We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Wanda, Richard, & Caroline!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ashton's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved Wanda, Richard, & Caroline!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Thank you to Wanda, Richard, and Caroline for making our stay at Ashton's B & B so welcoming and memorable. We had a group of seven adults celebrating two birthdays.
WANDA, substitute Innkeeper (Patrick and Karma were away on holiday) was very attentive and warm and tended to our every need - the perfect hostess!
RICHARD, the resident chef, was such a genuinely sincere and gracious person. We so appreciated his cooking and his presence.
CAROLINE, the housekeeper, was so kind, attentive, gracious, and worked incredibly hard. Our rooms were impeccably cleaned and made lovely each and every day!
The house has a wonderful Southern feeling and we especially loved the architecture. The location, perfect for walking to the French Quarter and the Marigny. One feels more Local than Tourist.

Room Tip: Be aware that unless you are very comfortable with your traveling companion that the toilet and bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
281
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Six of us went to New Orleans to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We could not have asked for a better experience and Ashton's was a huge part of our enjoyment.

Patrick and Karma did everything to make us feel comfortable and welcome including a delicious birthday cake with candles and singing for my husband's birthday!

Our rooms were beautiful, the beds divine and the sheets were so soft. I always note the bath products when staying in a hotel or B&B and Ashton's uses Aveda, my favourite.

Breakfast was outstanding, and if what is being served is not to your liking, Patrick is more than accommodating!

The location, while some may feel is a bit off the beaten track, was very accessible to the hot spots either by taxi or local bus, and after spending a day or evening on Bourbon or Frenchmen St., coming back to Ashtons to enjoy a quiet glass of wine on the front verandah was heaven!! (Wine can be purchased at the corner store across the street)

I can't say enough about Ashton's, it was truly our home for 4 days.

Thank you Patrick and Karma.

Catherine, Richard, Jennifer, Michel, Carol and Trevor

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As you can see from all the previous reviews the place is perfect! Here are my reasons: great Inn Keeper and staff, the rooms are grandiose and sets that NoLa feel, breakfast you can not sleep through even if you had a late night( so worth the lack of sleep for it) and location to some It may feel off the beaten track but it's a location that you would otherwise not get to see. It was my first time in New Orleans and staying at the Ashton was the perfect place to start. Have already recommended this place to my New York City Folks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My new bride and I spent our honeymoon at Ashton's and could not have had a better experience! It begin's with the welcoming Southern hospitality of everyone at Ashton's, from Patrick and Karma, (the owners), to Richard and Caroline. (...and do not forget the cats of Ashton's, as they will make you feel as welsome as the people.) From your fist moment in this charming, breathtaking,former plantation you feel like you are home. Everything you may need for your stay can be found in the beautiful dining room.... from coffee, to teas, to sodas, water, and local Louisiana snacks. We stayed in the Creole Queen and it was amazing! Wonderful room that just embraces you and makes you feel like you are at home. In the morning you wake up and in the dining room are treated to the most mouth-watering breakfast. Each day is different and seems to be better than the day before. (Breakfast alone makes you want to leap out of bed.) Ask Patrick about the walking tour he has created. It takes you on a pleasant walk to City Park and teaches you a great deal about the varied architecture of New Orleans as well as a stop at the St. Louis Cemetary #3. If you are looking for places to eat, or find real local places of interest, ask Patrick or Karma; as "born and bred", proud New Orleanians, they will be happy to point you in the right direction.
We cannot wait for our next trip to New Orleans, if nothing else, than for the chance to experience the congeniality of Ashton's yet again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My fiancee and I had a wonderful stay at Ashton's bed and breadkfast. We stayed in the Jackson Square room. Patrick (owner) called the room quirky because it has a clawfoot bathtub in the middle of it, but we loved it.
The breakfasts were amazing. The house is gorgeous. The owners were so helpful with suggestions on things to do in the area. When I booked the B&B I asked Patrick what was going on that weekend and he told me there was a Saints game. I bought the tickets to surprise my fiancee with them that Sunday at breakfast. It turns out our hosts were HUGE Saints fans and were going to the game as well. They let us tag along with them. We all celebrated together after a tight victory for the Saints against the Falcolns. It was such a wonderful experience that wouldn't have happened if Patrick hadn't told me about the game. This B&B went over the top with true Southern hospitality. I would recommend this place to anyone planning a stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The house is beautiful, the Innkeepers are amazing, the finest details have been taken care of to make you feel at home!
When we first arrived, Patrick greeted us, and I got a tour of the home and the amenities, (dining room is awesome, supplied with goodies for anytime) along with some helpful advice on some of the places we wanted to visit.
The room was very cozy, along with a nicely supplied bathroom, including a great mineral soak for the claw foot tub, which I of course had to take advantage of! The sheets on the bed are amazing, the bed was great. My husband was very impressed with my selection for our weekend get away.
The location was perfect as well, not in a busy touristy area, but close to everything.
The breakfasts were simply amazing, you couldn't have gone to any restaurant there for better. Presentation and taste were exceptional, I'm a veganish eater, which they were more than willing to accommodate, but I ate it ALL this weekend!
We will DEFINITELY be back.
Thank you Patrick & team for an incredible experience...and making us not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay for a week during Mardi Gras 2013 with Patrick and Karma at their Bed & Breakfast on Esplanade in New Orleans during Mardi Gras 2013. The amenities and options for this B&B are numerous, however I will rate the outstanding breakfast as the top of the line. The creativity and the taste of these breakfasts is beyond reproach. I especially like the assorted snacks, drinks and fresh fruit available after hours in the dining area. Fresh coffee every morning and congenial conversation in the dining area with the other guests. I stayed in the Cajun Kitchen of the Patio wing of this historic and gated B&B. House cleaning was excellent and their bathroom area was large and immaculate. They have an outside area by the Patio wing that has comfortable outdoor seating for early morning coffee or late night drinks. The front porch of the main house has an outstanding sitting area overlooking Esplanade. I walked numerous times, night and day, from Ashtons to the French Quarters as well as the Frenchmen St area and never encountered any issues. It is also an easy walk to the Fair grounds for Jazz Fest. Everybody was very friendly and Ashtons is located across Esplanade from the historic Treme district. Patrick was very accomodating in any requests and Karma provided quite a lot of information on the history of the area as well as the Mardi Gras parades and Krews. I will be staying with them again during Mardi Gras 2014 and, all in all, I will always make Ashtons my first choice to stay in New Orleans. I highly recommend that you spend some time with Patrick and Karma at the best B&B you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: Across Esplanade and down a block is a little privately owned store that provides late night deli se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ashton's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans
Ashton`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.