We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.. with better food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Save Saved
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Maison de Macarty
3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 147 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Home away from home.. with better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at M de M and we loved every second of it. The owners, Dr. warren and Kurt, were very kind and knowledgeable about the town with great recommendations. Breakfast, in the hands of Curtis, was every day a master piece.
The house is beautiful and along with its innkeepers, you are surely going to feel at home. Also, major bonus points for letting us borrow bicycles. NOLA is a different town if you can bike around.

The B&B is in the up-and-coming neighborhood of Bywater, which is a $10 taxi from the French Quarter, or a 15 min bike ride. It's a great neighborhood but it is more on the residential side. I personally, preferred staying there than in the chaos that is the French Quarter.

Will certainly be back! Thank you guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to work off the extra breakfast calories by taking the bikes. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
85
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Maison de Macarty for my husband's 30th birthday and it was absolutely perfect! Kurt even helped us pull off the surprise (I had friends coming on the trip and my husband didn't know). The house is gorgeous, the food is delicious, and the entire staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Kurt and Warren do a fabulous job all around! I don't think we will ever stay in a chain hotel after this visit, Maison de Macarty will be our go to spot for all future NOLA trips!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for spending the birthday weekend with us! It was fun helping you celebrate. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My girlfriend and I just got home from a short trip to New Orleans. We found Maison De Macarty though a TripAdvisor search and decided to give it a try. And I can honestly say that the reviews did not give it justice! I was blown away in every way possible.
The rooms were perfect. They were comfortable but with an old world feel that completely fit the overall aura of building. it was so beautiful and so well decorated. It gave off such a feeling of warmth and comfort that we immediately felt like we were at home.
They are excellently located with everything close. Walking to the French Quarter is easy. And there are tons of restaurants and sights in the immediate area. that are a short walk away.
The food...was....INCREDIBLE. I know it's only breakfast, but everything I ate was so ridiculously good. Whether it was the fresh muffins, the omelets, or even the toast it was uber delicious. BUT THE BACON. I might quite possibly sell my immortal soul for the Bacon. It was coated with brown sugar and Pecans and it was quite possible one on the most incredible things I have even eaten.
So the house and grounds were beautiful, the location was great and the food was insanely good, But what sets this place above the rest is the service. The service is absolutely amazing. I have never encountered people who were so genuinely excited to make our stay the best possible. I felt like everyone cared about us and wanted us to be safe and happy not only while we were at the location, but throughout our whole vacation.
I recommend this place to anyone and everyone! We originally spent one night outside the city and were going to come back and stay inside the French Quarter but after Staying here there was nowhere else. Thanks to Kurt and Curtis for making our trip so comfortable and enjoyable. You guys are the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
You guys were wicked amazing too! We had a great time having you stay with us and hope you will come back soon. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just had our second stay at the Maison Macarty and once again in surpassed expectations! It is the most friendly place imaginable, due largely to Kurt, Curtis and the rest.
Maison Macarty wants to be the best B&B in New Orleans; as far as we are concerned, it already is.
We live in Scotland but we fully intend to return!
Highly recommended

Richard & Linda

Room Tip: All rooms are very individual; just look at the website. You won't be disappointed, whatever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
The best compliment is a return visit! Thanks again. I look forward to your many returns. The tea you gave me was delicious! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed at Maison de Macarty for a wedding and it was wonderful! The house has such character and appeal. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The owners were so nice and always happy to help with any questions or concerns we had. The B and B is in a great location. The breakfast is delicious! We'll definitely be sending all of our family and friends here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks for the review! Congrats your recent marriage too! I hope you enjoy life in London. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family booked the entire Maison de Macarty for our wedding weekend and could not have been happier. We were able to use the house for a lovely gathering on Friday night and a brunch on Sunday morning. Kurt was incredibly flexible and accommodating. Our ceremony and reception site almost fell apart a week before the wedding and Kurt assured me it would be no problem to host the wedding at the B and B and offered to meet with our wedding coordinator at our convenience. Our out of town guests were blown away by the amazing tropical courtyard and graciousness of our hosts. We highly recommend the B and B for wedding parties and other get aways. We live in New Orleans and plan to staycation at the Maison for the comfortable room, pool, quiet neighborhood, and great company of Dr. Warren, Kurt, and Curtis. Our guests want to come back and stay with them too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We loved being able to host your events! Your family and friends are fantastic. We wish you the best for your life together and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights here recently, and everything about the B&B was wonderful. Kurt, the owner, and Curtis, the chef, both went out of their way to make us and the other guests feel right at home in New Orleans. Not only is the B&B gorgeous (the room was even nicer than the photos), and the breakfasts delicious, but there were so many other thoughtful touches as well! For example, the "honour bar," the list of local recommendations, and the never-empty dish of fresh baked goods! We also really enjoyed the outdoor terrasse/pool area, a calm oasis of plants and butterflies and comfy chairs that is exactly what you need after a big night out. Finally, the neighbourhood of Bywater is safe, super friendly, and full of great places to eat and drink. We are definitely coming back here soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are already looking forward to your return visit! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.