We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on pretty Julia St.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Isle Restaurant

Grand Isle Restaurant
575 Convention Center Boulevard, New Orleans, LA (Central Business District)
504 520-8530
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Isle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #286 of 1,627 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Fulton St & Convention Center Blvd
columbus, ga
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food on pretty Julia St.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

They have all the New Orleans dishes some with a twist. The grilled shrimp po-boy was yummy. Food quality was good but tourist priced. Atmosphere and service were great. Outdoor seating on pretty Julia St is the best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    119
    43
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I LIKE THIS PLACE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I just wandered in here in the late afternoon on a weekday .... OK I was playing hooky on a business trip and a little inebriated, but I really liked this place.

It was the Wednesday before Super Bowl and things were beginning to hope around town.

The Isle was starting to fill up with folks that had obviously been there before and staying at a nearby hotel, but they came here for a good drink(s), good food, and good company.

The braised pork shoulder was delicious. The beer, cocktails, and oysters were exquisite.

Had a great time - that I barely remember

Enjoy

Cheue

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seafood can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a simple dinner at the oyster bar that was top notch. Oysters were as good as I've had and the seared tuna was excellent... and the desert, WOW

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food & service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ate here with friends on Saturday, 2/16 for lunch. We had the raw oysters(good). I had the BBQ shrimp and it was very tasty. Ate some of hubs boiled crawfish and it was spicy and quite flavorful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently got back from staying two nights at the Loews hotel. We were travelling with our dog so Loews recommended the Grand Isle restaurant right by the hotel because there was outside seating. The crowd was light and it was pretty weather for eating outside. The fare is average chain restaurant type fare. Seasoning was missing but food was average to slightly above average. If we were not travelling with a dog I am not sure we would have eaten here. We would have eaten in the Quarter where the restaurants there are not shy about dropping the red pepper in the meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Isle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grand Isle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Isle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.