We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need more room numbers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Need more room numbers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I'm a past resident of New Orleans and we regularly travel there, so we've been through a lot of hotels! As charming as Hotel Royal is, I probably wouldn't stay again for a couple reasons I'll explain, but I would recommend it for travelers who want to experience the best part of the Quarter (and who can handle lots of stairs!). It's quaint and has a GREAT location, and the decor is stylish and cool.

First, I must give credit to both guys who worked the door/cars/taxis/bags - they were so friendly and went above and beyond! They make the hotel, for sure. The property has great character, but a lot of stairs as I mentioned, so bring your walking shoes. (Luckily, those great guys at the door are happy to haul your bags!)

Our room was nice, quiet and spacious, but there were some issues - like no shelf or counter in the bathroom. There was plenty of room for one, though, so I ended up bringing the desk chair in to serve as our shelf. This would be an easy fix so I hope the hotel addresses it. Also, a small dresser or a drawer in the closet would be nice. Not everything can be hung up (like socks).

The main issue with our room (16) was that there was apparently another room with the same number. One night, late and tired, after treking up 4 flights of stairs, our room key didn't work. No way was I making the hike again after a full weekend of jazz festing, so I called the front desk. Turns out, they accidentally disabled our key when they checked people in to the other room 16, but they ran right up with new keys. All good.

I'll also point out that our room was in a corridor, up a set of narrow back stairs and down a hallway, with one room on the side and ours at the very end. You would really have to go out of your way to get to it. Imagine my surprise (and fright) on the last night of our stay when I awoke to heavy footsteps down the hall and right up to our door at 4:30-5am. I could hear the key go in and was thankful I had locked the extra bolt. Away they went. Maybe 15 minutes later, back again, trying to get in the door. We both bolt out of bed, turn on all the lights and I call the front desk in a panic. They said the guy was in the other room 16 (see the problem here?) and acted like it was no big deal, they'd point him in the right direction. An apology would've been appreciated. Heart racing...

It is a small hotel. It's not like they are out of numbers. So why 2 rooms with the same number?! Not to mention, the room next to us was...39. So perhaps 40 would've made more sense? I planned to bring this up when we checked out in the morning, but the gal at the desk didn't ask the one question always asked when checking out of a hotel: how was your stay? I was flabbergasted and suddenly speechless. Just a 'here's your receipt.'

My final issue was the price for what you get. They charge the same or more as many of the higher end hotels, but the quality just didn't measure up. Now I know this was Jazzfest and rates get inflated, but still, it wasn't quite worth it. Plus, there was a nightly $12 service fee for wifi and a continental breakfast that I never saw. Not sure where it was hiding.

For those reasons, and the fact that there are so many great hotels in NOLA, I'll stay elsewhere in the future, but if you an find a good deal, go for it. Again, great location and style, just make sure you get a room of which there is only one of. :)

Room Tip: Make sure there is only one with your room number unless you like surprise guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Royal. We are actively working to change the numbers of the room, however throughout this process multiple items need attention before changing - - electrical panel labels, phone lines, lock mechanisms, as well as custom numbering. Our team reads all reviews and uses the feedback of all of our guests to ensure that we are re-creating a guest-oriented experience. I do apologize that you found your departure experience to be less than outstanding, and will work alongside all staff to ensure we are able to ensure no future issues. As far as the nightly resort fee, our property has not charged this fee as of May 15th. This fee actually can no longer post, and has been removed from all reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
65
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bear, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. Location was perfect, everything was in walking distance. Close to all the action but still got to enjoy peace and quiet. The courtyard was a great place to sit and relax. The room was spacious and very clean. Was extremely impressed with the decor and the natural aspects of the building. Couldn't hear a sole. The staff was helpful and very knowledgable. Small downside was the number of stairs, however was great exercise and kept the charm about the hotel. Parking was limited but were able to get place close to hotel and secluded so didn't have to worry about anything happening to my rental car. Definitely planning on returning in 2014 for Mardi Gras!

Room Tip: Recommend room on the third floor over looking the courtyard, on the left side of courtyard. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Owner at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious Deluxe Room overlooking our tranquil courtyard. The serenity behind the walls of our restored townhouse adds to the feeling of relaxation, even in the middle of the French Quarter. Thank you for taking the time to review your past stay, and we cannot wait to hear about how great your future trip will be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to New Orleans. We were very satisfied with everything about this hotel. The location is within walking distance to all attractions. The room was clean and looked just as nice as the photos online. The staff went above and beyond!! They are so helpful, especially Kendall. The only drawback we found was parking but the staff works with you to find parking close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, at Hotel Royal. Our team works diligently to ensure only the best experience for each of our valued guests. It was our pleasure to serve you throughout your visit, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First room we were given was not good (no windows, no space, noisy a/c) and I had a bad first impression but we were soon moved into a wonderful balcony room that was clean, spacious and comfortable, followed by a courtyard room for the next two nights which was so cosy and light. The courtyard was lovely and although breakfast was not substantial it was certainly welcomed. As mentioned the staff are great, particularly Eric who was so helpful. I would stay here again if back in New Orleans as the location was great.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It is true that one room within Hotel Royal does not have windows. This internal room is within our petite category, but still offers a Jacuzzi tub and queen sized bed. We were happy to move you to one of our Royal Balcony Suite’s followed by a two-night stay in one of our courtyard-facing Deluxe Rooms. Each of our 43 individual guest rooms offer a unique style that many guests enjoy on their return to see what is next around the corner. Eric is such a valued member of our hotel staff. His commitment to each guest’s personal experience is hard to match. We look forward to your return, and hope you will continue to share your experiences when traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The location was really good. The atmosphere was "quaint" and interesting and we had fun climbing all those stairs.
It's not a five/four star hotel with amenities and the walls were VERY thin...
The A/C had problems which the staff felt really bad about, but this is South LA and A/C is mandatory for comfort and enjoyment of the stay.
Hope they resolve the problem soon

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing your recent experience with Hotel Royal. Unfortunately during your stay we had a series of electrical issues that lead to overworking of many air handling units. All of these items have been addressed, and we foresee no future issues in regards to major outage of air conditioning. We were happy to provide you with complimentary accommodations for your stay, and look forward to your return visit to give us a second chance to show you what being a valued guest of Hotel Royal really means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The best thing has going for it is the location. It was in the sweet spot of the French Quarter, and still just far enough from Bourbon St that we weren't bothered by the noise.
We booked one of the larger, patio penthouse rooms and loved having the patio that looked over Royal St. on the top floor. It wasn't too much more expensive, and was certainly worth it.
After reading other reviews, no surprises about the lack of an elevator. The Bellman was more than happy to assist with our bags. Overall, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

My regret however, is that we had to switch hotels after we were told the A/C could not repaired in our room. We already had one night without it, and it was pretty bad. The Receptionist felt horrible, and I feel he did try to do everything he could. Sadly, there was nothing else to move us to, and we ended up moving to another hotel. I don't hold this against them. Things happen, and in these cases, it's how they responded that really matters. Their concern were genuine and they offered to comp the first night- which I totally appreciated.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room with the patio. So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
At Hotel Royal, we strive for every guest to have a problem free stay. If problems do arise, we work diligently to find a solution. Unfortunately in this instance we were unable to repair the issues to your Royal Balcony Suite’s air conditioning, and we did not have accommodations to meet your individual needs. We will never expect a guest to pay for a product that they were not able to fully enjoy, and we assure you that your next visit to New Orleans will be problem free at our property. Please feel free to call me directly when planning your future stay, and I will make sure we are able to place you in the best-of-the-best. (504) 944-2260 – Kenny Marrs – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before boarding a cruise. The location is in the French quarter, which we had never been to. We had a hard time finding the hotel because of all the one way steers. When we arrived, we realized there is no parking lot and so we had to Ho around the block again to park, then carry our luggage down the street to the hotel. I will say the hotel itself is charming. But so is a good night's sleep. We were in room 1 the first night. You could hear every guest arrive, every footstep they took, every word they said. The bed caved in the middle so badly that we couldn't even sleep. Ice machine is broken. The marble floor in the bathroom is icy cold in Dec. Breakfast was awful. There was only lukewarm water in the shower. We are not really complainers but we thought we were being punked when they started cleaning the streets outside our room at six in he morning. They did move us to another room.The next room was a challange to get to but so much better. The bed was normal and we never heard another guest. Still for the amount of money we paid for the room, it should have been better. The next morning the water was tepid at best, we decided to wait and shower on the cruise ship. Also, we had to pay a ton of money to park our car. Not worth the money unless it is mardi gras.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Leahandmac,
Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Royal. Upon your return, please contact our sales team directly. We would love the opportunity to offer you an upgraded experience.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.