We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection to your Saves list
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Club La Pension) (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Part 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My hubby and I were approached in the mall for buy 3 nights for $100 with a $75 gift card being given to us after checking in. Couldn't pass up this deal!! New Orleans as always was a great mini honeymoon. The room had weird art (chair upside-down on the ceiling) in the living room, tv's were small for our likings but heck we only used it to check the weather, glass shower for 2 was wonderful! Bed was small queen size considering my hubby is well over 6ft. The balcony was scary and looked unstable and if you don't lock it back anyone on either side can access your room. Fridge and microwave was clean and nice closet space. Walking distance to all your needs. Staff was extremely helpful and nice!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello shourite,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon part 2 in New Orleans. We hope you will consider returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    41
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
50
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 2 bedroom unit. We had a large balcony that was the length of both bedrooms. We also had a bath and half in our unit. The staff is very attentive and makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the door. Laundry was a little tight but I was happy I didn't bring any dirty clothes home. The bellman and other support staff also couldn't have been nicer. I would stay again on a future visit without question.

Room Tip: If a large balcony is important choose Decatur St rooms. Street noise on the weekends but we enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello beverlybfd,

Thank you for staying at Club La Pension. We are happy you enjoyed our condo-style accommodations and that our staff was friendly and attentive. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for our 32nd anniversary trip to New Orleans. We arrived early before check in and our room was ready. Everyone was helpful! Room was clean and hotel essentials were provided. Location is great, far enough away from Bourbon Street, but also close enough to the action. Great area to explore, take one of the hop off and hop on tours. Need to make a stop at Café Du Mondo, the place where they made the original MUFFALETTAS, and check out Antonies where they give you a tour (If you just ask). Pat O'Brien's has the best bread pudding and hurricaines. We took a short trip of 4 days and saw and did most things we wanted to do. Rained quite a bit, so don't forget your umbrella!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Ddace1982,

We are pleased to hear your kind remarks about Club La Pension. We are honored to have your trust to provide exceptional service and beautiful, yet comfortable accommodations for your very special stay. We are happy to hear that you could experience the variety of things to see and do. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

The location of this resort which is really a hotel not a resort is the best....just on the edge of the french quarter and walkable to loads of activities on Canal Street.
It is a tad quirky .. Our room had a chair hanging upside down !!??... I would have preferred a chair and table to sit and eat my breakfast at....we had room 603.
Outside of that comfortable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello AKONHOLIDAY,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Club La Pension. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the central location. We hope you will consider returning on your next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeley Lake, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed on 3rd floor. The room was a 1 bedroom suite with a large living area and pull out sofa bed. Had a compact kitchen and nice large walk-in shower in bathroom. Other reviewers had commented on not having bath essentials, even towels in rooms, so we packed our own. The room had everything we needed so it was unnecessary to pack the extra items, but better safe than sorry. Location, location, location! If you want a downtown experience this fits the bill. Walking distance to everything. The noise level can be loud in the hall as I slept on the sofa bed. I brought earplugs based on other reviewers comments and slept well using them. You could also tuck a towel at the bottom of the door leading to the hall and that helps. You are in New Orleans so you have to expect noise. There is a very nice balcony on the 4th floor with a couple of bean bag games, table and chairs and a view of the street when you look over the brick wall. Because it is downtown and the streets are narrow they have valet parking only. The cost is $35.00. Be sure to add this into your stay. We were able to check out in the morning and pick our vehicle up later that afternoon without any additional charge. There is no swimming pool or restaurant on premises. Restaurants are however within a block walking distance.

Room Tip: t any additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Deena S,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are happy you enjoyed the location and had a very nice experience. We are glad you had everything you needed in the room. We hope you will consider returning on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

To start, the hotel has a fun, quirky feel and is in a great location, close enough to walk everywhere but far enough away that you aren't bombarded with noise. The artwork, furniture, and general look of the hotel is great. My entire group absolutely loved it. This is one of the cutest places I've stayed. And, the 7th floor balcony is wonderful.

My husband and I travel several times a year, around the US and abroad, and are pretty laid back and don't expect a lot. I understand that the hospitality industry can be a stressful one so I don't typically complain. Unfortunately, I experienced a few issues at this hotel.

This trip was a surprise 40th birthday, 3 night trip for my husband. Some friends of ours were coming as well. We booked our rooms months in advance and called to request balcony rooms or, at the very least, rooms near each other for the duration of our stay.

At check in, which took about 30 minutes, Bryan (?) was incredibly slow. (Maybe a new hire?) We learned that my husband and I were in a room on the 5th floor and our friends were in a room on the 3rd floor. We asked again to be close together but were told there was nothing that could be done. While this wasn't a huge deal, the elevator situation is a little strange and we had to get off at the 3rd floor, walk to another elevator, and then head to the 5th floor. Still, we were just sleeping here so it wasn't a massive issue.

The big issue came on the night before we were headed home. We were out late, to be expected, and returned to the hotel just before 2 am. Our key card wouldn't open our door so we headed back down to the front desk. The woman working reset our key and sent us back to our room. The key didn't work again so we went back downstairs. At this point, I was getting slightly annoyed. We spoke with the woman working and she was nice but very confused as to what to do. Apparently, there is a battery inside the door lock that needed to be changed. She told us that she would have to call maintenance but that they wouldn't be able to come until the next day and she asked if we would mind sleeping on the pull out couch in our friends' room. (I thought this was weird and couldn't figure out why they wouldn't just put us in another room for the night.)

I let the woman know that we were checking out the next day so she made another call and had the maintenance man come out that night to change the battery in our door lock. (At this point, we were also told that a manager would speak to us the next day and would do something to acknowledge this issue and make it right.) While we were waiting, we headed to our friends' room, and we then got a call that the security guard used a key to get into our room from the room next door to it so we headed back up to our room where we waited for the maintenance man. He came, changed the battery, and was very nice but still, it was after 3 am at this point and I wanted to be in bed.

Once the battery was changed, I called the front desk and asked for a later check out time and was told we could have until 11 am. The next morning, I got a call at 10:15 letting me know that I was late for check out. After everything that had happened the night before, this seriously annoyed me.

I got the check out time corrected so we finished packing and headed downstairs where we watched Bryan (?) at the front desk get key cards ready for incoming guests for about 10 minutes before we were acknowledged and checked out. I told him that we were supposed to speak to a manager before we checked out but he said nothing was notated about that and nobody was available so that was that and we requested a taxi and then headed to the airport.

I have been home for a week now and nobody has reached out to me, which is pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Crazy_Me_35,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Club La Pension. We are glad you were pleased with our location and quirky décor. We are committed to providing helpful and efficient customer service. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and would like to follow up with you at your convenience. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We were there for French Qtr. Fest - we stayed in a 2 bedroom 1 1/2 bath that was much more than we expected. We had friends with us and the accomadations were plenty large enough for 4 adults. We had a great kitchen area with eating area. Thanks to Charlmayne at front desk for being so helpful with anything we needed. We will diffinently go back again!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: High floor if street side, unless you want balcony. Rooms on alley may be a little quieter -
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hello Cathy S,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Club La Pension. We are delighted your stay exceeded your expectations. We are happy you were impressed with our condo-style accommodations and staff. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 115 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Club La Pension)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Pension Hotel New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.