We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114 (Algiers Point)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Mansfield, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Our stay with Kevin and Wendy was brief, as we were heading home the next day, but found them hospital and friendly hosts. They are ideally situated across the Mississippi from the French Quarter, giving a completely different aspect and experience of New Orleans. The Mississippi by night via the short ferry ride is a delight. Delicious breakfast and a wonderfully comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! You can always stay longer than one night next time. Please send along your Aussie friends :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
194
26
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Thank you to Kevin and 'Boudin' for making our stay one of the best on our 3 week USA tour. My husband and I wish we could have stayed so much longer. It was so nice to have a chance to sit down and relax, even chilling out on the couch watching tv!! Kevin recommended great places to eat (2 or 3 good locals) The bed was comfortable and the room was huge. The bathroom was perfect and great shower!! The quirky little signs and extra things around the house set such an amazing tone to our stay! Im so glad we stayed out of the inner city, with the house being only a 5 min ferry ride away it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Please send more Kiwis our way! Hope to see y'all back here some day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This b&b is fabulous - exactly what you want from a visit to New Orleans. I really loved getting to know my host, and the dog (Boudin) is adorable. Thank you so much for your hospitality - I look forward to next time and will definitely stay with you again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to Buddy Holly's statue and we look forward to your return in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Kevin and Wendi at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, we were very comfortable and overcome with a sense of calm after the 6 hour drive from Houston. Algiers point and the B&B have lots to offer those trying to chill out after traveling or just a night out in New Orleans. Kevin and Wendi are great souls with lots of new orleans knowledge. Will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: King room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Many thanks thanks for a wonderful review! Glad you had a safe drive home and look forward to seeing you, and your friends, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Only 5 minutes by free ferry to the bustling centre that is the french quarter of New Orleans yet this bed and breakfast is quiet and tranquil and the rooma are beautifully decorated. There is free parking which is important in this city!! Also a good choice of eating and drinking locally for a quiet evening without going over the river. Excellent hosts ready with many jolly stories and interesting facts about the area plus information on where to eat or what to see etc...Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! Give our regards to the Midlands and we hope to see you back here some time soon! Thanks for the English newspapers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Whenever visiting beloved New Orleans, my preference is to enjoy the comfort of the House of the Rising Sun. Being treated like one of the family, the relaxed atmosphere along with excellent service can not be beat. Located in the historic Algiers Point, restaurants and famous bars with live music make for a charming stay. Judy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review!! We love you Canadians! Hope to see you back here in 2013 if time allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with Kevin and Wendy at the House of the Rising Sun B&B. we knew its was going to be a great stay, for as soon as we arrived Kevin offered us an icy cold Abita beer. What a great welcome. The location is rally convenient to the main part of the city, just a free five min ferry ride away. The rooms are clean and the breakfasts are yummy. Most importantly, Kevin and Wendy are so friendly and offer so many useful tips. Thanks for an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cockney007, Owner at House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again if you make it back to New Orleans from Oz. Glad you had such a great stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 335 Pelican Ave., Algiers Point, New Orleans, LA 70114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Algiers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896, this charming "shotgun double" cottage is nestled within the beautiful Algiers Point Historic District, a short walk from the free ferry to the French Quarter, Convention Center, etc. Features 11 foot ceilings, hardwood floors, and private bathrooms. Come and slip back in time in New Orleans' best kept secret - Algiers Point. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Rising Sun Hotel New Orleans
House Of The Rising Sun b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Rising Sun Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.