We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think in a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Street Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Save
You added Royal Street Courtyard to your Saves list
2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Think in a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

One of the best place I have ever been. Beautiful, colourful and full of life, it is also close to real life in New Orleans. I mean, local and excellent coffee shops, bakeries, restaurants. Moreover, Philip is a fantastic guy to talk - and, sometimes, he can prepare a map with the best places to have food and listen to the music. Marvellous.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
206
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Royal Street Courtyard has a great location -- just 4 blocks from Frenchman Street -- and is a great value. Your hosts are eager to help inform you about the area and have wonderful suggestions for resturants and jazz clubs along Frenchman St!!! Royal Street Courtyard is a refreshing B&B off the heavily traveled area around Canal Street, but offers easy walking to the French Market and French Quarters -- along with easy access to the river front street car. If you want a big cooked breakfast, this is not your place (but good food is all around them). But the continental breakfast provided is good, and plenty of other choices nearby. All-in-all just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clemmons, nc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a week here in Jan. 2013 and loved this place. The location is great being only a few blocks from the action on Frenchmen St. Philip and David keep a very neat and clean place and are very helpful with local info. The breakfast is usual do it yourself continental but they are always there to help you get started with interesting conversation. We were concerned that car parking on the street might be a problem but this is a quiet neighborhood and we were always able to park a few steps away. There are several good places to eat and grab groceries nearby.
Our room was no. 10 which we picked because of the king bed. I was concerned that being in front we might have street noise but the room window air handler which we could control took care of that and we had our own balcony to sit out on nice days. We liked the sitting area in the room and the many lamps which you never see other places. The bath is down the hall and very small which might not be good for some folks. There is a wonderful hot tub out in the courtyard. They do have a small cat but it stays in the parlor although it will try to get in your room if you are not careful. We have stayed all over NOLA every year for the past 20 and this was our absolute favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

No need to say anything else about Phillip and David, just awesome hosts! Perfect location, walking distance to most sights in New Orleans yet at a quite and very residential neighborhood.
Totally recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Boo Boo and her staff, Philp and David, were the perfect hosts. On arrival Philip went through all the places to see and eat with map, which was fab! The B& B is perfectly located only 4 blocks from the FQ. Boo Boo was so accommodating that she stayed with us throughout our visit to make sure we didn't wander off the beaten path. We went during Christmas which was wonderful! All the houses were decorated and there were not too many tourists to deal with. I would highly reccomend going during Dec. The back garden was beautiful with a large fountain with ducks (fun yellow plastic). Boo Boo and her staff are avid collectors of ducks, so please take as many ducks as possible whan you visit, I am sure they will be well appreciated. Love to Boo Boo, Philip & David and all...........stay at this B & B and you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately my husband smokes, so rm 109 was great as it had a small balcony where he could nip ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valla, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Phillip and David are true hosts with the most! From the minute we arrived it was like coming home. Phillip took time to run through all the local eateries and sights on a map he had prepared earlier, dilligently explaining everything of value worth seeing. His recommendations for restaurants saw us eat at all the BEST kept secrets in NOLA. A few minutes walk from Frenchman Street, and a few more to the madness of Bourbon ST , this little gem built in 1850 is fantastically situated. A laundry 100metres away (great for those on the road for a while), great little cafes, organic coops, dot this quiet residential neighbourhood.
Morning coffees on the verandah with David learning about Louisiana history and all its intricacies
was so much fun and informative. Late night in the hot tub with a glass of bubbly after experiencing great music down Frenchman - Priceless! Thanks sooo much Phillip and David and of course Boo-Boo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

After two stays with Philip and Dave I can say with confidence that they operate one of the best B & B's in New Orleans if not the entire US. Perhaps not as refined or fancy as some but as far as charm, history, ambiance, location and hosts go....no contest.
Phil and Dave are founts of info on NOLA and in particular Marigny and the Quarter. If you need help or advice with just about anything NOLA they either know it or will find out. I recommend you try for one of the front rooms with balcony access overlooking Royal St. And if you go during the Krewe de Vieux Parade at Mardi Gras they pass right in front. Best views ever!
Remember your camera's.

Room Tip: like I said....front rooms with balcony access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Address: 2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Street Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.