We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Maison de Macarty
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$ave Book on our Website!
Ranked #5 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Thank you Maison de Macarty for a making our first trip to New Orleans special and beautiful. Staying here was so much more than a place to sleep, it was part of the whole experience. Aside from the fact that the French Quarter was only a 20 minute walk, everyone who stayed at Maison de Macarty talked over breakfast in the morning as friends, when you walked into the house you felt like you were home and every morning we woke up to the smell of home cooked food that was blissfully delicious. Each room is unique, decorated artfully with it's own story to tell. There aren't places like this and if you don't take time to stay here on one of your trips, you're missing a part of New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
I'm so glad that we could be part of a great first New Orleans experience for you! Hopefully it will be one of many to come. Thanks for giving us a review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
103
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

You'll love this elegant while cozy B&B. The host, Kurt, was the centerpiece of this experience. From check in to check out, he was available with helpful advice about restaurants, clubs and sights. He let us know that the property was work in process, but that would not have been evident by the seamless service and great amenities that make a stay away like the best of home. Breakfasts compliments of Curtis was delicious and versatile. Tasting treats unique to the New Orleans area was something to talk up among our envious friends.

Some of the creature comforts you'd expect and hope to have at a B&B stay were all there... comfy bed, soft towels, open access to refreshments and libations, etc. The pool area was immaculate and we ended up reading and enjoying way too much of the sun on one day of our stay.

Thank you Kurt, Curtis and the rest of the behind the scenes team. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1 was spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Manager at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the stay. Thanks for turning me onto the gift cards! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I doubt you will find a better all-around B&B in New Orleans. With rooms starting at $129, MM isn't cheap, but unlike many upscale NOLA B&B's, here you get your money's worth -- and then some. Located in a gorgeous, well-maintained and renovated mid-19th century mansion, the rooms are large, comfortable (loved the mattress -- just right), and tastefully decorated. The swimming pool sits in the middle of a lush oasis -- banana trees, elephant ears, hibiscus and all manner of other spectacular plants create a green, relaxing courtyard. Kurt, the host and co-owner, is friendly and helpful. And no matter what you pay (and here it comes with your room), you won't find a better breakfast than the beauts cooked up by Curtis the chef. Starting with fresh fruit, you move to fabulous omelettes with praline bacon, souffles with local sausage, banana french toast -- whatever Curtis is serving, it will be delicious. And that's not even his specialty. A baker by training, his muffins and scones are simply delicious. At first glance MM might seem a bit far from the heart of NOLA's main attractions, but it is really only a lovely 20-minute walk (or an even shorter bike ride) to the French Quarter. Moreover, the Bywater, where the B&B is located in the heart of the Bywater, fast emerging as NOLA's most exciting neighbourhood with new restaurants springing up all over (some of the best just a few blocks from MM), old warehouses being made into art lofts, and dilapidated houses brought back to life as the colourful gems they once were. Very exciting to be in the middle of all that renaissance. Oh, and the dining room/living room common area is open 24-hours to guests -- with complimentary wine and spirits. What more can I say? You'll love it.

Room Tip: One of the great things about a B&B like this is that you have a terrific choice of rooms, all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for the review of the B&B and our neighbourhood! It really is exciting to be in an area seeing such a great re-birth. From the new restaurants and art studios to the ever expanding list of new neighbours moving into the area, I am thrilled to be able to share the Bywater with the world. I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I'll be looking forward to your return visit. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffeson City, MO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you love the culture, sights and sounds of New Orleans, then you will love staying at Maison de Macarty. A beautiful B & B in the Bywater that has everything you could want or need for a wonderful stay in The Big Easy. Beautiful, comfortable rooms in New Orleans style like only they can do. A beautiful pool setting for relaxing, having a few cocktails or putting a little pink in your cheeks before heading out to play. Wake up to a breakfast you won't soon forget, prepared by a talented and friendly chef (Curtis). I spent four nights there recently and it was lovely. I met guest from all over the globe who were as sad to leave as I was. Kurt (the owner) was alway nearby and ready to assist with my every need or want. He was very friendly and spent a great deal of time visiting and assisting all the guests. He is very knowledgeable on the history of New Orleans and knows all the hot spots for whatever it is you want to do while there. I had a wonderful time during my stay thanks to Kurt and the rest of the gang at Maison de Macarty!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
If you love New Orleans! Awe, I had a great time with you. Can't wait for your next visit so we can sing Mr. Bojangles again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed four nights. Enjoyed the pecan bacon tremendously. Kurt and friends were very friendly and provided lots of good conversation. If you need any thing ,where too eat ,what to see,Kurt is a wealth of knowledge. Enjoyed the house and grounds. Good food with-in walking distance. GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Room Tip: Some rooms have tv, If needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for your review! We really enjoyed you staying with us and hope you'll return soon. Keep looking after that "ticker"! I wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

New Orleans is such a fun place to visit and the cherry on the cake is this B&B. We took Parents visiting from Australia and the Kids (6 of us in all), we had three rooms which adjoined, shows the great flexibility of this place, can accommodate from intimate to family gatherings. A big appeal of B&B's to us is the interaction with other people and we were not dissapointed, breakfast was a delight and Kurt is probably one of the nicest hosts we have come across. The area is safe and a treat to wander around in, far enough from the hustle and bustle, yet still within reach. We will stay here again, without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
I really enjoyed your family! Your father gave some great advice on maintaining this old house that I've put to use! Tell him thanks. I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here during our first time in NO. Our first two nights were in the quarter and this B&B saved us! Kurt is a dream host. The house is sweet , clean, comfortable, quiet and in a great neighborhood. Our only complaint was that we had to leave and return to reality. Stay here. You WILL love it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Yvette! We miss you! Even though your stay was a short two nights you left a hole in hearts when you left. That's the worst part about this job; saying good bye! We look forward to your next visit and feeding you some more freshly baked cookies poolside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison de Macarty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.