We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST B&B EVER, BEST HOSTS, WONDERFUL AND MAGICAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 144 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST B&B EVER, BEST HOSTS, WONDERFUL AND MAGICAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This B&B was simply the best we have ever experienced in our many travels worldwide. Being from New Orleans now married to an Englishman & living in London, we visit N.O. often but this was our 1st time at this B&B. We wanted to stay somewhere convenient to the Quarter & Uptown without being in the middle of it all and this place was the perfect choice.
Our hosts, Kevin & Wendy were amazing wonderful people and made the experience of their sweet little B&B even more enjoyable by their hospitality. We could not have wished for a better experience than the one we had here and with these hosts. Staying here is like visiting your favourite friends or relatives but better. The B&B is set in a quiet, sweet little street in the quaint peaceful neighbourhood of Algiers Point, a stone’s throw from the levee and river, within walking distance of many sites, cafes and bars. It offers clean, nice sized rooms, well appointed with separate bath area, plenty of storage space for unpacking & settling in, (something we have found lacking in the past), privacy and most of all, a wonderful atmosphere. Kevin provided a delicious breakfast and perfect cup of coffee (or tea) each morning which you could opt to have on the back porch overlooking their garden while listening to some smooth New Orleans jazz or blues. Kevin & Wendy both offer a fountain of local knowledge, history, sites and entertainment, much of which you would be hard pressed to find in any guide book and if asked, can direct you to some amazing little out of the way places again, hard to find without insider knowledge. They offer this while still respecting visitors’ privacy which is a hard balance to obtain but they do so effortlessly.
If you are still hungry after the delightful breakfast offered (doubtful) or want a late brunch or early lunch they can direct you to a great little café just around the corner and across from the church where you will find most of the locals daily. There are also some amazing bars & cafes scattered around the area which you could easily spend your day in, sitting outside sipping something cold and tasting great local cuisine while chatting with the many colourful Algiers characters. Really, your entire trip to New Orleans could be spent enjoying lazy days strolling around the neighbourhood of Algiers soaking in the local charm or sitting out on the front porch swing of the B&B. The Dry Dock café just across the road from the ferry landing & river is one such place as is the Old Point Bar.
This B&B and the hosts are truly pleasant and perfect, thank you Kevin & Wendy for making our trip so memorable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    17
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
204
28
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
suewhitten1@charter.net
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

What a wonderful find!! This lovely B&B is situated within walking distance of the free ferry over to the French Quarter. We stayed in the Queens room with private bath. Wendi and Kevin, and their precious little, puggle, Bodine, were just delightful. Breakfast was fresh fruit, greek yogurt, and granola, and all the coffee you could want. Kevin is so generous with his knowledge of music and the Algiers Point history and Wendi, being a native of cajun country has marvelous family stories to share. You will not want to leave this lovely place

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

It was actually in early 2005, and not Nov 2009, that my wife and I first made contact with the House of the Rising Sun. It was back when we had plans to relocate to New Orleans, LA from Athens, Ohio and were under some pressure to do some intense house hunting. Not being familiar with much beyond the French Quarter, we placed ourselves in the hands of a real estate agent who showed us dozens of houses on the East Bank of the Crescent City. Nothing appealed to us until we were shown a house in beautiful Algiers Point, New Orleans. Since we needed to return to take a closer look at the house and the neighborhood, we looked into B&Bs in Algiers Point and luckily found House of the Rising Sun. Once there we got to know Kevin and Wendy and several other characters from Algiers Point and decided to move forward on the house, which was just around the corner from House of the Rising Sun. Not only were we quite comfortable, well fed, and well situated at House of the Rising Sun, but the hospitality and camaraderie that Wendy and Kevin offered made us feel right at home even before we became their neighbors for five life-changing years (including Katrina and its aftermath!) and their friends forever. What are you waiting for? Make your reservations now!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

During the week of January 30 to February 6, 2010 my wife and I stayed at the “House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast” at 335 Pelican Avenue on historic Algiers Point. The “double shotgun” style B& B, in the mist of a variety of other interesting architectural house designs, was close to several restaurants and an English style pub. It is approximately three blocks from the free Algiers ferry landing, which left on the hour and half hour, taking just under ten minutes to complete the crossing of the Mississippi River to the base of Canal Street. Our hosts were Kevin and Wendy. Kevin, who was born in England, has a wealth of information on local music styles and history of the area. Each morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, tea, coffee and a nice visit with our hosts. The B& B, which has been freshly renovated in the past few years, currently has two comfortable guest rooms. We stayed in the Queen room which has a private bathroom attached. Our week long visit is something that will stand out in our memory for many years.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2003

Wonderful B&B with great hosts. Situated in an historic neighborhood with French Quarter within walking distance via Free Ferry to cross the Mightly Mississippi!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Many thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.