We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN AT THE BANANA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Save
You added 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B to your Saves list
1422 N. Rampart St., French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116 (Bywater)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Bowie, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FUN AT THE BANANA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to visit New Orleans - just prior to the Super Bowl power failure.
We stayed with Mary and Hugh Ramsey at the Banana Courtyard B and B. The owner/operators were great - gave us a personal walk to the center of the French quarter - aimed us away from the party area downtown to a nearby 'local' street with great eateries and local music. The B and B itself is not shiney new, but the facilities are clean and modern. Furnishings could provide a day's review. Located at the very north, east of the corner - about 10 - 12 walking blocks from the center of all partying. This was fine for us 'older, calmer' visitors. Many, many GREAT places to eat within walking distance. Owners recommended tour bus trip - Katrina area and downtown made the trip extra special. We were fortunate to view an awesome rear garden patio of a nearby neighbor. Overall, a fun place to stay at a reasonable rate. Check their website at bananacourtyard.com.

Room Tip: We selected the balcony room on this trip because of the outside sitting area. Probably would not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    46
    10
    20
    11
See reviews for
35
99
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our hosts and the staff were wonderful: friendly, helpful, and caring. The house is comfortable and fun! We had the Madame's Steamboat Room. I was worried because it was a bit chilly during our visit but the heaters worked great and Mary gave me some sweaters to use - needed and appreciated! So much to look at, a really nice little courtyard to hang out in, comfy porch swing.... If we hadn't been so busy wandering we might've had more time to just hang out. We were given any information we needed on places to eat, what to see, and how to get where we wanted to go. We were greeted at the airport by the hotel's preferred taxi driver - friendly, informative, and prompt! When we visit again, I know that we will return here (and try another room - they are all unique). Location for the Jazz Festival is just a few blocks away - can't beat that!

Room Tip: It was a little tight for three in our room-perfect for a couple. We were okay but will be aware fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Owner at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Wow. I (only 1 here who types) never have the time to look at nor respond to reviews here. Something made me open this one and what a delihgt it was. Daily, we are humbled by more than 50% of your guests being return guests, or guests who have refered their colleauges, freinds, or family to us.

Your kind words about us are greatly appreciated. We'll pass the compliment on to the great folks who help us (staff & freinds), and to the taxicab driver extraordinaire, we call a 'concierge on wheels".

I hope other guests who reviewed us understand that I rarely have time to look at reviews and understand that we wish I had more time. Our Asst. Gen. Mgr. (friend and his wife), Sister in law in GA who took pity on me, Asst mgr + new gal who is a whiz cleaner, are all helping me see the light @the end of the tunnel), where by this Summer, I hope, I can be on Internet more often to respond to delightful (or not delightful) reviews.

Y'all are correct. The BEST rooms for 3 guests are the Balcony Room, Hexagon Room or Mardi Gras room, although ALL of our rooms can accomodate 3 guests. Guess guests select rooms based on avaialbility (limited) and budget. Folks in the 1800s were smaller than most Americans now.

Thanks again for a much needed boost after a very busy month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. Close enough to all the main French quarter sites to walk to. Although we walked so much back and forth we were exhausted! Quaint and cozy little place with lots of appeal. We stayed one night in the carriage quilt room and one night in the Madame steamboat room and both were great. Mary and Hugh made us feel at home. The parking area was great because we were able to leave our vehicle and did not worry about break in's. We would defiantly stay there again. Great value! Very personable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Banana Courtyard before we left on a cruise. Mary, Hugh & Corey made our stay very comfortable. They have so much knowledge of New Orleans to share with everyone. They kept us right on track with directions and recommendations for sights to see. Hugh recommended the WWII Museum, that was the highlight of our trip. We had been to New Orleans over 20 years ago and saw most of the sights, we were interested in seeing less of the party scene and we were not disappointed with what was recommended. If we find ourselves heading to New Orleans in the future we will definitely stay at the Banana Courtyard. The rooms and the inn were fantastic, chocked full of antiques and Marti Gras memorabilia. Thank You Mary, Hugh and Corey for hosting us.

Room Tip: There are photographs of all of the rooms on the Banana Courtyard's web page. We stayed in Mada...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter in New Orleans is without a doubt one of the most perfect places to stay while in New Orleans. The rooms are beautifully made up and comfortable. The B&B is a place that feels like home and the staff is friendly and warm beyond words. They say it's hard to make friends in a hotel. That may be true in big hotels, but here we were not just treated like friends, we actually became friends with the people running the B&B. They made sure we knew every way to get around, breakfast every morning was better than you find in some larger hotels., and the atmosphere makes you feel so relaxed and like you just stepped back in time and went to your favorite old Aunties or Grand Ma's house.
The B&B is so close to the French Quarter that if you like a little walk you can be there in a very short time. And the area where the B&B is has some wonderful sights to see as well. To say we had a great time is a true understatement! We will without a doubt be staying there on our next visit to New Orleans!

Room Tip: Every room is comfortable, some have a little larger space, but overall, no matter what room you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I see that none of the positive reviews mention the "Quilt" room or the "Cajun" room. Barely room to turn around in both, and other inconveniences. The best that can be said about my experience is a 4-star assistant manager saddled with 1-star (or less) accommodations. I've stayed in B&Bs, but never in such cramped quarters. Maybe this B&B has better rooms, but I wouldn't risk a second visit to find out. Be sure to check the cancellation policy before you confirm. I tried to cancel a few hours after making reservations. No deal. The offer was a $50.00 charge and rescheduling. I'm confident that there are several B&Bs in the area where a hundred bucks a night will obtain a far more favorable experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Quilt" room and "Cajun" room, unless you're a masochist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananacour, Guest Relations Manager at 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for submitting a review. It's unfortunate that you were unhappy with the size of the rooms that you stayed in while you were with us. We are a B and B in an 1870s home--not a hotel. As a result, we do not have standardized size rooms. However, each room, whether large or small will have its own character and will feature the amenities advertised in our website. We hope that you can visit us again so that you can specifically request a larger room which may be more to your taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The service in the Banana was excellent. The food in the morning was plentiful, and delicious.There were always beverages available. The rooms were very nice. This place is secure with a key-lock gate entrance. The Banana is very conveniently located in the the French Quarter. I will be returning to this wonderful Bed & Breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose the Hexagon Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B

Address: 1422 N. Rampart St., French Quarter, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Bywater , Marigny
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ooh la la. Naughty. In 1800s, bordello catering to society's elite. Bed and breakfast now, great location, French Quarter 1/2 block, Bourbon St. 3 min. Romantic balcony suite, courtyard, hammock, porch swing, antiques, MARDI GRAS costumes. Lagniappe: Live like a New Orleans local with our Insider Eguides: music, dancing, restaurants, food, history, culture, sightseeing. Yesiree, rates incl. tax, free local phone calls, Wi-Fi, soft drinks, bottled water (a wine or beer) & Continental breakfast for B&B guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans Bed And Breakfast
Courtyard New Orleans
New Orleans Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.