We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David and Phillip are wonderful hosts. Better than "a home away from home".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Street Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Save
You added Royal Street Courtyard to your Saves list
2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“David and Phillip are wonderful hosts. Better than "a home away from home".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time that our large group has stayed at the Royal Street Courtyard. Our hosts David and Phillip were very helpful with maps and suggestions of the "must see and do" places in New Orleans. The rooms were cleaned daily and even when I made the bed (out of habit) in the mornings, we would come back and find it was beautifully remade. We had ten people and had booked 5 rooms. When we arrived all was in perfect order, we dropped our bags and off we went to eat and explore. The hot tub is situated very privately with an outdoor shower in the lovely backyard of the Bed and Breakfast. The place has some very unique and antique items including furniture, beds, and china cabinets filled with interesting glassware. Breakfast is good with a nice selection...come early as the delicious cinnamon toast goes fast! The Bed and Breakfast is lovely and the owners David and Phillip go out of their way to make your home away from home a warm and comfortable experience.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have balconies and there is also available the old cooks quarters and staff quart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
205
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If I tell you about this place it will just make it harder to rent our favorite room in future--oh what the heck! We always ask for the same room. It has an ensuite bathroom with small fridge, and the window air conditioner means you can set the temperature/humidity the way you prefer. Best of all, the tall windows flanking the bed open to become doors onto the veranda. From the veranda you can listen to birds and watch the neighborhood's daily life from rooftop level. Unlike the French Quarter 15 minutes' walk away, it is quiet and slow on this block. I especially enjoyed the sunny Spring day we sipped mimosas and nibbled Central Market muffelletas from our fridge. We knew the proper beverage was a Barq's root beer, but my wife is a rebel. The restaurants and jazz clubs of Frenchmen Street are 15 minutes' walk in the other direction. We have been visiting this B&B/hotel for 2 decades, and when we were in our 40's thought nothing of walking to the terminus of the red trolley, then letting that take us to the downtown convention center. Now that we are less frugal and in our 60's we just call a taxi from the nearby taxi stand (the longest wait was 5 minutes). We have walked from Frenchman Street after dark and never felt unsafe. When we stay in hotels like the Hilton or Westin we feel like tourists; when we stay here we feel like part of the neighborhood. They have a web site so you can view photos, which will do a better job than I could at describing the place. A few times instead of flying to New Orleans we drove for 12 hours and found street parking to be easy. The car's GPS made finding out of the way places lots easier, plus hosts Phillip and David are fonts of knowledge. Katrina spared this neighborhood, but you should not pass it by.

Room Tip: You can choose between the inner courtyard jacuzzi or the front of house veranda. Notice which rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed near this B&B on a trip in 2012 and walked by this place every night on our way home. The sleepily-lit front porch with rocking chairs, the sound on the water fountain gurgling in the garden, something about this place just spoke to us and we decided we would stay here next time we were in the city. Fortunately, we didn't have to wait long. We came back in March 2013, and the house and the owners did not disappoint! The rooms were so beautiful, each one different from the others, and Philip and David were so friendly and helpful. The location is ideal, close enough to Frenchmen Street that you can walk there in a few minutes but also quiet enough that you can sleep in. We stayed in #10 in the front of the house, beautiful high ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, and a balcony overlooking the street. We promise we will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've stayed at Royal Street Courtyard three times over three years. The most recent being March 2013 and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in New Orleans.
Phillip and David are great hosts. When you first arrive, Phillip will greet you and will be very happy to give you a quick run-down of things to do and places to eat in the local area. He can also provide some interesting background on New Orleans and the B&B, itself.
The location of the B&B is just perfect. The Marigny is a very friendly and safe part of town. There are loads of great places to eat in the local area and in the Bywater (about 15 minutes' walk). If you're in town for the nightlife then Frenchman Street and the start of the livelier French Quarter area is just four blocks away. I also recommend getting a 6-pack of Abita from Schiro's, tuning into WWOZ and sitting on the front porch (and waving at the friendly locals) or in the private courtyard at the back.
I've stayed in four of the rooms over my visits and found them all to be very comfortable. The rooms are all cleaned and restocked daily. A selection of breakfast cereals and bagels with great chicory coffee is provided every morning which is perfectly good but if you're looking for something more substantial then there are plenty of local places to get breakfast. I recommend Cake Cafe or Cafe Nero.
All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Thank you Phillip, David and Booboo. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The front rooms upstairs have front facing balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I really can't praise this B&B and the hosts enough. The building itself is beautiful, and the rooms and clean and well equipped. The owners David and Phillip always make you feel at home and are full of information about the area and especially where to eat and drink. The area is without doubt the best part of New Orleans. It's around a 5 minute walk to Frenchmen Street, but is far enough to be a bit quieter. There are also lots of great places to eat and drink in the Marigny area, much better than the tourist traps in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place has so much charm and the location cannot be beat. But what really made our stay so memorable was the hospitality. We have stayed at our share of B&B's, and Philip and David are by far the best hosts we have ever had. They were so helpful and accommodating and really went above and beyond for us. Our first night there, we nearly missed our dinner reservation (made weeks in advance) due to a mix-up with the cab service. When they realized the cab was not going to arrive in time to make our reservation, they piled us into their own vehicle and hightailed it to the restaurant, which was a good 15 min. drive away. How awesome is that?! We only wish we had booked our entire New Orleans stay at Royal Street Courtyard. We will definitely return. Thanks so much for a great experience Philip & David!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I very rarely am compelled to write restaurant/hotel/Yelp reviews, but was determined to sing Phil and David's praises just after an hour upon arrival (which was three hours too early, but they accommodated us with such warmth anyway!) Stay here, and you'll immediately get a thorough and thoughtful lay of the land, awesome recommendations for eating/shopping/music all nearby, and feel like you have your own home base to come back to after a day of touring. The location is awesome - convenient to more touristy destinations, but in a quiet yet happening 'hood of its own. I actually started bugging Phil weeks before even arriving in NOLA, and he graciously offered us travel tips for the city where we were visiting before (Houston) and also helped us plan for awesome things to do in NOLA while we were there - if it weren't for Phil, we wouldn't have seen the Super Sunday Mardi Gras Indians parade, or the Downtown Parade which just happened to go by our Inn the first night of our stay! Phil and David, thank you and hope to see you again sooner than later!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Address: 2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Street Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.