We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed her June 20-22. A whole weekend in the city! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in one if the balcony suites on the 3rd floor. It was perfect! It took me a little while to get the jacuzzi tub working. I would have to press the button a few times before it really started blowing. But once I got it to work, it was amazing on my sore muscles from walking all day. Eric has to be the most helpful staff person! He told us about a parking spot right infront if the hotel, so that meant we had free parking all weekend! And he also gave me a bucket to carry ice upstairs instead of me using the tiny ice bucket. Overall, our stay was wonderful! We'll definitely stay again! It's in the perfect location! Right in the middle if everything! I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    55
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
86
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Charming Historic Hotel on antique shop lined Royal street and just two blocks off Jackson Square. This was our third stay here in as many years and once again the staff made the stay special. Helped with locating and suggesting truly local New Orleans spots. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: They have smaller more economical rooms on the rear section but we prefer the balcony rooms along Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hey the hotel is beautiful and recently renovated, but the rooms are minuscule, some even without windows, Our room was so small we had to stand our luggage in the hall for the whole three days we were there, imagine having to get your luggage out when ever out whenever you wanted something from a bag, there was nowhere to put anything. The hotel also has no lift, so in a building of this age where there is so many levels, I hope you love stairs and lots of them. Having said this the staff were great and will still managed to enjoy the experience. (P.S. they will tell you that a standard bed is a Queen size, don't believe them.)

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room but be prepare to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Beautiful old hotel recently renovated. The hotel is situated parallell to Bourbon street and on the quiet side. Nice and clean rooms, meager breakfast. A lot of stairs if you are accommodated on the third floor. Good prices. There is a parking lot on the back of the hotel which you can use in exchange for a daily rate. It is however quite hard to find as it is located close to a irish pub. It could be worth a while to try to find other parking, but according to my experience there are few close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good price for the location. You can be anywhere in a matter of minutes. Just remember, you get what you pay for. Lite on amenities and parking. The staff is great. Deluxe rooms are small but quaint. Will most likely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had an amazing trip to New Orleans May 11th-15th, and Hotel Royal definitely met almost all of our expectations! It is a very cool building with a nice courtyard in the back. We booked a Royal Balcony Suite and the room was very nice and very spacious! We enjoyed the minimal decor and the marble bathroom (although we agree with those who stated that a shelf or two would be nice to put your things on). We were very impressed at how well preserved the building was! One of my favorite parts of the trip was beginning and ending each day on our shared balcony. The location is absolutely perfect, situated on a very quiet stretch of Royal St.! The air conditioning ran very cool in almost 90 degree heat, and it was very quiet. I am a light sleeper, and was woken up each day by other's doors shutting and the occasional street sweeper, but that's to be expected in such an old, historic building. As many others have stated, the staff was amazing and VERY helpful! The breakfast is in a little alcove off of the lobby and was adequate with pastries, coffee, tea, and orange juice.

My only critiques are very minor. Being that we booked the most expensive room option, it would have been nice to have a little refrigerator tucked away somewhere, as well as an in-room coffee/tea option. There were a few other minor, picky details that could be improved on (too minor to mention) that would make the stay a little more satisfying, but I still would not hesitate to stay here again! We had a wonderful time and definitely fell in love with New Orleans!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divide, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location is great!!!! Staff is super friendly and very helpful. The building is old and all so beautiful with history to boot. However the stairs were a killer for my elder aunt with bad knees who stayed with me my first night in town. The breakfast/Croissant were good and of course you can't beat that New Orleans Chicory coffee. Parking is minimum, first come first serve. I'm originally from NO but now reside in Colorado which is where my husband is from. This trip home was both business and pleasure. Who comes to the Fabulous French Quarters and not go out to play LOL?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.