. Same family traditional old style 'Little Italy" flair. Oh ...The baba au Rum. Coconot gelato, spumoni, zuppa inglese. and of course all the coffees.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Praline gelato amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

You have to get the praline gelato. It's a must! Plus the straciatella is excellent. That is the Italian equivalent of our chocolate chip. Don't miss it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
241 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Spumoni is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

One of my favourite walks in the world is along Esplanade Avenue from the French Quarter/Faubourg Marigny past Treme to City Park, and then down Carrollton to Angelo Brocato. The houses on Esplanade are brilliant, you see Edgar Degas' mother's place and an unusual girl who has an ostrich as a pet. Then you get to City Park, feed the ducks and swans, and walk down to this great Italian cafe that used to be in the French quarter. The spumoni is brilliant. The aniseed flavoured cookies are old school Italian. The cannoli are light and fluffy. The atmosphere is fun with a mix of locals and tourists. I recommend a jaunt to this place highly even if it is some distance from the classic tourist haunts.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Italian Ice Cream at it's finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

You walk in and its cold, especially great in the summer. Then, your problems begin as there are so many options that my mind freezed up. This spumone is so good and then you have so little time before the next choice. This is a slice of New Orleans that needs to be tasted. I think they have made this Italian delicacy for over 100 years

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.