We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Oyster Bar & Grill

Corner Oyster Bar & Grill
500 Saint Peter St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3321 (French Quarter)
504-522-2999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #768 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not bad breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast which wasn't half bad. It was just enough for my husband and I. I ordered a bloody mary. I really like spicy bloody mary's but it was just too spicy for me. It was so spicy that I ended up sipping on it for over an hour and then threw it away, which for $10 I was not happy about doing but I got sick of drinking it... :) However, I will go back for the breakfast, it was just the right amount and not expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    53
    42
    30
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Have a drink.......think twice about eating!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I wandered into this place because there was a line at the door. It must be good, right? I sure wish we would have checked Trip Advisor before sitting down and ordering a beer (which was a good price). My wife had a bloody mary which was good and cheap as well. That ended being the end of our good experience. I ordered an oyster po'boy and the wife had a grilled chicken salad. Yes, a chicken salad in the French Quarter is an odd choice. However, after a few days of rich and spicy food, she wanted something light. What she got was old greens, warm chicken and bad buttermilk ranch dressing. The po'boy was a lot worse. The oysters were over-fried, over-breaded and tasted old. They seemed to be just shucked because there were several pieces of shell in multiple oysters. So, I got fresh-shucked old oysters...yuck. The roll was plain and tartar sauce was miracle whip and sweet pickles.

The place was packed. Maybe our food was just bad and everybody else had a good meal. With so many bad reviews on Trip Advisor, I seem to doubt that. If I'm in the French Quarter again I may stop in for a beer but will pass on the food!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch/dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great lunch & dinner, huge portions. Breakfast is ok, portions are a little small (to me, but I'm a big breakfast eater).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
“good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

To give the restaurant the benefit of the doubt, I believe it was just our waitress. There were 14 in our group, sitting at 3 tables, all with different waitresses. The two other tables were waited on, served, and received food before we received our beverages.
Good food, great location! Give it a try and rate it yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just what you would expect as a tourist...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is that place close to many of the happenings that is packed every afternoon. We went to see why. It was like going to joe's Crab shack and expecting great seafood. Food was average. place was ok clean. Service was ok. Just dont go in expecting to be wowed and you wont be upset. average is the word

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Corner Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Oyster Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.