We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small functional hotel...perfect for French Quarter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helene

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Helene to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel St. Helene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small functional hotel...perfect for French Quarter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in New Orleans for 4 nights at this hotel. The French Quarter itself is very compact and accessible and this hotel was situated perfectly. We had a room facing the courtyard and it was quite peaceful and quiet at night. Our first night there, the heat was not working, so it was damn freezing in our room. This was fixed the next day.

There is no amenities to this hotel other than the pool in the courtyard. This worked well as it forces you to explore the French Quarter for breakfasts, meals and drinks. For us, it was perfect. Oh and there is no elevator! We were on the third floor, so we were able to work off all the gumbo we were eating.

The hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to your recent stay at Hotel Ste. Helene. It is our goal to provide every guest with exceptional customer service, and clean comfortable surroundings that fit the needs of modern travelers.

We do apologize about the issues with the heating on your first night, and any inconvenience this may have caused. The boiler was immediately repaired, and is running at 100%.

Hotel Ste. Helene is perfectly situated in the French Quarter, with easy access to the hundreds of restaurants located within mere blocks. Guests can enjoy our hidden courtyard with crystal clear pool, as well as our comfortable guest suites. Hotel Ste. Helene does not feature a restaurant or bar, like most cookie-cutter hotels do. However, the historic charm behind our brick walls, spacious guest suites with modern design and ebony stained hardwood floors, and outstanding customer service, are some of the many reasons guests choose to stay with us on their trips to New Orleans so they can truly experience the beauty of this original historic building in the heart of the French Quarter.

Thank you again so very much for your kind words. We can’t wait to have you as our guest again, on your next trip to the Big Easy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    33
    28
    15
    25
See reviews for
4
44
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We come to New Orleans every November, as our annual vacation. We wanted to try something new this year since our usual hotel was undergoing renovations. We looked online and found this hotel, right in the french quarter where we like to be, but also a view of Jackson square! I was so excited - then looking at the pictures and read a couple reviews, we couldn't wait to try it.
Upon our arrival we realized this wasn't going to be like the other hotels we've been at in the quarter. It was NOISY! it was SMALL! As for the noise, they were tearing up the roads to redo them for the upcoming superbowl, the whole quarter seemed to be doing renovations. We had a balcony room on the 2nd floor. It was ok, but there was no room for anything. The large window doors out to the balcony couldn't open all the way, and only one set opened. There is a large hotel across the street, and starting at 4am is trash pick up. Other reviewers werent kidding when they stated it was loud and lasted 2 hrs. The housekeeping needs a little training in cleaning, and didn't service our room for 2 days. The bathrooms are very small, but the shower is gorgous. There is no place for more than 1 person to put their clothing, since there is only a small 2 drawer dresser, we had to work out of our luggage for the 5 days we were there. The staff was nice, no complaints there. Again, no elevator. The pool looks pretty in the pictures, but it's a little older, not heated.. I don't think i'd come back to this hotel for the reasons it's too small for 2 people for such a long period of time that we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I would definitely stay at Hotel St. Helene again. The location is excellent, close to Jackson Square and all the bars and restaurants without the loud crowds outside your window. Keep in mind this is a small boutique hotel. There is no bar, room service, or even elevator. The rooms were a little small but not bad. The black hardwood floors and white walls were pretty cool. The standard rooms have a little side room with a couch and coffee table, which I found very convenient. The bathrooms had marble tile with glassed in showers.

It might have been a little noisier than a standard hotel but I didn't find it as distracting as some of the other reviewers. I could mainly hear a few doors being slammed in the mornings and cleaning going on in the afternoons. I've had far noisier hotels in New York.

If you're looking for a cool boutique hotel in the French Quarter I would highly recommend Hotel St. Helene.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I came to New Orleans for an NFL game and to take in the French Quarter. This hotel is in a perfect location with the right price. It is so close to everything we wanted to see and do while on vacation.

The staff was very friendly and helpful hen we asked for advice or places to eat. Our room was perfect for the two of us, although the bathroom is pretty small. Overall we had a great stay.

The only drawback was how thin the walls seemed to be. It is an old building, so some of that is to be expected. We were on the first floor and could clearly hear other guests coming and going. We got used to it, but it was a little distracting.

Our vacation was great and the hotel was great too, you just need to be prepared to be in a small, quaint kind of place and not some Mega hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Now I didn't book the room, so I don't know how all that went, so this is from the perspective of a guest.
This hotel is in the heart of the French Quarter, across the street from a parking garage.
The first thing I noticed upon entering is that the floor is black wood & everything else is white. The visual is quite impressive. The lobby is a bit small, I was shocked. Due to the wooden floors & no carpeting save the fiber one under the bed, I was surprised at how quiet it was. I would have expected a lot of echoing of footsteps & voices.
The room was a standard queen & was a bit small, however it is well laid out & when we had four people in there at times surprisingly we weren't tripping over eachother. It is a bit austere & cold & could use some softening features. The bathroom is in want of a good scrubbing as the grout & corners in the bathroom were dirty, the spray from the shower head was too fine, & we could really could have used more than two towels. The bed was really comfortable & the linens were very clean. It would have been very nice to have a pull out sofa, a wall switch to operate the ceiling fan (or longer pull) & larger dresser. The courtyard & pool is absolutely beautiful.
Now, the one deal breaker was that the air conditioner didn't ever cool the room below 78. It was late when we noticed this & were really tired & leaving the following morning, so we didn't bother with it. Over all the experience was good, I would stay there again for the conveinence, decent price, & location. Thank you.

Room Tip: The first room you come to when you get off the stairs on the third floor is really hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out and giving us your feedback. You are correct, there are a few parking choices around Ste Helene, there are however, two garages across the street and a lot only a few steps away next door. Our décor is very simple at all of our properties with the color scheme of black and white. We are a small property with only 16 rooms and our lobby and common areas reflect that as well. We have heard guest say they can hear echoing through the hotel so it’s nice to hear that it doesn’t affect every guest and their stay with us, thank you. The rooms at Ste Helene, even the Standard Suites are very roomy, the rooms, like our common areas are decorated very clean cut and simple with the black and white colors. We have already address the bathroom area’s with maintenance and housekeeping and are currently working to get that taken care of. Because there is only one bed in the rooms, we typically cater to singles or couples we only keep 2 sets of towels in the room, however there is a front desk agent on the property 24/7, they would have been more than happy to assist you with getting more towels, within reason of course. Some of our other Suites do have couches and sitting areas, our Standard Suites unfortunately do not. Were sorry to here that the air conditioner wasn’t working, but if we would have known we would have definitely had that fixed for you, but respectfully we understand why you didn’t. Again thank you so much for your comments and we will definitely address everything in your review. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here because I thought I got a good deal on the room. The location is perfect in the French Quarter and that's about it. The employees were friendly, The rooms were smaller than I expected especially the bathroom. I don't like my knees are almost touching the wall when I'm on the toilet. Our room didn't even get cleaned nor towels replaced after the first night, then on the 2nd day it never got cleaned till about 3PM. (at least they decided to do their job finally). The hotel is not noisy from the busy action on the streets but you sure do hear people talking when they walk down the hall as well as hear the door closing to the rooms. I know I won't be staying here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Than you for your comment and choosing Hotel Ste Helene for your stay in New Orleans. We do pride ourselves on our customer service. Unfortunately I can not tell how you booked and if you talked to one of our front desk agents about a room that would best suit your needs and what exactly you were looking for. Our standard rooms are 170 square feet but we do have rooms as large as 215 square feet and the restrooms in those rooms are larger as well. Our Courtyard Suites and French Quarter Balcony Suites are the rooms we typically recommend for our guests who would like a little more room.
We do have a green program and cards in the rooms explaining that unless the guest specifically requests something we do not change anything out. Our housekeepers typically do check out rooms first then move onto the stay overs. We apologize for the inconvenience it caused.
Our hotel is small and quaint and unfortunately you can hear people, we apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here last week with my mom. We were celebrating her retirement. We booked our balcony- street-side room back in August for an early October stay. The day before we arrived I received a phone call saying that a guest had broken a glass door in our balcony room so it would not be ready for us the day we arrived. Instead we were offered an interior room at the lower rate for one night. We understand things happen so we were fine with this switch- until we caught them in a lie. When we came downstairs after our first night and asked when our balcony room would be ready, they told us that the guests hadn't checked out yet. They told us the day before that the room was uninhabitable due to the broken French door, and yet someone was actually staying in it! I understand sometimes guests want to extend their stays, but they should have just told us that instead of making up some story. Really disappointed in that level of service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We are so very sorry, but I promise this was simply a miscommunication. This situation was, after speaking with the glass repair company in the morning, they were not able to give us a definite time on when the room would be ready. Given this information we decided to pre-block you to a room that we knew was checking out of a French Quarter Balcony Suite, so that we would be able to get you into your room as soon as it become available. Checkout time is for 11:00am so we knew that the guests would be checking out at that time or prior and would have the room cleaned immediately for your convenience. If we were to wait for the repairs of the room it possible it wouldn’t have been ready until 3:00-4:00 pm. We thought this decision would be in the best interest for you, so when you stopped by the front desk and asked if your room was ready, it was actually still occupied. We apologize; the front desk agent should have gone into more detail and explained why we were putting you in a room that was occupied the previous night. We apologize for this misunderstanding. We would never want you to feel as though we were misleading you or any other guest in any way. Please feel free to call us anytime to discuss this further, again we apologize for the confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene
Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Helene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.