We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Save Saved
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison de Macarty
3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd night is free!
Ranked #8 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights here recently, and everything about the B&B was wonderful. Kurt, the owner, and Curtis, the chef, both went out of their way to make us and the other guests feel right at home in New Orleans. Not only is the B&B gorgeous (the room was even nicer than the photos), and the breakfasts delicious, but there were so many other thoughtful touches as well! For example, the "honour bar," the list of local recommendations, and the never-empty dish of fresh baked goods! We also really enjoyed the outdoor terrasse/pool area, a calm oasis of plants and butterflies and comfy chairs that is exactly what you need after a big night out. Finally, the neighbourhood of Bywater is safe, super friendly, and full of great places to eat and drink. We are definitely coming back here soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for the review! We are already looking forward to your return visit! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
93
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I spent 7 days at this great b&b in New Orleans.
Kurt, our host, was extremely pleasant and helpful.
Curtis, the breakfast chef, made a different delicious breakfast each morning. Always provided options of eggs and bacon/ham if the guest wanted something different.
The B&B provided fresh baked cookies throughout the day. Also, a nice touch was a self serve bar, which worked on the honour system. Nice if you wanted a cocktail to your room or the pool side.
The pool is well maintained and plenty of chairs/lounges for everyone.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
A gem.... although the B&B is not in the French Quarter, it is a 30 minute walk in a very pleasant neighbourhood and less than $10 by cab, including tip.

Room Tip: The large room (no. 1) on the second floor includes a balcony with a swing. The large cabin next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Marcel! We miss you already. I've started your book and I'm really enjoying the read. Thanks again for staying with us while you were in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We planned a cruise from NOLA and wanted to stay a couple of nights in the area when the ship returned to port. Decided that a B & B was the place to go. By chance we came across the Maison de Macarty and booked for our two nights. Got there way before official check in and were greeted by Kurt, who poured coffee and quickly got us into our room. Had a great time. Good conversation, two wonderful breakfasts by Curtis and time to lounge by the pool with a drink from the honor bar. Not sure if we will return to NOLA any time soon - lots of other places we want to see - but if we do, we will return to this great B & B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you chose to stay with us. I hope you enjoy your Alaskan cruise more than this last one. If you ever find yourself back in Nola; we will be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The main reason I found Maison de Macarty was because I was working my way down a list of B&B's in New Orleans for a weekend that turned out to be the NO Film Festival weekend. Many of the Garden District and French Quarter B&B's were full and I'm SO glad they were. Maison de Macarty is a terrific place! The hosts, Kurt and Warren, are friendly but unobtrusive. You can have all the privacy you want. The breakfast, by Curtis, was delicious and creative. We were in room 4, with a balcony overlooking the pool. It was glorious. The room itself was comfy, lovely, w/ a big ceiling fan, and the bathroom was large. There is ample parking on the street or in the little lot next to the house. By the way, the house itself is GORGEOUS. Just beautiful. Very New Orleans. I cannot recommend this place too highly and will always plan my trips to NO when there is a room available at Maison de Macarty. Thank you, Kurt & Warren & Curtis.

Room Tip: I didn't tour the rooms in the house. Our room was in the back, on the 2nd floor, overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are glad you found us! You were fantastic guests, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hosts, Warren and Kurt are warm and friendly. You feel welcomed the moment you enter the stately 1860 home in the Bywater section of New Orleans. Prices are comparable to rooms in the Central Business District and lower than in the French Quarter. As an early riser I was wishing that coffee would have been available a bit earlier but the breakfasts made by Curtis, the chef, was well worth the wait. If you visit make sure yoBu read the information booklet found in every room. It is both informative and humorous and even possibly a trip saver should you need a friend in a strange town. Parking, usually a problem in New Orleans, is no problem at all at the Maison de Macarty. All in all I can't wait til my next stay in April.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely patio so highly regarded in New Orleans. The cabin rooms are small but are surr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for the review! We also look forward to your next visit. When you get back, I'll make sure coffee is available for you anytime you want it. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My partner and I went for a weekend trip as we had tickets for a fabulous concert. The stay was so wonderful, we chose to stay an extra day! We loved that there was a window of time to eat breakfast, or to just stay in bed. The pool cottage is awesome with gorgeous floors and a huge bed. Kurt is available for suggestions and clearly is passionate about his city and a lover of pets. Thanks for such a great weekend. If you go, read the in-room manual of directions, etc. Itis a pretty funny read!

Room Tip: For more privacy, the cottages are great, though the main house is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for the review! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I hope your dog wasn't too traumatized by the unexpected swim in the pool. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was in town for a Convention, which had been scheduled for Sept. 2, Isaac shut the whole airport down. Rescheduled for 9/28-10/1, the tourist season having just started the hotels were well over $300/night. Oh, did I mention they were all booked up?
Not wanting to get lost in the masses, I chose Maison de Macarty, B & B.
Breakfast is a huge ordeal when other Conventions are in town, you may stand in line for an hour to get something to eat.
Delicious, freshly and wonderfully prepared by Chef Curtis....
Never felt like a stranger or newcomer to New Orleans after the front door was opened by Kurt, owner. Met Warren, another owner very nice man.
Perfect stay, away from the noise and excitement of all the lively districts.
The cabbies know the B & B. In the Bywater area, everyone is so pleasant....
The bed was super, felt like I was floating in the clouds.
There is a pool, very nice secluded area.
Service with a smile.... felt like home....
Looking for a great experience? Look no further.....
Thank you, Kurt, Warren, Curtis, Matt, Boots and all...
Maureen Mamula

Room Tip: No particular room service, however, if there were, it would be terrific Fitness center, none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Darn! I thought we had you locked in your room so that you couldn't leave! Oh well, we tried. We already miss you! Please come back and see u soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.