We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty on Royal St!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Street Courtyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Street Courtyard
Save
You added Royal Street Courtyard to your Saves list
2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty on Royal St!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at the Royal St Courtyard was a dream come true, and we would return in a heartbeat. Phillip and David are great hosts. Our pre arrival communication was spot-on,and when we arrived we were treated to a beer to enjoy on their lovely verandah whilst our hosts gave us a good, comprehensive orientation to the house, location and history of New Orleans.They always made time to chat and ask about our wellbeing.
The house itself was beautiful, and fulfilled our long held dream of staying in an antebellum style house in Old New Orleans. The location was marvellous, close to everything, but in a mainly residential area,and we would have loved to have had more time to sit on that verandah and watch the world go by.
We walked everywhere folowing our version of Frommer's Walking guides to New Orleans, and went on the streetcar to the Garden District.
We had come to New Orleans to eat and to listen to music, and thanks to the excellent recommendations from our hosts as well as from other TripAdvisor reviewers we did both in style.We especially enjoyed our dinner at Cafe Atchafalaya in the Garden District, Coop's Place,Casamentos,and the little local place around the corner from our home that Phillip will tell you about.The night we spent at Snug Harbour listening to the Uptown Jazz Orchestra will long remain in our memory as will the sweet pure voice of Alex Bosworth at Maison Bourbonin noisy, Bourbon St.We loved our stay at the Royal St Courtyard, and would like to wish David and Phillip and all of New Orleans our love and good wishes for a happpy, prosperous future.We hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Please remember to reserve as far ahead as possible to get the style of room you desire.The room No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
206
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salmon Arm
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Marigny, adjacent to the French Quarter, is the best neighborhood to stay in the city, and the Royal Street is the best place to stay in the Marigny. Are there more luxurious hotels and b&bs in the area? Sure, but the Royal Street's combination of affordability, charm, location, comfort and the friendliest, kindest hoteliers you will ever encounter make this b&b our destination when we visit New Orleans. The few blocks around Royal Street are studded with wonderful old shotgun houses, neighborhood coffee bars and friendly, interesting residents -- this has got to be the outstaning residential neighborhood in the entire city). And while guests are indeed only a 20-minute walk to the French Quarter, they are only steps from Frenchmen's Street, the real heart of New Orleans music scene.

The b&b was built before the Civil War, and old slaves quarters, now converted into small but comfortable rooms, are still attached to the main house in the back. The b&b itself is on two floors with wide hallways and seven or eight large rooms, each with its own personality and decor -- and 15-foot ceilings! (In the two rooms facing Royal, the huge windows slide up so guests can sit on the broad 2nd-story balcony and watch New Orleans roll by. Despite the obvious challenges of maintaining such a wonderful old building, somehow David and Philip and the lost boys keep up and the place is always clean and well maintained. Wonderful tropical gardens cover the grounds.

Rocking chairs are waiting on the long front porch, and so is Philip and his assistant, Kitty Kat. Philip is always there to orient new guests, suggest restaurants and cultural events, and generally make everyone feel right at home.

Quibbles? Well, the breakfast (on, gasp, unrecyclable foam plates) is pretty basic (but Philip and Dave will go out of their way to get what you want as long as it doesn't need to be cooked), but who cares? Within a blocks you have a dozen wonderful, cheap restaurants, including Schiro's down the street and the fabulous Cake Cafe a block away.

New Orleans is a great city, and the Royal Street Courtyard is a great place to stay while you are there.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the former slave quarters are quite small; the two on the 2nd floor facing Royal ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Royal Street Courtyard. When we arrived Phillip, our host was waiting to greet us. He took the time to orient us to the area and provided lots of recommendations and advice to ensure that our first trip to New Orleans was the best. And he didn't fail.
We stayed in room #12 which is a 2 room suite with a futon in the sitting room and a double bed in the bedroom. The room has a private bathroom. Lots of room to spread out.
Every morning, David, our other host, greeted us in breakfast room with fresh New Orleans coffee. There was fruit, breads, fruits, and juices available also.
The B&B is a short 4 block walk to Frenchmen's St and a few more blocks and your into the French Quarter.
The only change I would make would be coffee making facilities in the bedrooms. Other than that this is a perfect place to spend your time in New Orleans. Thanks, Phillip and David!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelin' Kentuckian
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you have watched the HBO series "TREME", you have had a glimpse of the music and fun on nearby Frenchmen Street. Many of the set locations for the series center on this up and coming area. You couldn't have a better location or better hosts for your visit there than the people at the Royal Courtyard Bed and Breakfast. The owners immediately make you feel at home at this wonderful B&B in the Marigny District, just blocks from the action on Frenchmen Street and the French Quarter. All their recommendations were spot on. Their rooms were comfortable, well appointed and a real value for the New Orleans area. Royal Courtyard is a wonderful choice for anyone visting the French Quarter and for enjoying the array of music clubs (D.B.A., Three Muses, Blue Nile, among others) on Frenchmen Street. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Philip was an incredible host. The house and the room were beautiful and a far cry from some soulless hotel. Went to New Orleans with my girlfriend. The street it was on was charming and very close to Frenchman street and the French Quarter but just far enough away so as to be relaxing and an oasis away from all the tourists and tourism. The price was excellent and philip was incredibly helpful even giving us a map to guide us round the 9th ward as well recommending some excellent and not touristy restaurants away from Bourbon street. If you want to be right in bourbon street 24/7 this place probably isn't for you but if you want to have a great flavor of New Orleans and a relaxing visit this is definitely it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

The Royal Street Courtyard is a beautiful home in the Marigny. What makes it most special is the wonderful host, Phillip. He gave us a thorough introduction to the area with a map marked with all his favorite spots. We followed quite a few of his recommendations for coffee, meals, and shopping and they were all great! The location is wonderful. You can walk to Frenchman Street for great food and music, and it's a short walk to the Quarter. We even walked to the Warehouse district and it was not a bad walk at all. It's a good place to relax too; the front porch is great to sit and say hello to the friendly neighbors, and there's a lovely courtyard with a hot tub and outdoor shower. Our room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast choices were great, though we mainly just had coffee and some fruit before heading out for beignets. Thanks Phillip, David, and Miss Mo for a great stay! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Just as the title of this review implies, this b&b is a great value for what you pay for, which is a fairly inexpensive rate to begin with.

PROS:
--Wonderful location. Minutes from the French Quarter but located in a safe, colorful, quaint neighborhood filled with locals instead of tourists.
--I felt completely, utterly, wholly safe in this neighborhood. Never did I feel unsafe, even late at night. I'm not sure why some reviewers think this is a sketchy area.
--Within walking distance to great food (like Cake Cafe), fun cafes and bars, Frenchmen Street.
--Strong A/C in the rooms, which is needed.
--The house itself is clean, beautiful, full of character.
--The hosts are friendly and know everything.

CONS:
--I can't really think of any. This is no Ritz, obviously. But considering we paid about $109/night, I can't say much bad about the place at all. The breakfast is incredibly basic and made up of cereals, store-bought bagels, etc. But you're in New Orleans--go out and get breakfast from one of so many amazing places!

FINAL VERDICT:
Yes, I'd stay here again!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Street Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Street Courtyard

Address: 2438 Royal Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Royal Street Courtyard Hotel New Orleans
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Street Courtyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.