We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #61 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a great hotel, all staff was very helpful. Wyatt and Donald were excellent in customer service
gave us excellent dining choices and other helpful hints. The room on the other hand is very small not enough room for anyone let alone a family of three. I would recommend this hotel. One block from Bourbon St.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
77
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights. The associates were very friendly and everything was fresh and clean. I just can't stress how small the lowest priced rooms are. Literally, there is the bed and about 1 foot on each side to walk. The TV sits on a built in table/mini closet. We had to put our large bag up on this and had a hard time seeing the TV. There is truly nowhere to put anything!The bathroom is nice but, again, nowhere to put anything. If you can afford it, make sure you upgrade for anything longer than 1 night. We decided to stick it out and it was fine. Also, since this is an old building without a lift, it was quite the adventure finding our room. It was up a flight of stairs, across the walkway, through a few different small doors...you get the picture - like a maze. If you are older or have any issues walking, make sure you get a ground floor room. I would stay here again if I could afford to book a large room. If not, then no.

Room Tip: The lowest priced rooms are very tiny. Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Donald and associates went above and beyond to make us comfortable- incredibly impressed and will stay here again in a heart beat. AC went out in our room so they gave us an automatic upgrade, no questions asked. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Had a room here for 1 night. So close to bourbon street with a safe walk. Nice staff, very helpful. Beautiful old building. Our deluxe room was up on the top floor, there was about 3 inches of space under the door because the floor was tilted. The door also didn't lock from the inside. There was a crawl space utility closet in this room that should have been locked but the door was wide open to it and wouldn't shut. Sheets weren't totally clean. Worst part- there was a cock roach in our room that crawled up through a hole in the floor. Thankfully they gave us a new room, and upgraded us to a balcony suite even though it was midnight. Very accommodating staff beautiful place just got bad luck on the first room !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed her June 20-22. A whole weekend in the city! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one if the balcony suites on the 3rd floor. It was perfect! It took me a little while to get the jacuzzi tub working. I would have to press the button a few times before it really started blowing. But once I got it to work, it was amazing on my sore muscles from walking all day. Eric has to be the most helpful staff person! He told us about a parking spot right infront if the hotel, so that meant we had free parking all weekend! And he also gave me a bucket to carry ice upstairs instead of me using the tiny ice bucket. Overall, our stay was wonderful! We'll definitely stay again! It's in the perfect location! Right in the middle if everything! I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Charming Historic Hotel on antique shop lined Royal street and just two blocks off Jackson Square. This was our third stay here in as many years and once again the staff made the stay special. Helped with locating and suggesting truly local New Orleans spots. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: They have smaller more economical rooms on the rear section but we prefer the balcony rooms along Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hey the hotel is beautiful and recently renovated, but the rooms are minuscule, some even without windows, Our room was so small we had to stand our luggage in the hall for the whole three days we were there, imagine having to get your luggage out when ever out whenever you wanted something from a bag, there was nowhere to put anything. The hotel also has no lift, so in a building of this age where there is so many levels, I hope you love stairs and lots of them. Having said this the staff were great and will still managed to enjoy the experience. (P.S. they will tell you that a standard bed is a Queen size, don't believe them.)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room but be prepare to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.