We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free night's stay
Ranked #3 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a Canadian from Calgary coming to New Orleans for the first time in November, I was completely charmed by Historic Algiers Point. I had wanted to step back in time and I could almost believe that I was living back when life was simpler and the pace was slower. Staying at the House of the Rising Sun, was a natural for me because I am a musician. Of course I had to play that song on Wendy and Kevin's piano while I was there! I had brought my guitar with me and they enjoyed listening to my original blues songs. I stayed in the Memphis Minnnie room (and my nickname is Minnie)! I absolutely loved crossing on the ferry every day and the walking was a great opportunity to get in shape. Will look forward to visiting The House of the Rising Sun again in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! We enjoyed your music and stories. Hope the film works out for you. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
186
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We've been visiting New Orleans for years but have always stayed in the French Quarter. This time, we wanted to experience the West Bank. After our stay at the House of the Rising Sun, we're ready to move to Algiers. Our hosts, Kevin and Wendy, couldn't have been more charming, and everyone we met in the community went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We walked the streets late at night and felt perfectly safe. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and glad you loved Algiers Point as much as we and all our guests do! Looking forward to your next visit. Algiers Point certainly is the "best kept secret" in New Orleans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We wanted to avoid hotels and so glad we did :-) this place is just like home from home. Kevin and Wendy make it feel just like you're staying with friends, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the day started with a lovely breakfast. The trip on the ferry provides lovely views of New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! Always good to see fellow Brits and to catch up on all the news back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a great stay here. The property is in an ideal spot for access to the heart of New Orleans, yet in a lovely quiet tree lined street. We walked everywhere, each morning accessing downtown New Orleans by ferry across the Misssissipi was a great start to the day. Kevin is a friendly informative flexible host, the house is very relaxing clean and welcoming. The bedroom was very spacious and private.

Room Tip: We had the red room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review! We always seem to get plenty of Australians stay here. Must be the Commonwealth connection :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldora, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room I stayed in was clean and quiet and Kevin was accommodating to my needs. The breakfast was a combination of fresh fruit, yogurt and granola and fresh croissants. The location is wonderful, a quiet neighborhood with quick access via ferry to the heart of New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful review and glad you and your family had such a great visit for the wedding! Look forward to seeing your wife as well next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. Kevin is the perfect host and made us feel immediately at home. He provided lovely, healthy breakfasts which were most welcoming and the rooms were very comfortable. Algiers Point is a very pretty and safe neighbourhood - ideal to return to after a hectic day in NOLA. We felt we did not do New Orleans justice while we were there as there is so much to see and do, so I am already plotting a trip for some time next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Many thanks for your excellent review! Always good to see Brits and find out what's going on back at home. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The House of the Rising Sun is a bed and breakfast that excels in both of its banner purposes. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, comfortable, and a delightful place of respite and rest after busy days associated with pulling off and attending a wedding. The adjoining bathroom to my bedroom was appointed in a matching color scheme and included basic hygienic needs - which means the next time I come, I won't weigh down my bags with soaps, and a hair dryer.
Breakfast was delicious - something that I would naturally have chosen to eat at home - healthy and nourishing: fruit, yoghourt, bread, and cheeses, tea, and fruit juice. The host Kevin was friendly, helpful, a great conversationalist, ready and able to talk, but never overbearing. I stayed at this bed and breakfast at the recommendation of my sister and her husband. In fact they were guests along with myself and my nephew, making it quite a family affair. We talked and laughed together - feeling completely free to do so - enjoying our last moments together as we prepared to fly to our separate destinations. I look forward to when I might be able to stay again.

Room Tip: I had the central room downstairs - so there were people above, and on both sides, but I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! Glad your first experience at the House of the Rising Sun B&B was so enjoyable!! It was nice to talk about your time in England and family history (a nice, time consuming hobby for retirement :-)). We hope to see you again, along with the rest of your family, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list