We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic stay in the Big Easy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Perrier

Save Saved
You added Maison Perrier to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison Perrier
4117 Perrier, New Orleans, LA 70115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
mpdonn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic stay in the Big Easy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place is the best kept secret in New Orleans! So why am I writing another review? Well I am attempting to curb my selfish inclination towards keeping it that way by letting others experience true southern hospitality the way we have during our times at The Maison Perrier! The propitiators Tom and Patricia could not be more welcoming and helpful. The room we stayed in "The Dolly" was beautiful and spotless.Breakfasts and staff outstanding! If you possess even the slightest hesitation towards staying in a bed and breakfast over a hotel set it aside. While at the Maison you can have a stay that is as private or as social as you want to make it. The other guests we met were very interesting and shared great suggestions for exploring the city. It is extremely close to the Saint Charles streetcar so you can be down in the French quarter in a flash. Tom provided us with great music suggestions as well as excellent dinner suggestions! I could write a book about all this place has to offer but do yourself a favor and experience it yourself! Laissez les bons temps rouler!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
136
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and our stay could not have been better. Tom and Patricia, the hosts, are excellent at what they do. They've created a comfortable, warm atmosphere in a quiet, safe neighborhood in the Garden District of New Orleans. Tom was so welcoming when we arrived, after a long day of driving. They do have parking, either in a driveway, or on the street. And M.P. is located only 3 blocks from St. Charles Avenue, so it's an easy walk up there to catch the streetcar at Milan Street to head to the French Quarter. If you want to go back and forth during the day, or take other streetcar trips (Canal Street or Riverwalk streetcars) - you might be best off to buy an all day streetcar pass for $3/day. Otherwise, the trips are $1.25 each way. By the way, I think when we were last in New Orleans, 10 years ago, it was the same fare on the streetcar. Unbelievable - a bargain for transportation, we think.
Definitely take Tom and Patricia up on their recommendations for places to see, things to do, and where to eat in New Orleans. They have great suggestions, and are happy to call in dinner reservations for you, if need be. They also have a bookcase of attraction brochures and a huge notebook of restaurant menus available for guests to review in the sitting room.

The breakfasts were outstanding each morning, as well. Our first day was a crustless quiche/frittatta, then cinnamon french toast croissants, then another egg dish, and on our last day, scrumptious orange french toast with bacon. Prior to the hot breakfast (which is served 8:30-9:30) you can help yourself to fresh fruit, dry cereals, bagels, or yogurt. And, in addition to these gourmet breakfasts, late every afternoon, their were either cookies or brownies and pound cake out for afternoon/evening snacking/desserts. There is also an honor bar with wine, beer, soda, and water.
Our room was the Charlotte, and it was larger than I expected, and very comfortable. By the way, the photos of the rooms on the website for the inn don't do them justice - Tom can email you updated room photos if you want better views. The rooms are really lovely, and well maintained. We thought our mattress was very comfortable, and our room was quiet, as well.
We absolutely loved our stay at Maison Perrier, and would 100% stay here again, and would highly recommend it to others traveling to New Orleans, as well.
We felt that the rates were a great value, too. Note that the rates quoted include the full breakfast, and include taxes, as well, which most room rates do not.

Room Tip: Ask Tom to email you updated photos of rooms - current online pics don't do them justice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This B and B is just right. It's in a quiet, almost bucolic neighborhood of tree line lined streets, stately oaks and some magnificent homes. Yet it's just two blocks from the historic St. Charles Street trolley or the #11 bus on Magazine Street, both just a twenty-minute ride from downtown or the French Quarter. Our room was big, airy, comfortable and beautifully appointed, with high ceilings, a balcony and a huge bathroom. Breakfasts are in keeping with NOLA's high culinary standards.

But what makes Maison Perrier special are its hosts (Tom and Patricia) and its staff. They could not be more welcoming, warm and attentive, recommending restaurants (all excellent choices), making reservations for us, suggesting itineraries and side trips, and calling cabs.

Maison Perrier is a bit pricey, but worth every penny we paid. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I took my teenage son to New Orleans over spring break-because all the hotels around the quarter were booked, I ended up looking for a B&B and luckily found Maison Perrier. The room was a little more than I was looking to pay but it was a great place to stay on a quite neighborhood street. We certainly return there. We stayed in the Bea Room...the pictures on the website do not do this room justice. Tom told me on the initial call they had recently renovated the room--It is awesome. Large king size bed-very comfortable, the room was very large, a private deck and a little alcove that has a day bed. The bathroom was extra large and spacious as well. Tom and Patricia were both helpful and available but not in an obtrusive way. Tom had tons of suggestions about things to do and places to eat...even noting the actual street addresses for us on a map. The main house is warm and welcoming. They use the walls as a gallery for local artists, so there are tons of interesting paintings. They have lots of games available for use, an honor bar with a great wine selection, water and soda. Breakfast was excellent. Great stay and worth the money!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in don't book a room near the kitchen. Bea has a private porch--
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I visited New Orleans for the third time. We always stay at B&B's both in and around The French Quarter. This time we tried Maison Perrier. We were very happy with our experience there - from the moment we were greeted at the door to the day we were saying good bye. We stayed in The Dolly Room which was absolutely lovely. We had a very comfortable king bed and a semi private porch (which was really quite private). Our breakfasts were perfect - not too big and customized to our dietary needs. There were always home-baked treats in the home, and a self serve bar (including "pull your own" beer). The B&B is located on a very quiet road at the far edge of the Garden District - close to the streetcar and a few blocks walk away from Magazine Street. Thank you to the owners of this wonderful B&B for making our stay so enjoyable, relaxing and memorable.

Room Tip: The Dolly Room as a king bed and semi-private porch that opens from your bedroom - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Maison Perrier is a special place. We've stayed many times and each time is equally good. We can't say enough good about the Innkeepers, the staff, the breakfasts, the ambiance, the rooms.

If you are looking for a lovely, comfortable "home away from home" with knowledgeable innkeepers, full breakfast, wine and cheese, spacious rooms..... and you want to be Uptown New Orleans (near Magazine Street and not far off the St. Charles streetcar line), this is THE place to stay.

Wonderful! Can't wait to come back again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved this B&B. The owners, Tom and Patricia, were incredibly gracious and exuded true Southern hospitality. My wife and I stayed at Maison Perrier for a weekend birthday getaway with 4 other couples that are good friends of ours. We stayed in Dolly. It was perfect. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was tasty with just the right portions. We enjoyed an early evening cocktail (beer or wine) with other guests in a comfortable den area every night.

The location was convenient to Magazine Street for shopping and the St. Charles streetcar for trips to the French Quarter. Tom had excellent recommendations for dining (including one of the best meals of my life at R'Evolution) and was quick to call for reservations or to get us a cab.

I'll be sure to stay here every time I can make it back to New Orleans.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Perrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Perrier

Address: 4117 Perrier, New Orleans, LA 70115
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated in "Uptown" 'Nawlins, this Victorian manse boasts elegance and style without sacrificing comfort and convenience. This National Registry of Historic Places B&B sits three blocks from St. Charles, is within walking distance of the Garden District, and is close to the French Quarter. Tastefully decorated with antiques and original artwork. Breakfast entrees include praline French toast, and Creole eggs with cheese grits. Spacious guestrooms, private bathrooms, voice-mail, WiFi internet access, and cable television. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Maison Perrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Perrier Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Perrier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.