We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Nawlins class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #78 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Painesville, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Nawlins class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights - my first trip to New Orleans, one of a few for her. The Hotel Royal has a rustic, classic hotel feel. We stayed in two rooms while there - both were very clean. The first night - we arrived far before check-in time, which is normally 4pm. We were going to just leave our luggage and stroll the streets for a few hours, but they were able to check us in early. We paid for a "deluxe" room and I think, because of the early arrival, we may have ended up in a standard. That room was small, but quaint. Unfortunately, it must have been under an air conditioning unit and there was a constant, loud hum. In addition, the room was on a bit of a slant and one side of the bed made it feel as if you were rolling toward the other. So, we politely asked the next day if we could switch rooms. The staff was very pleasant and accomodated the request right away. The new room was far larger and very nice. It was next to a stairway, but the noise was minimal and didn't bother us at all. The bathrooms in both rooms were a bit cramped but nice - adorned with marble sinks and very clean. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful - possibly the best aspect of our stay there. We needed an extra towel and something like 2 minutes later - they were at the door. Eric was particularly helpful - ready with directions, luggage assistance - very knowledgeable. Everyone on staff is great. The location is very convenient to everything in the Quarter. Community Coffee is across the street - like Starbucks with better tasting coffee! Which was nice. I would recommend this hotel to others and I would be happy to stay again!

Room Tip: Ask and pay for a deluxe room - they are a bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear CEagle69,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us at the Hotel Royal. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant experience with us! I would like to apologize that you experienced a noise issue on your first night, but am glad we were able to remedy the situation quickly for you. Here at the French Quarter Hotel Collection, our staff is one of our strongest assets and Eric is a prime example of that top notch guest service we strive for. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to New Orleans!
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    42
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
62
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
from Cincy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Charming, historic, clean, great staff, great location just off Bourbon, easy walk to everywhere you want to go. Bottled water and light breakfast were nice touches. Rooms are small, I needed a deluxe.

Only real concern was the bed, You kind of roll toward the center. Needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear KenK,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay, and please know we will actively work to ensure your expectations are exceeded upon your return.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a milestone anniversary in New Orleans, and we booked ourselves into the Hotel Royal. We drove into N.O. from Houston which we enjoyed, however driving in the French Quarter and down Decatur Street was an experience. The hotel does not have any parking so be prepared to drop your bags and find a place to park. The staff was very helpful and steered us to some parking about six blocks away. Parking is around $25 a day which is not too bad for major North American city.
Now Hotel Royal is a quaint French Quarter Hotel, and it allows you to live that experience of all that is the French Quarter. This is a well restored historical hotel, updated, and tastefully decorated. The rooms are small, but you are not going to spend too much time there with all that there is too see in this great city. The rooms are laid out well and are very functional, someone knew exactly what they were doing. Bed was comfortable, and the room was comfortable even in the hot and humid New Orleans environment (they do have AC, not to mislead). If you require wifi, it is adequate for some browsing and the price is right (complimentary).
One thing you may need to know, no elevator, so if you are vertically challenged you need to let them know. I should of, but chose not to ask for a different room, and with my luck we ended up on the third floor, which was fine because it added to the charm with their nice central court yard. The hotel does have that old world charm, so enjoy it....... You walk a lot in the French Quarter so be prepared for the hotel stairs.....they almost did me in one night.....LOL
Cannot say enough about the staff, they were wonderful. The bellman who took our bags up two flights of stairs was polite, courteous and left us with a great impression. The front desk advised us on great places to dine and their suggestions were spot on. The staff was awesome.....truly impressed. Hotel Royal is a great place to hang your hat in NOLA. Only a little more space and parking would have bumped them up to five out five, but then you might not have that French Quarter charm, so better left alone..........price was realistic, so not too worry......would stay here again, but on a lower floor .......LOL

Room Tip: If you are older and mature with a knee replacement like myself, ask for the first two floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Bcdurangoboy,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Royal to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience celebrating such a milestone with us. Hotel Royal does have limited parking available on site; however regrettably our lot was full during your stay. We really pride ourselves on our talented and charming guest services staff, and I am glad they were able to enhance your experience with us. Thank you again for sharing your review and we hope you have many more happy Anniversaries!
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Go to Canal Street if you're looking for Westin or Hilton-style comfort. This is an old building, although it's been maintained well. As a solo traveller, I found the petite room on the third floor fine for me...if there were two of us it might have been a little snug...but it's a petite room in the French quarter...what do you expect? Yeah, I heard noise out my window...but it's the freakin' French Quarter. Expensive, sure...BUT IT'S THE FREAKIN' FRENCH QUARTER!!! It blows my mind sometimes how places like this get less than three stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Joshshea,
We are thrilled that you had such a great stay with us at Hotel Royal! Thank you for taking the time so share your experience, and we look forward to you staying with us again when your travels bring you back to the Big Easy.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Reserved two days before, so I understand I would pay more but when other reviews say the rooms are small, that's an understatement. Ours was in a remodeled attic, Queen bed (nothing larger will fit). No elevator to any of the three floors. Very narrow passageways and balconies. WiFi didn't work throughout as advertised. The ice machine is located on the bottom floor. On top of the outrageous prices, they also get a $150 deposit on your credit card as you check in, which they refund when you check out if there is no damage. Location is very good, close proximity to Verti Market & Bourbon St.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear TallTrainer,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Hotel Royal. Hotel Royal was originally a Creole townhouse in the 1800’s and therefore our rooms range in size. We are sorry to hear that the space was a challenge for you. Usually we recommend a Royal Superior Suite or Royal Balcony Suite for our guest who prefer more space and the Deluxe Suites for those guests who enjoy the location with less need for space. Our Revenue and Sales team works diligently to ensure that our rates are competitive with those comparable to Hotel Royal.
Sincerely,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After coming to this city a few times on other occasions, we made the decision to finally stay in the French Quarter. Loved, loved, loved the location. One block over from Bourbon Street and convenient to all the popular attractions in this city. Parking situation was not great....but they did give us a parking pass to park behind the hotel in a quiet little lot tucked in between several buildings (a little pricey......but at least we got to have a parking spot). We can't say enough good things about the staff. They were all so incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was a quaint room facing the lovely and quiet courtyard. The door handles were only about 2 feet off the ground.....but the hurricane shutters and the old doors only gave the place more charm. Would defintely stay here the next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear LuvsTOOtravel,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Hotel Royal. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time at our charming historic property and were wowed by our dedicated staff! We hope you will come back and see us if your travels bring you back to New Orleans.
Many Thanks,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Perfect location, in the middle of the French quarters. Parking places are limited but there is a public parking (French market) minutes away).
Super nice and helpful staff. Our room was tiny but adorable, elegantly furnished, We had cable TV, a super-clean bathroom and big windows letting the bright sun in.
Our room was very conveniently located next to the roof (smoking area) so we enjoyed a great view of the street and typical New Orleans architecture.
The breakfast was average and no-fuss, but we enjoyed eating it outside, next to the fountain in the interior court area.
Altogether, we could not have picked a better place to stay, in the heart of New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Moufly,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Royal! Breakfast in our courtyard is a guest favorite and we are glad you were able to enjoy a peaceful start to your day. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and we look forward to your return.
Regards,
Bradley Latham
Guest Services Manager
French Quarter Hotel Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.