We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo Brocato Ice Cream

Angelo Brocato Ice Cream
214 N Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-5109 (Mid-City)
(504) 486-0078
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mid-City
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent gelato, wonderful tiramisu, and the staff is very nice! My husband loves the turnovers, too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    65
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“old school italian deserts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wow!!!!!! You have to get a canoli. I prefer the tradional one but a 1/2 & 1/2(1/1 chocolate) is a good way to go. Spumone is the really good too. I always leave with a few italian cookies too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I took my husband here for his birthday after hearing about it in a PBS cooking show! Lidia's Italian kitchen I think is the name of the show. We had the frozen cappuccino pie, cannoli, and the spumoni cheesecake. All was delicious. I've been to New Orleans many times and only live 45 minutes away, but had never heard of this great place before!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of New Orleans's best: historic Italian Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

For a lack of better term I have called Angelo Brocato's an Italian Cafe. It totally reminds me of the Italian Ice Cafes of Europe. They serve great Gelato, Italian Ice, Tiramisu, and cakes. They also have Cannoli and italian cookies. You can enjoy all of this with Italian coffee specialties. I love going after a nice dinner out, or even just to meet friends.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Loved the Gelato Loved the Spumoni, loved the Spumoni Cheascake. Also very handy. You can get off the cable car at Carrolton ave and they are there. Not a fancy place but great food

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo Brocato Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Angelo Brocato Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo Brocato Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.