We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, convenient, cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New King bedroom
Ranked #7 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, convenient, cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

GPS took us straight down Canal street to the Algiers ferry, which was a whole zero dollars to Algiers, one dollar back. The B&B was two blocks from the ferry landing, in a very historic neighborhood. I was very glad to park the car in front for the whole stay, ride the ferry back and forth to New Orleans to the conference center and restaurants. Kevin and Wendy were very nice, too bad I did not get to spend much time with them. They gave many helpful suggestions for things to do or places to eat. If you like a good pub, the Crown and Anchor is just a couple of blocks away, as is a very decent restaurant (Dry Dock Cafe) and wine bar. Way better than the overpriced New Orleans hotels. If you stay in the king room, you should realize your private bathroom is down the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you at your next New Orleans convention! Keep brewing that beer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
199
27
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the House of the Rising Sun for four nights during the French Quarter Fest. We picked the right place. This is a small B&B, family style in all ways. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was excellent, just a quick ferry ride from the heart of NO, and steps away from the music stages. The house is nestled in a very pretty community of small houses, some historic, most displaying the architectural features that New Orleans is known for. The breakfast was healthy and every morning the six guests (in 3 rooms) lingered at the table, drinking coffee, munching on croissants, sharing stories and experiences--all with the full participation of the hosts. If this wasn't enough to make our stay outstanding, the thoughtful advice of the hosts on where to eat, where to roam, and, most importantly of all, where to go at the Festival to find the best music, was graciously proffered with critical acumen. And if you want to know anything about Cajun history and people, just ask Wendy and you'll get a down-to-earth, intelligent account from a person who knows well from experience.
All in all, a great pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit for Jazz Fest, 2014! The French Quarter Fest really is excellent value for money - FREE - with over 20 stages of music. Glad you enjoyed the music, food, and history of our great city!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Rising Sun is a most pleasant place to stay and we would recommend it to anyone visiting New Orleans who wants a base away from the city. The free ferry to NO is just 5 minutes walk from the house. Kevin is a great host, and Boudin a real character. Location and parking so easy - important after a long drive. The breakfast conversation was always very entertaining - a rewarding experience you never get in a hotel. Overall an immensely enjoyable experience.
Terry & Sandy, Ringwood, England.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! Sorry to see you only gave us four stars but that's O.K. Glad you enjoyed it so much and we'll see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our second Mardi Gras in a row staying at Kevin and Wendy's B&B. We feel like it's our own little oasis on the Point. Love riding the ferry and hanging with our awesome hosts and their friends, who have become our friends too. The rooms are top notch and I hear the breakfasts are fresh, healthy and tasty but don't think I've ever been awake early enough to try it myself (except Fat Tuesday, when we eat huevos rancheros and start the champagne flowing around 6:30am!!) Having to make a hard choice between Mardi Gras and Jazzfest next year with maybe a late fall trip thrown in for good measure. Just hope our "usual" room by the kitchen will be available. Thanks Kevin and Wendy for the hospitality. Can't wait to see you guys again!!

Room Tip: If you get ANY chance to see Trombone Shorty- don't think, just go and dance your butt off!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review on your second Mardi Gras stay with us! It was great fun, especially as Mardi Gras Day was on my birthday! We look forward to seeing you again next year for Jazz Fest but try and book early as two lots of this year's Jazz Fest guests also stayed with us last year for Jazz Fest, one on his third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at the House of the Rising Sun for four nights back in January and were delighted with our choice.
The location was great, away from the main tourist throng but still close to everything.
Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable with a full bathroom.
Kevin gave us plenty of recommendations and suggestions concerning places to visit and good value restaurants. One of our favorites was Mona Lisa's.
We would certainly recommend this B&B to friends coming to New Orleans
Wishing you both, Kevin and Wendy, continuing success in your project.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing both you and your friends from Montreal here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of February as part of a road trip, Kevin and Boudin were very welcoming, our room was spacious and nicely decorated, the communal rooms, had everything you would have at home, and more, an excellent choice highly recommended and good location. Thank you !

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we look forward to seeing more folks from Yorkshire in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Kevin and Wendy were gracious hosts and their home is clean, comfortable and attractive. Our short stay in the King room was nice and the bathroom down the hall was no inconvenience at all. We have roamed around Algiers before but took this opportunity to explore a bit more fully. We lunched at the Dry Dock and had dinner at Vine and Dine, both places were great. We enjoyed Gal Holiday at Old Point Bar later that evening, you could tell this is a spot frequented by locals-very friendly. The ferry is so convenient that we were also able to catch an early evening show in the Quarter. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast too. Highly recommend this great B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and we hope you can get to spend more than one night here next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun b&b
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.