We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find in NOLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon to your Saves list
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% in December!
Ranked #10 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A Great Find in NOLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

John Ramsey runs an excellent B&B, providing a warm welcome, a good night's lodging, a different and creative breakfast each morning, snacks any time, and lots of excellent conversation and advice. He will gladly help you with your bags, taking them up and down the 19 steep narrow steps to the second floor. The room is comfortable with a good bath and shower. He has no off-street parking, but he will give you a resident's permit to place in your car so you can park and leave your car on the street. The house is right on Bourbon Street, across Esplanade, and just outside the French Quarter. Frenchmen Street and its restaurants and music is practically around the corner. Everything in the French Quarter is within easy walking distance, so you won't need to move your car unless you are leaving. Local public transportation is good, so if you are going downtown or to the Garden District, you can catch the #91 bus nearby. The new gazebo/patio in the back yard is beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room upstairs was very quiet. If you have trouble with stairs, indulge yourself and pop for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am thrilled that you enjoyed the back yard renovation and, in fact, your entire stay with us. Comments like these make us smile! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
173
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermann, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the very first contact with our host, John Ramsey, we were happy with our choice of the B&B for our one night stay in New Orleans. John was very helpful with tips about the city and places for dinner.

The B&B was very comfortable. My parents had a very spacious room on the ground floor, My sister and I shared a room on the second floor. Very comfortable beds and showers. The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated.

The addition of the back yard courtyard was an excellent decision. It was very comfortable, sitting outside after coming back from dinner, relaxing with the water feature and the beautiful flowers and plants.

The B&B was on Bourbon Street, but it was not noisy at all! A great night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning was great - Nutella French Toast, served with sausage links. Very tasty!

Thanks John! We'd recommend your B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
While we usually don't have the luxury of accepting one night stays, I'm glad this worked out for you. It was a pleasure meeting you, your sister and the folks! We hope you can come back and stay longer next time! I promise to make that chocolate french toast again. It's one of the dishes guests love most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in two B & B's while visiting NOLA. This was our favorite. John is a great host. The B & B is very well located. We walked to and from Frenchmen's St. each night to listen to the wonderful music. We were also close to public transportation. We took the bus to City Park for a wonderful afternoon visit to the park and botanical gardens.

We had the balcony queen room. We loved it. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was of an adequate size. Being in the front we did here a little street noise at night and in the early morning. If you are a light sleeper you should get one of the rooms in back.

We felt like La Maison Marigny was our home away from home while we were there. We had access to the kitchen at all times and John and the other guests were full of good ideas of ways to best spend our days (and nights).

I hope you visit New Orleans and if you do you must stay here. Just read the reviews!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms off the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We love reading reviews like this and we're so happy you enjoyed New Orleans AND La Maison Marigny. Thanks again for staying with us! We hope you come back soon to see the "tweaks" we're doing this summer to our guest rooms and bathrooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saturna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our first trip to NOLA and what a great place to stay. The location is within walking distance to most downtown areas of NO. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well turned out, the best are upstairs in the back as they tend to be quietest, although the area is reasonably quiet no matter which room you take. We stayed for 7 days and John prepared a different and exceptional breakfast every day. He is a personable host providing information and ideas for his clients. Because we stayed for so long he even offered the use of his washer and dryer which was very helpful since we were continuing our travels after we left NO. The B & B has a quiet garden area in the back, excellent for a reading a book and having a glass of wine. Should we ever return to NO we undoubtedly would stay at the La Maison Marigny.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am so happy that you enjoyed your La Maison Marigny visit. One of the neat things about our location is the fact that it's SO close to everything yet quiet...we hear that over and over. While we do have a room "refresh" scheduled soon, we promise not to change the charm so many guests enjoy. Please come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

As many have stated on here, this place is wonderful! Form the moment we walked into the house, the smell of fresh baked cookies met us, along with the warm welcome of John. He was quick to give us information and answer any questions that we had (and we had a lot with it being my first time to New Orleans). He has plenty of recommendations on where to go to enjoy yourself in the city-kind of like New Orleans for Dummies, packed into one person-HAHA!

Fresh made breakfast was provided every morning- chocolate french toast, fresh fruit, biscuits, sausage, and my favorite of the days there- dirty rice with eggs! It made me feel like a kid again just being able to wake up to breakfast made. The fridge was always stocked with drinks, and the counter with snacks. We enjoyed sitting in the beautiful kitchen and relaxing in the newly redone courtyard area. Being from TX, late March/April or probably fall months seem to be the perfect time to visit NOLA. For those up north, our southern summers are generally hot and humid.

The room itself was perfect for us! The bed was comfy and while my boyfriend likes it freezing at night, I was able to cover up with the extra blankets. We stayed in the courtyard view room (purple room), but I got a chance to see all the rooms. Each one was beautiful and just the right size for a stay in a city with so much exploring to do. If you are looking for something a tad bigger, I recommend the balcony or the owner’s suite downstairs.

If you do drive, try to park and not use your vehicle for the rest of your stay. Basically everything is within a 10-20 minute walk. Attempting to drive through the streets and then pay for parking seems silly; especially with the location of this B&B.

We had never stayed in a B&B before and La Maison Marigny exceeded our expectations. It just makes sense in a city with so much history and culture to stay in an authentic house, with an outstanding host!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Cha-ching, we've converted another hotel person to B&Bs! :-) Luckily, that happens a lot at our B&B and with B&Bs across New Orleans, I think, as our wonderful city is so lucky to have a great collection of inns. Thanks for sharing your photos, too, and also thanks for chatting with us about our upcoming room refresh program this summer....time for some minor tweaks here and there but not to worry as the rooms will still look substantially the same...just fresher!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I just stayed in La Maison B&B for our second excursion to New Orleans. We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared by John on day one and TJ on day two, and both meals were great. We were given any assistance and information we needed, as well as advice on places to check out based on our interest. The location is centered walking distance between Frenchman and the active part of Bourbon, so as long as you don't mind walking, it's a great spot. We'll definitely be checking on availability next time we are in NOLA!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
On behalf of both TJ and myself, we thank you! As you know, we planned to be out of town during your visit and TJ was going to take over but our trip was cancelled and you were stuck with me anyway for part of the time! :-) Seriously, it's wonderful that we have Joi and Thyago working with us...guests love them. Thanks for the nice comments and we hope to see you in New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have been to New Orleans several times, and this is our favorite place to stay by far! Perfect location close to everything, but on a quiet street. Lovely rooms, and John makes a wonderful breakfast every morning. John also has great recommendations and information about what is going on around the City, we really enjoyed talking to him over breakfast. I almost hate to recommend La Maison- hopefully it won't be booked next time we want to visit :-). Thank you John!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks, Brooke, for your wonderful review of our property. It was a pleasure meeting you and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our Bourbon at Esplanade location. It really is ideal, isn't it. We're also glad you enjoyed breakfast. We're constantly changing the menu to keep guests happy and we're nice to hear that it's working for us. Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Address: 1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.