We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, great people...perfect for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Pierre Lafitte

Save Saved
You added Maison Pierre Lafitte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Pierre Lafitte
108 University Place, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 146 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, great people...perfect for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed during MLK week January 2012. Absolutely loved the Pierre Lafitte. We are adults who love the Quarter, and this was perfect for us. NOT a fancy high end hotel with butler and pool, but what we loved were the people and location. George and Derrick were there lots of the time and were there for us, and their cellphone is posted when the desk is closed. Marlene called us ahead of time and guided us with taxi recommendations and answers. This is NOT a five star hoity-toity hotel with butlers and pool. No restaurant either, but who would go to New Orleans to eat in the hotel's restaurant anyway!? What it is is four story historical building which they are renovating with love, and with the class of lovely old furniture, credenzas and chiseled mirrors, there was a very clean unit for us with remodeled/painted clean-smelling nonsmoking rooms, comfortable beds. We felt very, very safe there, and there is an elevator. Not a full service kitchen, but what we wanted was there, microwave, middle sized small fridge, coffee pot, but no oven. But who cooks when they are dining out in NOLA?
We could look out our windows onto Canal St and see the parades! (But you also hear sirens at night if you are light sleeper). Nice was that there is a McDonald's beside the Maison, so my husband could run down daily and bring up coffee or yogurt while we lounged :) There is only ONE bathroom in the unit. Derrick directed us to Deanies, two blocks away, for our first dinner, and it was a home run. Those guys love the place, love the city, and want you to love it too. They work hard to make it clean so no unwanted visitors! We saw not one pest the whole week, and I am always looking! The Maison is not perfect, but it was PERFECT for us, and I recommend it and hope to return:) PS....the front entrance is NEXT to the Roosevelt Hotel, but rather subtle. Look for the street number 108!

Room Tip: We were in room 300B which has two bedrooms, just one bathroom. The inside room has no windows and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here for just a quick 5 day trip. The staff is a bit on the laid-back side, however; we got into our room prior to the check-in time (always nice when that happens!) I would not recommend this place if you are on the picky side - but we embraced the funkiness and it did not ruin our trip. The front desk is not always open, and there is no 'business center' -- just a computer to use that is perched on one side of the front desk - but remember: front desk not always open. We found the period furniture charming, the bathroom was newly remodeled and clean. The kitchenette was nice, appliances new and again: very clean. The little bar next door was super charming, affordable, and had great music playing all the time.

Room Tip: Top floors (3 & 4), corner room on the 4th floor nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We loved this place....the Owner and front desk staff were very friendly. We stayed 7 nights but would have stayed longer if they had the space. We were on the 4th floor and it was lovely - this is an older building - and furnishings are not modern....but it was charming and cozy and we were so settled in....that we hated to leave! There was no food service but a cute little bar next door run by some great people and seem to have the best female bartenders in the city! My husband and I stopped in to see them several times during our stay and even they made us feel very welcome! We can't wait to go to NOLA again and when we do we hope they have room for us. We have stayed at several hotels in NOLA but never felt "at home" like we did here. Our trip was during Christmas and NY's.

Room Tip: Two blocks from French Quarter and two blocks from St. Charles streetcar. Canal Streetcar is less t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We go to NOLA every year and this is the place we choose to stay. If you want a cookie cutter Red Roof Inn or Motel-6 kind of place then don't stay here. This is an older building with unique rooms and more classic-style furnishings. Not the boring, cookie-cutter shoebox rooms found in modern hotels. THAT is the point of staying in the Quarter...getting away from the same old stuff and experiencing something a bit different.
The location is great, right across the street from the quarter, a streetcar stop a block or so away.
The hotel bar hadn't reopened yet last time I was there but that would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I stayed here as a timeshare and was greatly disappointed. While the location is great, how long can a place be "under renovation?" Also the sofa was so old that I dared not pull it out and use it as a sofabed. The bedroom was small and had no windows and no TV. The rug was also old. I would take a pass.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Best thing about this place is location and privacy! A private historical room with living room and kitchen right beside the French Quarter and blocks away from the Riverwalk with the street car steps away! Can't get much better than that. Oh, and did I mention the fantastic staff and bar in the same building? We loved our trip and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This is a wonderful resort. The front lobby is still being repaired from the hurricans in the last years but the rooms are great. We stayed in the studio and it met all our needs for a trip to New Orleans. The city is all the amenities you need for this trip. It was across Canal Street from the French Quarter. We walked everywhere. The employees are very friendly and personable. They gave us lots of tips for day trips and how to get around town. The street is noisy almost all night, but you are not far from the medical district of New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Pierre Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Pierre Lafitte

Address: 108 University Place, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Maison Pierre Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Pierre Lafitte Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Pierre Lafitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.