We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ashton's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What an incredible experience at Ashton's B&B! The house, the furnishings, the ambiance and character were all first rate. The personal touch by the owners (Patrick and Karma) were seen everyday. The grounds are manicured perfectly and the massive 300 year old tree in the courtyard is something to witness. Everything from the super-soft sheets to the incredible breakfasts----I truly don't think they've missed anything. One thing we noticed is the quality of people staying there---everyone was from different places and cultures, yet we found them all very friendly---we can't thank the Ashton's enough for such a great stay and we're already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    475
    29
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
259
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We rented the entire bed and breakfast for friends and family. It was amazing. Patrick, Karma, Richard and Caroline made our trip, hands down. The location is great in the older creole mansions, right on Esplanade. We walked from the quarter a couple of times but mostly took taxis. Patrick was so helpful in trying to find ways to feed our crew when the restaurant we called had a line.

The beds were actually more comfortable than 5 star hotels. The sheets were incredibly soft. The house is large and the rooms spacious. It was a bonus to have the whole place as we got to see all the rooms. There wasn't a bad one in the house. They have used only the best accessories and furnishings. In the past my husband has felt uncomfortable in Bed and Breakfasts because of his size. He's 6'7, so antiques just don't work for him. They have taken the time to furnish the house, the bathrooms and the kitchen breakfasts with only the best!

My favorite places on this trip was having cocktails in the back courtyard and eating the yummy snacks after we came in from listening to music and rocking on the front porch. We always stay at the Hotel Monteleone when in New Orleans but from now on we will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Slightly out of the French Quarter, but worth the taxi ride or walk there. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfasts were amazing. The staff was very pleasant. The cats were welcoming. Snacks and water provided 24 hours. I can only hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We very recently visited New Orleans with 2 other couples for a short 5 day trip. The 6 of us occasionally travel together and were initially somewhat averse to a B&B experience (beds / privacy / noise, etc.). However, reading so many excellent "Trip Advisor" reviews convinced us to make the reservations anyway. Happy we did as we all really enjoyed our stay!

Ashtons was always a fun & relaxing place to go back to, after long days out and about, mostly walking and checking out "NOLA". Relative proximity to New Orleans' many good restaurants and music scene ($7-8 cab) provides convenient access to the city's entertainment scene. We found the best music on Frenchman street, although Burbon street certainly has a life of its own. Nearby Royal street has many little shops for people who like to browse!

If one enjoys cigars, Patrick the owner, is happy to share the cigars in his 2 humidors (the B&B is strickly "non smoking" inside). The very large front porch & rocking chairs are inviting for leisurely late afternoon sittings. Another much appreciated gesture was the tasty scones baked and left out for us to eat in the morning. Once Karma found out we had to be at the airport by 6.30am and, would otherwise leave without a real breakfast (which breakfasts are by the way, special too! Patrick, Karma, Richard & Caroline make a great team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thank you to Wanda, Richard, and Caroline for making our stay at Ashton's B & B so welcoming and memorable. We had a group of seven adults celebrating two birthdays.
WANDA, substitute Innkeeper (Patrick and Karma were away on holiday) was very attentive and warm and tended to our every need - the perfect hostess!
RICHARD, the resident chef, was such a genuinely sincere and gracious person. We so appreciated his cooking and his presence.
CAROLINE, the housekeeper, was so kind, attentive, gracious, and worked incredibly hard. Our rooms were impeccably cleaned and made lovely each and every day!
The house has a wonderful Southern feeling and we especially loved the architecture. The location, perfect for walking to the French Quarter and the Marigny. One feels more Local than Tourist.

Room Tip: Be aware that unless you are very comfortable with your traveling companion that the toilet and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Six of us went to New Orleans to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We could not have asked for a better experience and Ashton's was a huge part of our enjoyment.

Patrick and Karma did everything to make us feel comfortable and welcome including a delicious birthday cake with candles and singing for my husband's birthday!

Our rooms were beautiful, the beds divine and the sheets were so soft. I always note the bath products when staying in a hotel or B&B and Ashton's uses Aveda, my favourite.

Breakfast was outstanding, and if what is being served is not to your liking, Patrick is more than accommodating!

The location, while some may feel is a bit off the beaten track, was very accessible to the hot spots either by taxi or local bus, and after spending a day or evening on Bourbon or Frenchmen St., coming back to Ashtons to enjoy a quiet glass of wine on the front verandah was heaven!! (Wine can be purchased at the corner store across the street)

I can't say enough about Ashton's, it was truly our home for 4 days.

Thank you Patrick and Karma.

Catherine, Richard, Jennifer, Michel, Carol and Trevor

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As you can see from all the previous reviews the place is perfect! Here are my reasons: great Inn Keeper and staff, the rooms are grandiose and sets that NoLa feel, breakfast you can not sleep through even if you had a late night( so worth the lack of sleep for it) and location to some It may feel off the beaten track but it's a location that you would otherwise not get to see. It was my first time in New Orleans and staying at the Ashton was the perfect place to start. Have already recommended this place to my New York City Folks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Ashton`s Hotel
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans
Ashton`s b&b
Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ashton's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.