We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and Bed in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ashton's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Bed in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you're looking for a truly decadent, scrumptious breakfast in New Orleans, look no farther! Patrick's creative, not-the-usual fare breakfasts are something to behold. The B&B, in a quiet section of the Treme district, is about a mile from The French quarter. Decorated with antiques, it's quite an attractive inn. Patrick clearly enjoys being helpful, and offered assistance with itinerary planning, restaurant recommendations, and helping us mail a package. Available 24/7 are complimentary things like tea, coffee, soft drinks, coffee cake, cookies, candies, and an assortment of pharmaceutical supplies such as anti-itch medicine, Tylenol, bandaids, and the like.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms were a bit noisier as they are off a central hallway that leads from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtons_BnB_NOLA, Owner at Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
It's always a pleasure to see guests who have such a wonderful time here. Just to clarify one of the comments made in the "Room Tip", though. ALL of our guest rooms are fully heated and cooled with air conditioning. We would never ask anyone to stay during a NOLA Summer without A/C! Rooms in the main house operate off a central air system, and each guest room has it's own thermostat so the guest can adjust the comfort level to their own preferences. Rooms in the rear patio wing have their own individual HVAC units, so they are also adjustable to individual comfort levels.

Thanks again for your kind words, and we hope this information helps clarify the A/C situation for anyone reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    31
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
302
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The high point each day were the amazing breakfasts prepared by Patrick. Agreeably prepared half portions for me as calories not for the faint of heart. Patrick was helpful in recommending local restaurants and offered directions for self-guided garden district tour, which was excellent. Extra nice touch: he lent us two chairs to go to Bayou Boogaloo Festival even though we had moved on to (sterile) corporate hotel. Room lovely , but small. Main house is magnificently restored, and where bigger rooms are. Can walk to fairgrounds, longish walk to City Park. Bus or cab ride to Frenchmens St. Staff of Guy & Caroline wonderfully nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have never been a fan of the Bed & Breakfast but we wanted to experience the true atmosphere of New Orleans so we decided to give Ashton's B&B a try. Our expectations were exceeded! Aside from a beautiful property this place is truly amazing with tons of hospitality! Our hosts, Patrick and Karma, were so gracious and accommodating. The whole staff was wonderful! They were very informative about all the sites and activities New Orleans has to offer. And Patrick not only prepared some of the most impressive, jaw-dropping breakfasts for us but he also recommended restaurants that were little hidden gems tucked away from the tourist areas that had incredible authentic New Orleans food! Our room was spacious and beautiful with a lot of southern charm and an spa-relaxing shower!. And although we were about 9 blocks away from The French Quarter it was an easy walk or an inexpensive cab ride to the main hub. It's fun to be in the middle of the craziness the FQ has to offer but it was nice to be out of it at night when you wanted a good night's rest. Had a fantastic trip and a huge part of that was staying at Ashton's!! Couldn't have asked for a better time! Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We would recommend a room in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I love Jazzfest. Our first time at Jazzfest we stayed at Ashton's. What an amazing place. Not only is the breakfast fabulous but Patrick and Karma are the best hosts. We returned this year to another wonderful stay. We have now signed up for next year and can't wait to return to Ashton's.
Janice O.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My mom and I had a wonderful time in New Orleans, thanks in large part to our stay at Ashton's. The house is gorgeous-we felt like we were in a movie set! It was an easy walk to the French Quarter, but we also enjoyed exploring Esplanade Avenue and its history. Patrick was endlessly patient with advice and recommendations both before and during our trip, and made my breakfasts gluten-free with no problem. Our room was on the back of the house and was extremely comfortable and quiet, facing a lovely courtyard with a giant live oak draped with ferns. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Ashton's made our trip and I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The B&B was the perfect Anniversary getaway. Located just minutes away from the French Quarter, this retreat was truly amazing. We were first invited with a warm welcome and tour of this cozy suite. Our host was delighted to give recommendations on local cuisine and activities nearby. After a night on the town you are sure to sleep well on one of the softest bedding on earth. We were delighted by the unforgettable breakfast experience just before leaving. Thank you Patrick and staff for an amazing memory. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed during the French Quarter festival and we're actually glad to be a little out of the busy centre of the french quarter. Ashton's is about 10-15 mins walk from the french quarter. We felt very welcomed by the hosts, enjoyed some tasty breakfasts and felt very comfortable in the B and B. The house is beautiful and has everything you need. Well worth a stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashton's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2023 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ashton's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton`s b&b
Ashton`s Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashton's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.