We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend retreat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Maison de Macarty
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night!
Ranked #3 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose 'The Maison' to celebrate our wedding anniversary - the crew here made our weekend so special. The house was fully booked but very quiet, it was as if we had the whole place to ourselves. The bed was marvelously comfortable (slept like babies), the bathroom roomy, the courtyard quaint (invited friends to join us for wine and munchies) and the breakfast was delicious (shrimp and grits - YUM; next morning we enjoyed ham, waffles with fresh whipped cream, warm cinnamon peaches and candied pecans.) The service -- extraordinaire! I realized I left some personal articles in the room and Kurt bundled them up and sent them next day delivery. He saved my butt!! We'll be celebrating #15 @ 'The Maison' next year; our experience was truly delightful. Thank you guys for going above and beyond. Jerri and David

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm thrilled you enjoyed your weekend, and invited your friends to hang out. The courtyard is beautiful this time of year. We look forward to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
112
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed in this very hosptiable environment in March and had a blast. The breakfast was so good that I thought I was in a high scale brunch restaurant. I mean it was even better than. Kurt thank you very much for all the advice and help! My bf and had a great experience. We would definitely come back again. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and I look forward to seeing you back soon. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Warren greeted us and gave us a tour of the house. Kurt took over from there. We stayed in the no. 1 room, which had a king sized bed with a good sized sitting area and a attached bath . It also had it's own private balcony with a swing for two, which we used every morning before breakfast, and also at the end of the evening to cool down at. Everything was nice and clean, which is something I look for in reviews, so I had to mention that. The bed was extremely comfortable and got a good nights rest every night we were there. Breakfast's were always wonderful, not too overwhelming, but always first rate. Kurt was always available at this time, listening to your current stories of your travels and giving suggestions of where to go. This house is located in the residential area, first impressions of the area were a bit mixed, the neighborhood looked a bit run down and I'll admit a bit scary. It's far enough away from the big crowds, but not so far..... you could walk into town. Our first day out we walked to Jackson Square...exactly two miles...walked the whole day including walking on the tour we took...and then walked back. It was a bit too much....so the next day we just walked in and took a taxi back....only 8 dollars, without the tip....not too bad. By the second day we were used to the neighborhood, and by the third morning, went out with my camera, took photos of some of the locals and their homes...had a great time chatting with alot of them. Alot of colorful characters to match their colorful homes. Enjoyed our stay here and would recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. Very large and with the swing outside. Private attached bath. Just Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm glad you got out and explored the Bywater! The neighborhood is almost 200 years old! Sparkling suburbia it's not. I'm sorry you felt it scarey when you first arrived, but thrilled to know you discovered it's anything but. Bywater is statistically the safest neighborhood in the city and is filled with working families, musicians and artists. As I know you discovered it's also full of fantastic restaurants, music venues and galleries. I'm sure you got some great pictures. No doubt some of the neighborhood characters added to the entertainment value. We look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashille
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I am never disappointed when I stay here. Kurt you always go above and beyond. Thank you for letting our family join us for breakfast and use the pool. It's always like home away from home. I highly recommend staying at this B&B

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
And we are never disappointed either. Regular repeat guests are the best compliment we can get. You're here so often your more like family! Thanks again, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I know there are many beautiful B&B homes around here but the staff here is outstanding. Kurt is absolutely charming and makes everything so convenient and relaxed. Breakfast is delicious and the staff looks relaxed, and it is great not to see anyone rushing around like they are trying to get something under control. So friendly and easy. It is the most welcoming and comfy place we've stayed. The room is well supplied, and the garden and pool a nice place to take a break. The bed is unusually comfortable and the room perfectly cool and quiet. Totally loving it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! You described exactly how we want everyone to feel. Relaxed, comfortable, at home. We look forward to seeing you back. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I can't speak about the quality of this place because I've never stepped inside it, but that didn't stop them from charging our credit card $787.85 after we cancelled our reservation more than five months ahead of their 72-hour cancellation deadline. When we discovered the charge, we called and they said they'd look into it. That was the last time they answered our emails or responded to our voicemail messages. They told Amex that we had not shown up for our reservation, even though we produced a copy of our cancellation email. Because they either neglected to respond to, purposely ignored or lost our cancellation, we're out almost $800 and Amex can't do anything about it because the Maison de Macarty refuses to give us a refund. Believe me, you do not want to do business with these people. Once they have your credit card, there's no telling what they'll do.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Our cancellation policy is clearly laid out on both our website and on the confirmation email that is sent out with each new reservation. It is our policy to hold you responsible for the entire cost of your stay if you fail to show up for your reservation. This is standard practice in most Inns and hotels world wide.

This guest was due to arrive during the Jazz and Heritage Festival here in New Orleans. We had a waiting list of people looking for accommodations and could have re-sold the room many times. They claim to have cancelled several months in advance, but we can not find any evidence of that and they did not actually provide any proof of emailing us.

They disputed the charges through American Express, which automatically causes AMEX to do an investigation. AMEX found that the "copy of their cancellation email" was not authentic and not linked to any email thread to our computer system. As a result AMEX ruled in our favor and closed the case.

Had we made an error we would have gladly reversed all charges. Own own internal investigation and the AMEX investigation showed there was not an error on our end. As part of our merchant agreement with AMEX, once a dispute is made and an investigation is complete, we would have been required to issue a refund had they found that we had made an error.

We regret that this potential guest feels ripped off, but are confident in our policies and procedures concerning matter such as this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I always call Kurt when heading to New Orleans first. Have never been disappointed and have always felt welcomed and enjoy my visit because we stay With him and Warren in their B & B. Would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thanks for the review! Warren and I are always thrilled when people keep coming back! Best compliment there is! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.