We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, unique, and well worth it. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ashton's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unique, and well worth it. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The staff, decor, and food - fantastic!! My fiancé and I stayed in an incredible room in the main house, and had a big, beautiful, comfy bed! Breakfast was outstanding every morning (our favorite - sweet potato stuffed French toast with pecan maple syrup... I mean...). We couldn't have asked for a better experience. It was a little off the path, but we liked how quiet it was at night. Our stay was in April of 2013, but we never got around to posting a review, and have been talking about this place ever since. The staff did a great job of accommodating us, and we really enjoyed talking with Guy! Coming back next year. Awesome experience!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
289
18
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My stay at Ashton's Bed & Breakfast was actually a gift from my grandparents and what an awesome gift it was! We stayed in the 'Creole Queen' bc the room was painted red (my favorite color) and the description stated it was for couples looking for a romantic getaway (we were:). We were really impressed. The entire B&B is gorgeous, but the Creole Queen was especially aesthetically pleasing. It's tucked away in the back part of the house on the second story, so you feel like you have some privacy. We actually didn't have to walk through the main house as we went to and from the city. The room was clean and the A/C was in full effect (important when in NOLA during Hurricane season). It was definitely worth the extra money to have the shower and jacuzzi tub. The food is totally out of this world: Patrick says he has no formal training, but this man is a true self-made chef. One morning we had sweet potato french toast and the other morning we had poached eggs in a puff pastry with creole sauce...I literally almost licked the plate. John is a fantastic server. There are refreshments/snacks available for the rest of the day. The location is another part of what makes this place superb: it's a $10 cab fare to the French Quarter. Esplanade truly is an ideal location for access to the city. I would recommend taking a cab everywhere bc you'll pay at least $20 to self-park, so it's not worth the headache when cabs make it too easy. I can honestly say that we will be back. If you think about it, you pay just about what you would pay for a hotel and yet you get a 5-star breakfast instead of a continental breakfast of stale toast and cold cereal. You are also surrounded by history, cajun culture, and architectural beauty instead of cookie-cutter corporate buildings, which is why most visit New Orleans anyway, right? Karma made great recommendations on where to go/what to do. Patrick & Karma were incredibly accomodating when arrived late. They even give you a keyless clicker to park in the back! We were incredibly pleased and you will be, too!

Room Tip: Get rooms on the second floor in the back. The Creole Room was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When you've had enough of the sightseeing and partying, Ashton's is a great place to rest. The house is beautiful, and our room was well-appointed with everything from bathrobes and luxurious sheets to Aveda toiletries. Karma and Patrick were excellent hosts and offered helpful tips on where to go and how to get there, but they were never intrusive. They provide round-the-clock snacks and beverages which they keep set up in their gorgeous dining room and the breakfasts they serve are absolutely top-notch. Each day they serve a different decadent breakfast. My favorite was the eggs Benedict on an artichoke heart. YUM!!! The location is halfway between the French Quarter and City Park, each about a 20 minute walk away. There is a bus stop out front and the United Taxi service is quick and reasonable. My husband and I walked some days and took the bus or a taxi at other times-it was all easy. We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend our 25th anniversary. This was our first time in New Orleans, but it won't be our last. We would love to stay at Ashton's again - we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent 4 days in NO and had a great time. A big part of that stay was our host and room at Ashton's B&B. They know NO and led us to some great spots and helped us out in a new city. Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We decided to end our beach vacation a few days early and plan to stay in New Orleans a few nights. I knew immediately I wanted to stay at a B&B. I began researching and Ashton's seemed to have the best reviews. We arrived at Ashton's and were immediately greeted by Patrick, the owner and inn-keeper. He was so friendly and took us on a tour of the property letting us know the history of the house-even the 300 year old oak tree in the back. The breakfast, cooked by Patrick himself, was phenomenal and the service he and his wife provided was above and beyond any service you'd get at a hotel chain. They have complimentary snacks and drinks all hours of the day, Patrick even gave us some cigars of his own.
Nothing could've made our stay at Ashton's better. Well definitely be back next year and will be recommending them to all our friends traveling to NOLA.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was an amazing discovery in a peaceful neighborhood. The breakfast - Bananas Foster Waffles Flambe - was beyond delicious. You have never experienced linens like the ones here. We had the best night sleep ever. The house is stunning, with high ceilings, period furnishings & a lovely back garden under an enormous oak tree. Patrick was a lovely host & we would definitely stay here again whenever we get back to New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden District, very quiet & elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We felt privileged to have found such a gorgeous home-away-from-home for our NOLA visit. Ashton's B&B represents everything that's so great about New Orleans in general: it's hospitable (Patrick is such a great host), delicious (the breakfasts...), with an extraordinarily beautiful, unique, old-style, yet cozy decor... And it's only a short, safe trip from the amazing music that New Orleans is all about. We can't wait to return on that lovely patio or the wonderful big tree that offers shade in the back yard, this is a truly New Orleanian haven.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ashton's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.