We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice change of pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Ashton's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful bed and breakfast conveniently located. The owners were so gracious and the food was great. If I had one complaint it would be that the room was very cold. Seemed not well insulated but given its age, I guess that's understandable. We stayed in the creole queen room. The bathroom was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
282
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my husband came here for our anniversary and loved it! The staff was amazing and there for any help we needed, the room we stayed in was so cute. The breakfast was absolutely spectacular! I will definately stay there again when I go back to new orleans

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast and based on my experience at Ashton's I am hooked for life. Patrick and Karma were friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was good and the snacks were plentiful. Patrick was very helpful in finding places to eat. When I venture back to New Orleans I will definitely stay with Patrick and Karma Ashton's Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is perfect and about a mile away from the French Quarter. Patrick and Karma are awesome host. Breakfast is deliciously prepared by Patrick and beautifully displayed. The place is serene and relaxing. Perfect location to take your bicycle and head to the French Quarter or Farmers Market.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a terrific experience at this B and B. Could not ask for anything better in terms of the delicious breakfast served, the hospitality and the atmosphere. All the rooms in the common space were comfortable and tastefully decorated. Guests had available to them, at all times, hot and cold drinks, snack foods. There is a front porch and back outside area to enjoy and relax to. Our bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. Our host and staff were very accessible and willing to give suggestions of places to see and where to eat. The location is in a quieter area and there is easy access to the bus or car service can be called. It is very interesting to explore the beautiful homes and the unique style of the individual houses. If you are looking to be in the heart of the action and like modern this is not the area or place to stay but for others... YES

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you're looking for a truly decadent, scrumptious breakfast in New Orleans, look no farther! Patrick's creative, not-the-usual fare breakfasts are something to behold. The B&B, in a quiet section of the Treme district, is about a mile from The French quarter. Decorated with antiques, it's quite an attractive inn. Patrick clearly enjoys being helpful, and offered assistance with itinerary planning, restaurant recommendations, and helping us mail a package. Available 24/7 are complimentary things like tea, coffee, soft drinks, coffee cake, cookies, candies, and an assortment of pharmaceutical supplies such as anti-itch medicine, Tylenol, bandaids, and the like.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms were a bit noisier as they are off a central hallway that leads from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtons_BnB_NOLA, Owner at Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
It's always a pleasure to see guests who have such a wonderful time here. Just to clarify one of the comments made in the "Room Tip", though. ALL of our guest rooms are fully heated and cooled with air conditioning. We would never ask anyone to stay during a NOLA Summer without A/C! Rooms in the main house operate off a central air system, and each guest room has it's own thermostat so the guest can adjust the comfort level to their own preferences. Rooms in the rear patio wing have their own individual HVAC units, so they are also adjustable to individual comfort levels.

Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope this information helps clarify the A/C situation for anyone reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The high point each day were the amazing breakfasts prepared by Patrick. Agreeably prepared half portions for me as calories not for the faint of heart. Patrick was helpful in recommending local restaurants and offered directions for self-guided garden district tour, which was excellent. Extra nice touch: he lent us two chairs to go to Bayou Boogaloo Festival even though we had moved on to (sterile) corporate hotel. Room lovely , but small. Main house is magnificently restored, and where bigger rooms are. Can walk to fairgrounds, longish walk to City Park. Bus or cab ride to Frenchmens St. Staff of Guy & Caroline wonderfully nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ashton's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans
Ashton`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.