We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent La Maison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon to your Saves list
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in December!
Ranked #9 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent La Maison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2004

I just returned from a four-day stay at this manificent B&B. I would highly encourage anyone looking for a quality residence to choose LMM. I have had the pleasure of staying in B&B's across the country and in France and Great Britain, and LMM would be in my top 3 of all of those. La Maison Marigny is located on a very quiet street within walking distance of the French Quarter and the wonderful night life of Frenchman Street. You will feel you have come home when you return at the end of the day to your beautifully decorated room. There has been great attention to detail in the decor of the rooms. Not only do you have a beautiful room to sleep in, but there is a fabulous sun room and kitchen. John is an exceptionally charming host who made us feel like friends instead of visitors. He provides cold drinks and internet access (just what you need after a day in the steamy French Quarter!). He was very attentive to our needs, and all of the statements that others have made about him are true!You cannot go wrong if you choose to stay at La Maison Marigny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
173
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2004

The thing I like about staying at La Maison Marigny is how it always offers many contrasts. For instance, it's a beautifully-decorated house with gorgeous linens so one would expect a rather stuffy owner. The opposite is true. John and Dewey and so casual, friendly and willing to go the extra mile to help! The location on Bourbon: one would think it's noisy and annoying. Again, not true! Quiet as can be but you are still so close that you can walk everywhere. I know there are many good hotels and bed-and-breakfasts in New Orleans but I really can't imagine why you'd stay elsewhere once you've discovered La Maison Marigny. --Steve Berg, Lexington, KY

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2004

The host is most helpful and accommodating. The room is lovely, quiet and comfortable. Everything about the B&B made for a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2004

My husband and I just returned from a lovely stay at La Maison Marigny. Our host, John, made us feel so at home. Our room was so beautifully decorated and comfortable and all the "extras" - shampoo, toothpaste, breakfast, snacks, drinks...added to our enjoyment. John spent time with us each morning giving us great advice and tips on what to do for the day, where to eat. The location is very central and within walking distance to most things. Because of this we felt that our stay at La Maison Marigny and how we choose to spend our time gave us a true feel for life in New Orleans. I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2004

I write this on my last day in New Orleand and at La Maison Marigny. It has been a beautiful trip in large port thanks to this B&B and to the hosts. I enjoyed being able to safely walk everywhere from 1400 Bourbon. Three blocks to the market and the new Canal Streetcar line's Esplanade station, too. Everything is so easy to get to.

Our room has been very comfortable and fabulously decorated. I wish had the "touch" like these guys do.

Thanks, John & Dewy, Will see you again in 2005!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2004

my husband and i had a delightful, albeit short, 2-day stay at la maison. john is a consummate host and wonderful waffle chef. the location can't be beat -- close enough to enjoy walking through fabourg marigny and the quarter, but far enough from from the noise. we will definitely stay there again when we visit new orleans.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2004

This B&B was great...from the delightful feel and decorations, to the wonderful host, to the location, it just can't be beat. Situated on Bourbon St., but several blocks brom the noise and excitement, one is close enough to enjoy the fun, but still far enough away for peace and quiet. Considering that the eateries and clubs on Frenchman St. are also only a few blocks away, you just can't have a better location. With the B&B's beautiful courtyard, cozy rooms, and the fresh baked muffins every morning, waking up here was the perfect accent to our stay. I would highly recomend this B&B for anyone planning a trip to New Orleans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Address: 1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.