We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in New Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Macarty

Save Saved
You added Maison de Macarty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison de Macarty
3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd night is free!
Ranked #8 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Looked at alot of places in New Orleans. Many were in the French Quarter and looked good from the outside, but the inside was run down, dirty, and in some cases unsanitary. I even encountered innkeepers who acted like they were doing me a favour by letting me check them out. I was staying for a week following Mardi Gras so the accomidations were important to me

I came accross Maison Macarty and checked it out. A few blocks away and you are in the French Quarter. A nice walk, or $7.00 by cab.

The house is bright and chearful from the outside with front porch, upper balconies plus a beautiful backyard with pool and an area that is perfect for weddings.

Inside the decor is beautiful. Very elegant and definetly upscale with fantastic attention to detail. I arrived early in the week when it was quiet so I got a tour. All rooms were clean, large, and very nicely decorated.

Since it was happy hour, Kurt, the innkeeper treated me to a cocktail and gave me an orienration to the area He was prepared with maps and recommendations for restaurants, cab companies, day trip info, etc.

The next morning the chef Curtis made a fantastic hot breakfast, eggs, sausage, and the best pancakes I have ever had! He even accomodated another guests food allergies.

Bottom line, this B and B far exceeded my expectations in every area plus had the advantage of a charming, caring, organized owner effectively managing the business.

Bruce

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEasyTraveler1, Owner at Maison de Macarty, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Bruce Thank you for the review, and thanks for the great conversations! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
93
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was our first experience staying in a B&B and it was wonderful. Will and Loren are excellent hosts and made us feel very at ease in their home. Their house, garden, and pool are beautiful and our room was so comfortable and quiet with a gorgeous private porch to hang out on. My boyfriend and I especially loved the breakfasts, they even made delicious vegetarian breakfasts special for me!

Room Tip: The website has photos of each room, they have rooms in the main house as well as private entrance c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

What a fabulous place to stay. Can’t say enough about the owners who were friendly and very helpful with where to go and eat. (and the breakfasts were to die for) The rooms were very well kept and extremely comfortable. There’s a pool and quiet grounds to relax in. ….with several small places to eat/drink within a short walk

Room Tip: they have a web site that can assist you viewing the property and making reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Maison de Macarty for 2 nights October 28-30 for our "baby moon" getaway. We arrived much earlier than we were supposed to but were greeted happily by Will and given a tour of the house. Our room was not quite ready, but Will was gracious enough to let me use the bathroom in the owner's quarters and leave our bags there before we went out on the town for the afternoon. The house is a little bit of a distance from the French Quarter, about a 20-25 minute walk, but during the day is very nice and we took a cab home in the evenings (about $10). The rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was absolutely amazing. We had banana-cranberry bread made from their own home grown bananas to start, and baked eggs inside of sopressata cups with veggies over a polenta cake with fresh fruit. The service was phenomenal and they will give you suggestions for things to do and places to eat in the area and in the french quarter. We were sorry to have to leave very early Sunday morning and miss breakfast, but Will wrapped up some banana bread and gingerbread so we could have something to munch on on the way to the airport! We would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Dislike major hotels- impersonal service-a room number-pay and leave?
this is the place for you- personal attention- not far from busy FC - yet quit- everyday a breakfast adventure from a true chef, avoid if you are an macdonalds fan!!!!
We loved the place and the owners. Peter & Lief from Antwerp BELGIUM

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

If you've stayed mainly in the French Quarter previously and want to venture a little farther afield on your next visit but still be within walking distance of the Quarter, Bywater is a very interesting neighborhood about 20 blocks to the east of the Quarter (a little rough around the edges so if you're looking for postcard perfection, it might not be for you) with a handful of hidden dining and entertainment gems. Just ask your innkeepers--they won't steer you wrong! Be it in Bywater or the Quarter. Of course one of the most brilliant gems in the area is the intimate and immaculately renovated Maison de Macarty itself, where the rooms, pool/gardens, service and of course the breakfasts and overall hospitality are second to none--and I've stayed in a lot of French Quarter properties over the years. This is a great spot to relax after a long day or night in the Quarter, and a great spot in and of itself to spend the day, night, or both. Don't forget to inquire about the partial-day cooking classes where you might just learn a secret or two about the fantastic breakfasts and cake-time offerings--and more--which you can take home as a souvenir from a great bed & breakfast, and one of America's most unique towns.

Room Tip: Check out the web site or ask your innkeeper--they're all nice, but there might be a particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We arrived after midnight and without even seeing anyone we were made to feel welcome by the little notes that had been left for us with nothing being left unanswered. As we were going on a cruise the following day our stay was short there but long enough to know that this was a gem among B & B's. Will and Loren were incredibly helpful without making you feel like you were putting them out. The breakfast was delightfult and it's such a pleasure to stay with people that actually enjoy having your company. As a frequent traveler myself I made the point of sharing this place with friends as soon as we got back. Definitely a memorable part of our New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison de Macarty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Macarty

Address: 3820 Burgundy Street, New Orleans, LA 70117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1860s Victorian home is a luxurious landmark in the Bywater National Historic District, an area settled down river from the French Quarter in 1807. The property features six guest rooms in the main house all with en suite baths, two private cottages, off-street parking, a mineral water swimming pool,970 sqft sun deck, solar generated electricity and hot water, and earth-friendly guest amenities.Our breakfast is what really makes us special. Each morning either Executive Chef Curtis or Chef Ashley prepare a freshly cooked breakfast complete with fruit, freshly baked pastries and a hot plate that will make you wanna slap your momma! No stale continental breakfast here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maison de Macarty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Macarty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.