We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and very slow service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chartres House

Chartres House
601 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Chartres House Cafe)
504-586-8383
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 1,516 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Sandwiches, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chartres House is a local favorite—a French Quarter landmark serving casual dishes and classic drinks in an intimate, historical environment. This antebellum building, once a favorite haunt of Tennessee Williams, is now home to a menu featuring duck quesadillas, classic New Orleans BBQ shrimp, muffalettas and more. Dine on the balcony or in the intimate courtyard, or join the local crowd after hours for quick bites and cocktails.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Nothing special and very slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch here on Saturday on Superbowl weekend. So expected crowds. However, we ate at 2pm, ordered, soup and easy food...it took almost 35 minutes to get food. At that point, all the crowds were gone. I ordered shrimp creole, which was fine. The gumbo was ok. I wouldn't recommend. The wait staff was apologetic about the long wait, but nonetheless, it was not a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    159
    56
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A fine meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Not sure why but this place didn't really grab me. I had a perfectly fine meal, blackened redfish with jambalaya and steamed veggies. Just nothing WOW about it. You could definitely do worse in that area but you could also do better. Lovely balcony seating is a plus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Chartres House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at my restaurant, Chartres House, in New Orleans. While i am glad your meal was fine, I am concerned that we did not furnish a Wow experience while you were in town. I do share these reviews with my management staff as well as employees so that we can improve and learn from our guests to provide a truely unique experience when visiting New Orleans. I do hope you give us another opportunity upon your next visit to give that Wow factor and make Chartres House a must stop whenever visiting our city. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Chartres House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile AL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WE'LL BE BACK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stopped by Chartres House Cafe for lunch on Jan 23, 2013. The Boudin appetizer was SOOOOOO good! Elizabeth was a great server, very attentive. We will be back when we are in New Orleans again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Chartres Place is just so-so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I didn't think it was possible to get bad gumbo in New Orleans, but this is it...the bad gumbo place. This gumbo was so bad that it was inedible. The etouffee was almost as bad. The shrimp poboy that my friends bought was "ok" but nothing great. To be fair, the red beans and rice were quite tasty.

Service, unfortunately, did not make up for the lack of quality in the food.

Do yourself a favor, and try a different New Orleans restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tasty, great location, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped by the Chartres House for dinner on the first Saturday night of Mardi Gras parades. Unfortunately, the balcony had a private party, so we were not able to watch the parade from there, but it was right on the parade route for the Krewe du Vieux. Even though it was crowded with poeple who wanted a meal close to the parade route, they got us in and out quickly. As crowded as it was and with the big party, they took maybe five more minutes than normal to serve us. The food was very tasty New Orleans fare and we enjoyed it so much, we went back the next night. The staff was friendly and very polite. The GM stopped by to say hello.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at Chartres House, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chartres House and I look forward to having you join us again. You were there on quite possibly the busiest day we've ever had and I am happy to know that we were able to provide an experience that made you want to return the next day. I look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely
Thomas W Burns
General Manager
Chartres House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chartres House also viewed

 

Been to Chartres House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chartres House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.