We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a best value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2820 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119 (Mid-City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Austin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NOT a best value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

There were some good things about this hotel, but not much. It was very cheap and had free parking. The area wasn't bad, and the location was an easy drive to the French Quarter and garden district. Now for the cons. Worst thing was that the toilet seat in our bathroom was broken, so you felt like it would slip off each time you used it. Next, the wireless signal was too weak and they recommended you just use it while in the lobby. The fridge in our room did not work, there was no microwave as advertised, and the entire hallway/room smelled like smoke even though we got a non-smoking room. Bottom line, only stay if you need a cheap place for the night that has a bed and bathroom. Don't expect much else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thumperbopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We went to the hotel in New Orleans on Tulane. This is the WORST hotel I have ever seen in my life. We booked a King Suite overlooking the pool from the website, when we got there, we were on the third floor in a corner room that had 2 dirty doubles in it and the room looked like it had been in a brawl or bust. We went back downstairs and their appeared to be a "hooker" in the office, and spoke to the desk clerk, who said this was their king suite, in the meantime, their were drug deals going down in the parking deck. After we got back to the room we noticed other things like the hairdryer didn't work, the carpet was dirty, the toilet had not been flushed, it was HORRIBLE! And looking out the fire escape, it looked as if "anything/anybody" could be lurking in the corridors, not to mention the sign at the front desk about putting your things in a safe due to forced entry and they would be insured up to $10,000. Needless to say we were not there more than 30 minutes and got our money back and came all the way back home, as their were no other rooms within miles for that weekend! Our hotel here in Pensacola, is a nice, clean, and as far as I know reputable part of y'alls chain. You may want to reconsider this paticular location being affiliated with you or your website in any nature~!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cc_mc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

SOUTH BURLINGTON
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I had stayed at this property years ago when it was a Best Western and had always found it a convenient location. I had a rent a car but in hindsight it really wasn't necessary. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel, a short 2 block walk will take you to the trolley car on Canal Street. As this was my first post Katrina I went back here out of habit. For a good basic room this place was fine. I had called ahead to negotiate a rate for a 4 night stay. Upon arrival, which was at 10:30 PM, I was made to feel like a real VIP and received a superior room. Amenities included a micro wave and a mini fridge. The wireless internet worked like a charm and the full cable TV was nice add on. The A/C unit was quite and cool and the pool was clean and refreshing. The free continental breakfast was simply coffee and sweet rolls but it was free and got the day off to a good start. Don't hesitate to stay at this property.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

This motel was clean, and a decent value for the money -
it has Wifi and breakfast included in the price. Location was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rishikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
church point, LA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The Pictures & Description of this Bate's Motel is all a huge inflated lie. No deluxe continental breakfast, no newspaper is just the beginning. Add in the filthy unreliable elevator, piles of pigeon poop, vagrants outside the office; BLACK MOLD on walls, filthy sheets with cigarette ashes and burn marks; we were assigned 3 different rooms in one night due to the outrageous conditions we were sleeping in. A/C broken. Brown bath water. Blood stained carpeting. Box springs in all 3 rooms stained beyond reason. No remote controls. TV's in poor condition. Windows so dirty you couldn't see out. Never saw whirlpool or sauna or work out room. One pool working but no lights for night time safety, hidden areas and accessible to street people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesknees0568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2005

This was a trip booked through LastMinuteTravel. While the price was very reasonable, I learned you get what you paid for. It is indeed in a very unsavory part of town, and you learn quickly not to venture out after dark alone. It was located nearer to the SuperDome than to downtown, which was about a $7.00 cab ride to get to the French Quarter.
When I booked the reservation, I asked for a smoking room with king bed, and got a non smoking double, which they did not want to change. When we arrived, the front desk clerk stayed on an obvious personal call, not acknowledging our presence. When I asked for the room to be changed, there was a fair amount of attitude. She did grudgingly change it to a smoking room, but stated that to upgrade to a king bed was $10 per night additional, and I would need to call the people who made my reservation. The elevator was substandard at best, and scared the bejeezus out of my boyfriend and myself for the creaking rolling and grinding sounds.

The room smelled, and the covers had stains on the undersides. The bathroom tub and toilet both dripped. The heating and cooling system were substandard at best.

The "free breakfast" was lousy old coffee, watered down juice, and silver dollar sized stale pastries. They also advertised a outdoor hot tub, though there were numerous signs we never did find it. The best part of the hotel stay was our shuttle driver, Irene, who dropped us wherever we wanted to go, and was VERY friendly.

The trip itself was great, though the city is not the most fragrant.
Beware the 3 for 1 drinks! Very dangerous! Also, do not be seduced by the souvenir glass offerings. Go to the visitor center first thing for discount coupons in the Louisana and New Orleans travel guides.
Best advice I can give ANYONE going to New Orleans: bring Purell and toilet seat covers. Even in the best locations, the toilets are really quite gross given that New Orleans is below sea level.

I am more than happy to provide other reviews of local activities, and my own top ten list of things to do while on vacation to N'Awlins. :)
Aquarium of the Americas, RiverWalk, MardiGras World, Cafe du Monde, Jackson Square, Garden District, the cemetaries, Moonwalk, and I highly recommend taking a Swamp Tour. Top eats for us included Emeril's NOLA, Bubba Gump, and Margaritaville.

Laissez le bon temps roullez! (Let the good times roll!)

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2004

staying at this hotel is a HUGE mastake. The office is outside the hotel and there is a wall between the elevator door where you go to your room and the office. They CAN NOT see who is entering the hotel. And there IS NOT any security.on duty. On top of this is that wasnt bad enough. its in a BAD neighborhood. the people AT THE HOTEL desk told me do not go out at night it is a bad area. I will never stay there again. New Orleans I love you but NOT the best western patio hotel!

Helpful?
8 Thank the_undertaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#57 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Treme
The Treme Hotel
The Treme Hotel
#70 of 156 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites - New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2820 Tulane Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70119
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed due to damage from Hurricane Katrina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing