We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, friendly, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon to your Saves list
La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon
1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Marigny)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, friendly, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Can't say enough good things about our stay here - John runs a tight ship, and it's one of the best run B&Bs I've ever seen - the fact that it's beautiful and in a prime (but not noisy!) location felt like a bonus! It also wins the award for best breakfast I've ever had at a B&B. Really highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I had to laugh at the "tight ship" comment since my friends think I'm too easy-going...but I thank you nonetheless! It was a pleasure meeting you both and chatting about my two favorite cities, NYC and NOLA! Please do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
171
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morgan, Utah
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This property has the best of all worlds! It's location is close enough to the fun on Royal and Bourbon Streets in the French Quarter venues, but far enough away to have a peaceful night in a very relaxing home away from home. It is just blocks away from the emerging "new jazz music scene" of Frenchmans Street, where at night you can be lulled to sleep by just the slightest sounds of some of the best jazz music around.

But the real treat is the owner of La Maison, John. He is a natural at being a host, and cooks breakfast tastiest enough to want seconds or thirds, and hardy enough to get you through you days adventures before having to stop off at one of the wonderful restaurants just a few blocks away. And he has the most wonderful sense of humor and stories; making it difficult to leave the property as you want to hear more! And, his advice on where to go, how to get there, and what adventures fit your personal needs ensured that our first visit to his property won't be our last.

The room rates are absolutely more than reasonable. I checked literally dozens of properties from hotels to fellow B&Bs, and for the value, La Maison stands out as your best bet.

We are already planning a return trip back there in April for the Jazz festival!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We definitely appreciate your review of La Maison Marigny and are humbled by it. It's nice to be recognized, obviously, but in turn we are thrilled that guests love our proximity to Frenchmen Street's great jazz clubs, our food offerings and our value-focused rates. Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had hoped all the reviews I read would ring true..and they absolutely did. This home is charming, welcoming and the location at the end of Bourbon St near Frenchmen St makes it perfect for walking to the French Quarter and other great spots in this awesome city. We stayed in the middle room upstairs and it was nicely and subtlety decorated. The bathroom had also just been redone. John was a fantastic host who cooked excellent breakfasts every morning. This what a great stay and I can't wait to come back to this city and this B&B!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your B&B experience with others. New Orleans is a great city and we work hard to make sure we're a great little B&B to go along with it! I'm gratified that you enjoyed the remodeled bathroom as it's always a challenge to make something wonderful out of small spaces. HGTV, here we come! Thanks again and hope to count you as one of our many repeat guests soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

La Maison Marigny is 1st Class, a 5 star B & B! This is our second stay and it was perfect. John was on vacation but his Mom stepped in and did a fantastic job, along with 2 of her lady friends. The location is perfect for the Frenchmen Street action. The house is a gem, tastefully decorated with a newly remodeled kitchen. Great breakfast each morning; always something different and delicious! We also enjoyed our conversation with the other guests and with John's Mom and her friends. A wonderful New Years experience! This is the place to stay if you want to be in the French Quarter!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
#1 B&B! We like the sound of that, especially from return guests! We strive very hard to make La Maison Marigny a clean, comfortable oasis for guests after they've spent a long day at work or play and I'm glad we succeeded in your case. It's even more gratifying to know that Mom did a great job while we were on vacation. She may have a new career and doesn't know it yet! Please come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fullerton,ca
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wanted to try a B&B in New Orleans and this was our first one. Great room downstairs, bedroom with a spacious sitting room where we had time to relax before and after our trips down Bourbon street, close to the French Market and the Streetcar that runs to the convention center. John was very helpful in recommending great restaurants for dinner and day excursions and always made sure we started out our day with a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Downstairs owner suite very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We thank you once again for staying with us and for sharing kind words with others. Glad you enjoyed the Owner's Suite. It gets good reviews from customers! We're also thrilled that we were your first B&B experience. Now you're hooked, and you have us to blame!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Quite likely your holiday lodging is barely a lasting memory however a stay at this Bourbon Street bed & breakfast becomes an integral part of the overall Nola experience not easily forgotten. My husband & I felt secure and comfortable in this beautifully furnished old home. We had the upper street room, charming with a walk-out balcony & the clip-clop sounds of the carriage mules returning to the barns in the evening. Our car was parked safely below, just one of many perks offered to us by John,our congenial host. Each morning began with a casual visit to the kitchen to enjoy John's surprise breakfast, always delicious. The backyard garden is a nice place to enjoy a second cup of coffee, read the local newspaper or plan your day. For the latter John offers smart information & will steer you in the right direction. Exceptional service, we would happily return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the street views & sounds in the upper front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Chicki, thanks again for staying with us and for the review! We are so glad you enjoyed the Balcony Queen room as it's one of our favorites, too. Just enjoying the sights and sounds of the quiet residential side of Bourbon is pretty cool when you know there's all kinds of buffoonery just a few blocks down the street! Please visit New Orleans again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for the French Quarter Festival, and it was perfect. Far enough away from the party for peace, close enough for easy access to everything. The B&B is a lovely historic house with period furniture that is incredibly comfortable, and a great host in John, who not only happily helped with recommendations, but whipped up a fabulous breakfast. If you want unique, comfortable, local, and friendly, you can hardly do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJNOLA, Owner at La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments about La Maison Marigny! It's always great when people give us a "thumbs up" but it's even more gratifying when those props come from a TripAdvisor "Top Contributor." We are humbled and will continue to try to have the best little B&B on Bourbon Street! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon

Address: 1421 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Marigny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate upscale inn located on the quiet-end of world-famous Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to Frenchmen Street and all French Quarter attractions plus the city's multiple streetcar and bus lines. Newly-renovated kitchen/sunroom, custom designer linens, iPod docking stations, renovated bathrooms and high ceilings accent the 1890s-era house. Tropical courtyard, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Marigny b&b On Bourbon Hotel New Orleans
La Maison Marigny Bed And Breakfast On Bourbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Marigny B&B on Bourbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.