We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Royal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The location was really good. The atmosphere was "quaint" and interesting and we had fun climbing all those stairs.
It's not a five/four star hotel with amenities and the walls were VERY thin...
The A/C had problems which the staff felt really bad about, but this is South LA and A/C is mandatory for comfort and enjoyment of the stay.
Hope they resolve the problem soon

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I would like to take the time to thank you for reviewing your recent experience with Hotel Royal. Unfortunately during your stay we had a series of electrical issues that lead to overworking of many air handling units. All of these items have been addressed, and we foresee no future issues in regards to major outage of air conditioning. We were happy to provide you with complimentary accommodations for your stay, and look forward to your return visit to give us a second chance to show you what being a valued guest of Hotel Royal really means.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
49
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The best thing has going for it is the location. It was in the sweet spot of the French Quarter, and still just far enough from Bourbon St that we weren't bothered by the noise.
We booked one of the larger, patio penthouse rooms and loved having the patio that looked over Royal St. on the top floor. It wasn't too much more expensive, and was certainly worth it.
After reading other reviews, no surprises about the lack of an elevator. The Bellman was more than happy to assist with our bags. Overall, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

My regret however, is that we had to switch hotels after we were told the A/C could not repaired in our room. We already had one night without it, and it was pretty bad. The Receptionist felt horrible, and I feel he did try to do everything he could. Sadly, there was nothing else to move us to, and we ended up moving to another hotel. I don't hold this against them. Things happen, and in these cases, it's how they responded that really matters. Their concern were genuine and they offered to comp the first night- which I totally appreciated.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room with the patio. So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
At Hotel Royal, we strive for every guest to have a problem free stay. If problems do arise, we work diligently to find a solution. Unfortunately in this instance we were unable to repair the issues to your Royal Balcony Suite’s air conditioning, and we did not have accommodations to meet your individual needs. We will never expect a guest to pay for a product that they were not able to fully enjoy, and we assure you that your next visit to New Orleans will be problem free at our property. Please feel free to call me directly when planning your future stay, and I will make sure we are able to place you in the best-of-the-best. (504) 944-2260 – Kenny Marrs – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before boarding a cruise. The location is in the French quarter, which we had never been to. We had a hard time finding the hotel because of all the one way steers. When we arrived, we realized there is no parking lot and so we had to Ho around the block again to park, then carry our luggage down the street to the hotel. I will say the hotel itself is charming. But so is a good night's sleep. We were in room 1 the first night. You could hear every guest arrive, every footstep they took, every word they said. The bed caved in the middle so badly that we couldn't even sleep. Ice machine is broken. The marble floor in the bathroom is icy cold in Dec. Breakfast was awful. There was only lukewarm water in the shower. We are not really complainers but we thought we were being punked when they started cleaning the streets outside our room at six in he morning. They did move us to another room.The next room was a challange to get to but so much better. The bed was normal and we never heard another guest. Still for the amount of money we paid for the room, it should have been better. The next morning the water was tepid at best, we decided to wait and shower on the cruise ship. Also, we had to pay a ton of money to park our car. Not worth the money unless it is mardi gras.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Leahandmac,
Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Royal. Upon your return, please contact our sales team directly. We would love the opportunity to offer you an upgraded experience.
Kenny Marrs – General Manager – French Quarter Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As many reviewers have stated, there are some issues with this hotel, primarily emanating from its renovation from an old mansion to a hotel:

- quality of the rooms varies greatly! We originally stayed in a room with terrible, loud noise from a nearby AC unit. However, the staff was very gracious and moved us to a lovely room that was higher up and quiet.

-noise level. Again, when we were in our original room, we were located near a main "thoroughfare" which caused us to be woken up frequently by people walking around and shutting doors at all hours of the night. Once again, the problem was solved after we moved rooms.

-The "resort fee." Of course I understand that the resort fee covers breakfast and Internet, but note that 1) Internet isn't available in all the rooms (the location of our second room caused a very weak signal), and 2) the "continental breakfast" is very standard-- granola, yogurt, cereal, croissants, juice/coffee. We ate out almost every morning because the breakfast wasn't hearty enough for a full day of walking. I would have preferred to have the resort fee included in the main nightly rate, because I honestly felt like I was paying for two things I didn't use.

However, we loved our stay!

- Location! Couldn't be better--off a quiet but centrally located block in the French Quarter.

- Cute, boutique style. Very modern and comfortable settings.

- The mansion gave the feeling of a real "New Orleans" stay--beautiful courtyard and rooms tucked away everywhere (again, as some reviewers have mentioned, the lack of elevators/the abundance of steep stairs may not be appropriate for elderly or disabled guests).

- The staff! Everyone was incredibly kind and helpful. Several members of the staff went far beyond to ensure that we had great recommendations (food, attractions, etc) as well as helping us change rooms simply and easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am proud to announce that no future guests will be paying the previously enforced “Amenity Fee”. As the new General Manager of the property I can assure you that this was a top priority. It is our team’s goal to ensure that each guest receives a value matching the price they pay for accommodations. We wish to be less of a commodity and share the unique style within the walls of this 1826 Creole Townhome – Hotel Royal. I understand that noise may sometimes be a factor as many guests prepare for a night of festivities, or returning from a night out. The front desk staff will always work to find the right fix for all of our guests, and are empowered to assure the utmost levels of service are met. I thank you for your review, and look forward to welcoming you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Besides, the initial glitches of air conditioning units not working and being moved 3 times, I can honestly say that the hotel experience was a pleasant one. I stayed 4 nights and experienced no problems in terms of noise or poor service other than having to request my room to be serviced (on 2 occasions this had not been done by 4pm). The rooms appear to have been revamped fairly recently and are nice and clean. Just bear in mind that it is an old hotel, so there is no elevator.
The hotel is well located in the French Quarter for tourists and within easy walking distance of the infamous Bourbon Street on the one side, and the French Market on Decateur.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am sorry to hear that there were issues upon your arrival. Our expectation is for all guests to enjoy a 100% problem free stay, but during those unforeseen circumstances we take pride in being ensuring all issues are addressed immediately. In this instance we were unaware of the leak in the line for the units servicing your rooms, and we sincerely apologize. As far as housekeeping service, unless requested stayover service does not begin until later in the day. We do take all requests for housekeeping service at multiple times, but due to the age of the building and lack of elevators we service each room in different sections. I am glad that you felt as though our staff took care of you, and I speak for all of our team when saying we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Royal. We loved it! It is in the perfect place to enjoy everything the French Quarter has to offer with a quick walk. Alethea, Ryan, & Kendel were awesome and super helpful. The room was very nice, air conditioning cold, & everything was very clean. I cannot say enough good things about the location. Some of the other reviewers mentioned stairs... yes there are allot ( but not a problem if you don't have mobility issues or if you ask for a ground floor room). Some of the other reviewers mentioned the desk staff being unfriendly- we did not find this to be the case. Alethea was our favorite, however everyone staff person we met went above and beyond to make our stay great. We kept saying that we were really glad we found Hotel Royal. We will be back.

Room Tip: We booked an upgraded room based on the reviews saying the petite rooms were small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, at Hotel Royal. Our team takes great pride in providing an unmatched level of service. We, as a team, are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return to the Crescent City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a friend during the jazz festivals. We had a room on the 3rd floor. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean, but the room itself was EXTREMELY small. When you walk in, the bed takes up most of the space and there's absolutely no room to lay out your luggage. It was annoying because whenever we had to go to the bathroom, we would have to climb over our luggage or the bed to get to it. There was only one tiny closet in the corner, not sufficient for two females. Also, NO WINDOWS in the room which made it kind of dreary and NO CLOCK, so we had no concept of time whatsoever.

However, I have to say that the staff was very nice and accomodating. Special shoutout to Eric, Mike and Kendel! They always pointed us in the right direction as to where all the hotspots/good restaurants were. Definitely got a great feel of southern hospitality- a big difference from always having to deal with rude New Yorkers! lol

The courtyard in the hotel was very quaint, definitely a nice place to chill and unwind before/after a night out. The location of the hotel was great as well, right on Royal Street in the French Quarter.

Over all, the room was kind of ehh, but you don't spend much time in the room anyway... it's New Orleans! ;) We would definitely come again based on the location and the staff alone. Just ask for a room with windows! lol

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of Hotel Royal. I am so pleased to find that our staff was able to make a noticeable contribution to your stay by offering above and beyond service. Our property has a unique and modern feel that is only improved upon by the wonderful team in place. Each have a personalized role at our properties that I feel contributes greatly to the success of Hotel Royal.
Each of our 43 rooms is unique in style and layout. The room you stayed in, Main House 15, belongs in our Petite category. It is the only interior room on property, and while some guests enjoy the quiet and lack of windows; others do not. When someone requires a different type of accommodation our staff works diligently to ensure that each individual guest needs are met. Please know we would have made the same effort for you had we known about your desire for a more open feel. We offer rooms that vary in size and some even max out at 780 square feet, allowing our guests to not only enjoy the city but quite a bit of time in our lovely Royal Balcony Suites. I have checked with housekeeping, as well as personally inspect the room, and have found that it does have our iHome iPod Docking Station & Clock in the room.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Also Known As:
Royal Hotel New Orleans
Royal New Orleans
Address: 1006 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116 (Formerly Rue Royal Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal has completed 100% renovations of all sleeping rooms and suites as of September 2011. We are also currently under new management and working diligently to correct all challenges faced in the past. Our new staff is here to serve you and ensure that your stay with the Hotel Royal is a wonderful experience! Located in the heart of the French Quarter on the corner of Royal St. and St. Phillips, Hotel Royal is the perfect location for leisure and business travelers alike. All 42 contemporary rooms and suites are surrounded by brick walls, high ceilings, fan windows and comfortable furnishings in the antebellum style. Accommodations range from courtyard rooms to large balcony suites with Jacuzzi, complete with private bath and wet bar. All guest rooms feature:-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-Welcome Amenities upon arrival-All-marble bathrooms with spa tub or shower/tub combo-Suites with iron-laced balconies-Recessed Lighting -Wi-Fi access-Flat screen LCD TVs-Irons and ironing boards-Individual air conditioner controls-Ipod clock radios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.