We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Maison de Macarty
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$ave Book on our Website!
Ranked #4 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Maison de Macarty, is a fabulous B&B! I stayed while attending my friend's wedding. The breakfasts were amazing, the house and decor were elegant, and the rooms were super cozy. The grounds were beautiful and inviting. The "innkeepers" were gracious and attentive hosts, and I definitely felt right at home!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Well you come on back any time your want! It was great meeting you and the rest of the wedding party. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
103
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

There are not enough GREAT things I can say about this place!

The staff goes out of their way to ensure comfort and enjoyment!

We are so glad we chose Maison de Macarty for our wedding!

Dr. Warren, Kurt and Curtis (in no particular order) - Thank you so much for the awesome experience!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We were so thrilled to be a part of your special day. Your wedding was picture perfect, your friends and family awesome! We wish you the best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent five nights at the Maison de Macarty, and our stay was fantastic from beginning to end. Kurt welcomed us warmly, and the information he provided both in greeting and in the room’s binder was extremely helpful in getting oriented and left us feeling prepared to dive into NOLA. In fact, throughout our stay, the entire staff seemed to look for ways to be helpful and always had answers and friendly suggestions at the ready. The house itself is located in a quiet neighborhood just a short morning’s stroll from the hustle-and-bustle of the French Quarter; we found it to be a terrific launching point for explorations of any part of the city. Parking was never an issue, and—especially with a police station just over a block away—we had no real safety/security concerns.

Our room (#4) was well-appointed but uncluttered with plenty of space for both us and our week’s worth of luggage. The bathroom was clean and invitingly bright, and the bed was very comfortable. We slept well every night. Heavy designer drapes handily blocked outside light when we didn’t need it, and a white noise generator easily masked what little neighborhood noise there might have been. If we had any complaint about our stay, it’s that the water pressure in the shower left a little to be desired. There are probably practical reasons for this, but it was the one minor annoyance in an otherwise stellar experience.

As thoroughly as we enjoyed the house and the company, the highlight of our experience at the Macarty was the breakfasts. Chef Curtis is very, very good at what he does. We were excited every morning to see what he had waiting for us. We’re not exaggerating when we say that his breakfasts were one of our favorite things about our entire vacation in NOLA. Even facing a thirteen hour drive on our last morning there, we actually left over four hours later than we had on the way to NOLA just so we could enjoy his cooking one last time. (And he didn’t disappoint: banana bread French toast with homemade cream and praline, anyone?) We can’t think of a much better way to start a day than the breakfast and the company at the Macarty.

We can’t recommend the Maison de Macarty highly enough. You should stay there. Now. Even if you didn’t know you were going to NOLA before you read this. Thanks so much for the hospitality Kurt, Curtis, and Warren! If we head back to NOLA in the near future, you may just be the reason.

Dustin & Jess

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Chef Curtis is hands down the best breakfast chef in the south! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Once again I spent a few days at the Maison de Macarty in New Orleans. As before, our stay was about as perfect as perfect as any I have ever experienced. Our hosts, Kurt, Warren and Curtis went out of their way to make us comfortable and feel welcome. I highly recommend the Maison de Macarty to any traveler. The longer you stay the more like family you will feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
As far as we are concerned you are family! We look forward to seeing you often in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had our wedding here over Easter weekend and Kurt, Warren, Curtis and Laura could not have been more accommodating. The entire property is beautiful, the neighborhood is quiet, the location ideal and all the staff (from the owners down) demonstrated paramount professionalism. By the end of the weekend we were effusive with our thanks and quite simply could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Your wedding was beautiful, your dress fabulous, and your friends and family awesome. Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

This was out first stop on a road trip around the USA and we loved it! The house is beautiful and charmingly decorated. The rooms were comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. Extra information was given about visiting the town and travelling and all the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The breakfasts that were provided were tasty and we were very sad to have to leave.

All in all, a 5 out of 5 for us!

If only the rest of the hotels/motels on our trip were of such a high standard!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for the review! I hope the rest of your road trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved staying in the Storyville Room for two nights and as Warren put it when he showed us the room, the red jacuzzi tub and bathroom really were the pièce de résistance! Breakfast was to die for delicious and the cookies and bar in the common areas were welcomed as well along with the beautiful backyard. We fell in love with the Bywater and nearby Marigny neighborhoods and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Ah yes, Room 6! What a fun Room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.