We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Helene

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Helene to your Saves list
Hotel St. Helene
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Ruston, Louisiana
1 review
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was a great hotel , loved the rooms- not vey big but real nice. Not many rooms so not alot of people coming in and out- quiet and close to bourbon street-- loved the pool also. quiet little place that people really don't know about- Jena was a great host-- i never comment on hotels but i really like this one.. Burton

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We thank you for letting us be your first review!! More importantly we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself immensely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    33
    18
    28
See reviews for
4
58
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We live only 45 miles NO so my husband and I often drive over and stay a night for a little getaway. We have stayed in many hotels in the quarter and were looking forward to staying at this hotel. The St. Helene has stood closed since Katrina (hurricane) and we were excited to see it being renovated and then opened. We stayed there the Sunday before Labor day and after our visit, we would would rank this hotel somewhere in the middle compared to the other hotels we've stayed at. Actually, it would take only adding a few small details and amenities to make this Boutique hotel one that would we would visit again.

First the PROS:
It is in a prime location. Just blocks from Jackson Square, it's in the center of the tourist district. The lack of parking doesn't really matter since there are places right across the road. Yes it's expensive, but almost all overnight parking is in the Quarter. No hotel offers free parking. The architecture is classic New Orleans. This is old historical building that gives you a glimpse of how these buildings are laid out with the narrow long hallways and the beautiful courtyards that are like a surprise in the middle of the buildings. The linens were white and fresh & clean. The TV is a nice big flat screen (not all boutique Quarter hotels have this). The sink is separate from the shower area which I always like for the sake of putting on makeup. We did book a Balcony room and the balcony was really niceand big, facing the street, with a table and 2 chairs. There is a nice size pool. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The cons:
Things that were missing from the room that could add a lot: Hotel Information. There was nothing to give you any info about the room, the numbers you need, where the ice machine was, etc. There was supposed to be free Internet, but it required a name and password. I didn't discover this until the early morning when I needed it, and couldn't call down because... And this is another thing... The phone didn't work. A mini fridge would be a helpful addition to the room also. I always like to have a diet coke in the early morning, and even packing it in ice the night before, it was luke warm in the morning. A lamp beside the chair in the room would be nice for reading. Lighting is scarce in the room. The elevator wasn't working and I was thankful we were only on the 2nd floor.

Bottom line: we paid a premium price for a room with a balcony, (and prices were higher in town because of labor day) but it felt like we over paid for what we actually got and experienced. Would we stay again, yes, if we got a super good price. I would definitely bring an ice chest if that happened and get the Internet information before I got to the room. If you are staying only one or two nights in the Quarter, then this is not a bad place to stay, especially if you won't be spending a lot of time in your room. If you are staying longer and looking forward to lounging in your room- you won't be comfortable here unless it's cooler weather so you can sit on the balcony.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you so much for all of your suggestions, they are definitely appreciated. You’re most certainly correct, parking in the French Quarter is challenging but St Helene is located near 3 parking options in the one block radius and about 5 within minutes of walking. We are newly renovated all of our rooms are equipped with its own thermostat, bathroom and flat screen television. Our company does true very hard to stay true to the New Orleans architecture as well as meeting the needs of today’s convenience like the WiFi and central A/C and heating, for example. The French Quarter Hotel Group prides itself on our customer service, it’s extremely important to us that our guest truly feel like guest.
We apologize that the room phone was unavailable and not working, it may have been something as simple as the wire being lose. We are in the process of making an in room binder with all the information New Orleans guest could need- restaurants, night life, tour information as well as local cab phone numbers and as well as a hotel directory. Unfortunately, St Helene does not have any fridges in any of the rooms; however, we will definitely take this into serious consideration. We currently have additional lighting to put in all the rooms on the way as we speak! The elevator has not been working for some time, we never want to miss lead anyone, therefore all of our websites we advertise for do show that we don’t not have a working elevator and we do have Bellman on staff that can assist during regular business hours, this is not to be confused with the front desk which is on site 24/7.
We are sorry to hear that you feel you were misled and possibly should have gotten more. If you wanted to give me a call personally so we could discuss some of the issues with your room as well as your stay in more detail I would be more than happy to do so. We definitely want to invite you back so you could tell us how our improvements help and what else we can improve on for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Called a booking service in India. Upon arrival got room quickly traveling with another couple they got an inside room with no windows! They changed rooms to another with a non working AC. Then changed to another. Ok Lighting terrible. The alcove in room with white leather couch didn't have lamps. Only light on room was from bedside lamps! Bed was so lumpy and soft. Nice bathroom very small but ok. Room rates were high. This is supposed to be low season. An additional charge not disclosed by booking agent of $8.95 for amenities. Assume for t.p.? Internet access not ro.om And since the first of the year NO working elevator!! The owners need to fix these things! Not just give lip service. Parking 25 dollars a day. Too much for too little. Skip this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are so incredibly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of our rooms do have windows but some of them are only into the walkways because of the way the architecture of the building is. Our Courtyard and French Quarter suites do however have doors out to the balcony; we highly recommend for our guest who may want a nicer view to book for these rather than the standard rooms that are available. It seems the staff tried their very best to make sure your friends were as comfortable as possible with moving them to another room because of the windows and rather waiting for someone to come out and fix the A/C we immediately moved them to another room that was cooler to avoid any waiting time. We are currently in the process of getting more lighting for the rooms, again we apologize for this inconvenience it caused during your stay. As a company we do stay competitive with the other hotels in the area, summer is typically a slower time for New Orleans, but this summer the city remained busy, and at times like that we have to take into consideration supply and demand in the city. We do have an Amenities charge that we advertise for at the hotel per night ($8.95) and that includes local and long distance calls to Canada, United States and Mexico, the WiFi and safe insurance up to $20,000. Unfortunately, we do not offer parking at the hotel however there is 2 garages across the street and a lot next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is in Chartres Street which is 2 blocks down from all the busy streets where all the party and bars begin. I was in New Orleans just for 11/2 days and i found the hotel clean, practical, quiet and with a nice little pool. Everything was within walking distance so it was perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, New Orleans is truly a great city! We are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed the hotel but everything the city has to offer. Please come back and stay with us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When I booked at the St Helene, one factor for my choice was a review where someone mentioned they had an elevator, though i don't believe their website mentions it. We arrived on a Thurs nite (July 12th, 2012) late to find that the elevator did not work and we were on the 2nd floor. My husband, at 70, is not good with stairs but we made it up the two flights (with a landing in between). The room (205) was a standard, very nice looking at first sight, nice linens, flat screen tv, only one chair (which makes it hard for 2people to sit and talk or watch tv), a small 2-drawer dresser, a pedestal sink, 4 hangars (they had no extras when we asked for 2 more), the "bathroom" was small, hard to stand in front of the toilet and turn to close the door. One of the glass shower doors had no knobs on it to open and close it (the holes were there), and the Ikea-style straight wall mounted shelves/night stand felt like they were going to fall off the wall--they were loose and slanting downward. I had read that it had been renovated I think in Jan 2012. I was pleased to see a ceiling fan and the room was cold upon arrival--the way I like it but we turned down the temp for my husband's comfort. We crashed in bed and unfortunately the mattress was one of those where you roll to the middle.

The next day we took off for a cooking class near the convention center (there is a very handy taxi stand cater-corner to the hotel). Afterward, we decided to walk back to the hotel, which proved to be too far for my husband who almost did not make it back. When we got to the lobby, I sat him down and told the staff there was no way my husband could make it up the stairs and that we had to have a room on the first floor. They were very helpful and quick to respond, and we were able to relocate to the first floor. This room (105) was directly below our first room but slightly different in size--the bathroom was smaller (!)--a notch had to be cut out of the door in order to close past the toilet; but we did have 5 hangars and this mattress was comfortable/even. The 4 knobs on this room's shower door were all loose--something I would think the housekeeper would notice when she cleaned the shower.

For a recently renovated hotel, there were holes where it looked like the towel bar had come off the wall, poor paint job in the bathroom, broken tiles in the bathroom at the bottom of the wall in front of the toilet where I watched a little bug crawl into. Overall I thought the property was very clean. From room 105, when people walked up or down the stairs to the 2nd or 3rd floors, you could hear their conversations. We did not have windows that looked outside in either of the rooms, so we never knew what the weather was doing--it rained off and on while we were there.

The location was excellent--just a few blocks from Jackson Square--a few more to Cafe Du Monde and the French Market. The Original Pierre Maspero restaurant was just half a block away and had very good typical New Orleans fare. There are parking lots nearby if you are driving for a price.

I felt the staff was helpful/ attentive and asked us if we would need a taxi when we told them when we would be checking out--and called ahead for one.

Would I stay here again? No , mainly because of the lack of a working elevator, too small of a bathroom, not enough hangars, and not enough seating in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herat, Afghanistan
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I were very pleased with this hotel. The staff was very courteous, informative, rooms are clean and modern. Nice sized tv for the room size. We liked how small the place is and the fact that it's not a corporate run hotel, this make our experience more personal and enjoyable. For those leaving bad reviews, you must like staying at high end corporate owned hotel. This place isn't for you, they don't call this a boutique for nothing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galliano, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Where to start...

We booked this hotel because of location and it was recently remodeled. The location was excellent. Could not complain at all about that. That is where the good stopped.

They offered no parking and no deal with any lot nearby. It was $35 a night or walk a few blocks.

We get in the room and they are small. We had the queen room, but if I had known it would have been so small, I'd have gotten the deluxe. After a few hours in the city, I decided to take a quick refresher shower. The drain wasn't draining. Told the staff and they were nearly useless. I asked to move rooms and they put me in the room on the side. That room also had plumbing issues. The toilet wouldn't flush. We decided to just go out and let them call someone. They did fix it after a few hours. The floors will also turn your socks black.

The first night, I was woken up by the room on the side. They were playing music on their TV around 3 in the morning. Second morning I was woken up by people walking up and down the stairs. How thin were the walls?!!

I have no reason to recommend or book this hotel again.

Keep in mind they add $9 a night for some "resort fee". I don't get why they can't include it in the price.

Room Tip: Stay away from bottom floor. Very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hotel St. Helene, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not the best of experiences. We work hard and take pride in providing great customer service to all guest. We do our very best to portray all of our rooms as is on our website, we are sorry you were unhappy. In regards to your toilet issue at the property we are only a 16 room property so we are limited to the rooms we can move you to if we are sold out. As stated above once notified we did get the problem taken care of. Unfortunately there are things that come up and we cannot always foresee but we do our very best to make sure any situation that arises is taken care of to the best of our ability. In regards to the floors, our hard wood floors are stained ebony black, that is most likely what happened to your socks. We are in the process of having all floors re-coated with an additional coat of finish. The hotel re-opened in January and since then we have noticed that the floors do need another coat of finish. This issue is being addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Helene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Helene

Address: 508 Rue Chartres, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Helene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Helene is located on Chartres Street, right next door to the Napoleon House, a favorite among locals and tourists alike. The hotel’s location offers access to an abundance of popular attractions and world famous entertainment that the French Quarter has to offer, such as Café du Monde, the French Market, House of Blues, and Pat O’ Brien’s, which are all located within only one-half mile of this French Quarter gem! This beautifully restored hotel, just recently renovated and reopened in January 2012, is located in the heart of the French Quarter, only 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street, steps away from Jackson Square and the mighty Mississippi River. Our contemporary guest rooms and suites are complete with:-LCD flat screen TVs-Ebony stained hardwood floors-Wireless internet in guest rooms and public areas-300 thread-count linens & duvet covers-IPOD docking stations-All-marble bathrooms with standing showersOur French Quarter and Courtyard suites feature balconies which overlook the pool in the courtyard area or the historic French Quarter. All guest rooms are nicely equipped to give a feeling of being home away from home in one of the most historic cities in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. Helene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ste Helene Hotel
Hotel Ste Helene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Helene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.