We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, superb stay, & superb hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prytania Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Prytania Oaks Hotel to your Saves list
Prytania Oaks Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1612 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb location, superb stay, & superb hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Fantastic hotel. All pros & no cons. A must stay for anyone visiting NOLA. We are all born & raised in NOLA & now live in GA. & AL., but we come home quite often throughout the year. Prytania Oaks will be our hotel of choice from this point on.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
112
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Prytania Oaks for four nights this month. The room was clean, cool and comfortable, and we even had our own small balcony, from which I loved to watch people walk, cycle and drive by. The neighbourhood is old, quaint and quiet. The St. Charles streetcar is only a block away, which makes it very easy to access other areas like the French Quarter. However, there are many excellent shops, sights and restaurants close by. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and provided me with maps, magazines, and excellent recommendations. I highly recommend the Prytania Oaks, and if I'm ever in New Orleans again, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is a very nice hotel away from the noise and crowds downtown. Parking is easy and free and the rooms were scrupulously clean and comfortable. The streetcar is only a block away and is a quick and easy ride to the French Quarter. Or catch it in the other direction to see more of the really interesting Garden District.

The lady on the front desk was so nice and helpful. Breakfast was a little basic but as advertised. On not sure why the precious reviewer had an issue with the furnishings, but our room was probably the most comfortable I encountered on a 4 week holiday staying in similar-level accommodations.

If you don't want to stay in the thick of things and are looking for excellent value for money, I can recommend the Prytania Oaks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The staff were great... very friendly and accomodating. And, the hotel is very quaint and attractive. Our room was facing the street and had a great front porch, but the room itself was disappointing. The bed was extremely uncomfortable with a cheap mattress and cheap linens. The extra blanket provided was dirty. There was no bathtub in the room, only a standing shower that almost blew me down when I turned on the water. The water pressure was ridiculous! The floors were nice wood, but they were very dirty. And, the best advice I can give is to skip the breakfast. OMG, it was a joke. The best part of our stay at Prytania Oaks was the free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels3, General Manager at Prytania Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
The mattress’s are Visco Elastic Foam , in layman’s terms, the same material that Temprapaedic matttress’s are made of. Hardly cheap, if you have priced these out lately. The ownership of the hotel is part of a local furniture retail family, and knows and understands quality furnishings.

The extra blanket in the armoire, may possibly have picked up a musty odor, but after being enclosed since winter, it is not out of the ordinary. But who uses extra blankets in the dog days heat of summer? We always take them out in late October to wash and re fresh for the upcoming winter. I have stayed in many fine hotels, 4 star and up, and the extra linens are not the same freshness nor quality of what is on the bed. If a guest is not happy with the extra linens, a phone call to the desk and a replacement would be brought over to them.

Our bed linens are the same quality as most 2 ½- 3 star hotels. They are a mid level thread count with some polyester for durability. Not like the all Cotton quality as your own personal home, nor the Ritz. Again,are our guest paying the same as the Ritz either.

Complaining about strong water pressure, now that is a first. NO COMMENT.

Hard wood floors are original and have been fully restored. They have markings of age, but with Red Heart Pine, you don’t fool with Mother Nature. It not dirt she was seeing, but the dark striations in the wood grains. However, under the bed, she found 2 dust bunnies. We apologized and had the housekeeping staff re sweep the room with her there.

Breakfast, it’s a basic expanded “ continental breakfast “, as advertised. We do not sugar coat or mis lead what it is. Breakfast pastries, coffee, juice, 2 different cereals, flavored grits and oatmeal that you self make with hot water.

I am glad that liked the free parking and the front porch. Saved them some money while giving them bench seating to relax and kick back, and enjoy their breakfast on right at their door.

Dori H Schulman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We loved our room .. the shower was the best! Very clean and well located. You have to check this place out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Went back home to New Orleans for my 50th birhtday and did not want to stay in a major hotel. As seen from my previous reviews, we like smal boutique hotels. Well we couldn't have chosen a better place. We loved it here. Only one block to the streetcar line and very convenient to all that NOLA has to offer. The rooms have been remodeled and are beautiful. High ceilings and wood floors. We felt like we were staying at a private home instead of a hotel. The staff were very friendly and Tricia was our lady for breakfast in the morning. She was a sweetheart. I have a sneaky suspition that this is a female owner and she knows exactly what she is doing!! Will definitely be staying here anytime we visit NOLA. Thanks so much for a wonderful 50th birthday!!

Room Tip: We had a room on the street with a balcony. If traffic noise bothers you, just ask for one of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I just stayed here for four nights with my daughter. Nice safe neighborhood, convenient to street car and walking distance to restaurants. The room was spotless, as were the grounds. We had a room on the second floor in the back and it was very quiet, which I appreciated. There were only a few minor things that could have been better. We checked in and were told where to park but weren't told how to get into the property or where our room was. It wasn't too hard to figure out but it would've been helpful to have been told. Several times there was no parking in either lot but on street parking was available for free. And the breakfast left a lot to be desired but as others have said, we're not there for the free continental breakfast. I would suggest adding yogurt and fruit. There was no place to sit in our room other than the bed or a desk chair. The addition of a comfy chair would be nice although I don't know if one would fit in the room. The price for this hotel was a steal, all things considered. Would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Prytania Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prytania Oaks Hotel

Address: 1612 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prytania Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prytania Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prytania Oaks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.