We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luke

Luke
333 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
(504) 378-2840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #198 of 1,628 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Poydras
Transit: St. Charles Street Car Line
Alberta, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oyster Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Best Oyster Happy Hour in town. 50 cent oysters from 3-6. If you sit at the bar and you are nice the shucker may slide you a couple extra! Great atmosphere!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    282
    145
    58
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, VA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Like eating in Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very conveniently located if you're staying at the Hilton or the InterContinental. Atmosphere feels like being in Euorope, the food is not Cajun or Southern -- think more France and Germany, and very good. Not the choice if you want a quiet, private booth, but great food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Snooty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went with several friends to check out the happy hour. We were turned away because they said at the front desk the restaurant was too busy to accommodate us. First time I can ever recall getting turned away from happy hour. I guess Luke is too popular to handle a crowd for happy hour. We took our business down the street. to the Bourbon House which was also busy but able to handle it. Not inclined to ever go back to Luke due to the cold reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stellar Service and Amzing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The menu was so amzing that we wanted everything. We didn't kno what to order. Our great server Greg gave us his recommendaions and we took everyone. The baked oyster app was heavenly. For a great "Man's Meal" try the pork shank, potatoes, brat, kraut and pork belly entree. You won't be dissapointed. All of Greg's choices were spot on. My friends meal was as great as mine. Luke is a must eat place in NOLA.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We shared an appetizer, entree and dessert, Walked out in a pleasant food coma! The Crabmeat appetizer was fantastic, the Duck had our mouths wanting more long after our tummies were full. We finished it off with the White Chocolate Semifreddo that was just the perfect sweet to finish off this sumptuous meal! The service was a bit on the slow side, but the food was unbelievable. This was a little pricier than we thought when we decided on this restaurant, but we didn't get the sandwich and fries either. We did get to try the Sacerac and Riverbend cocktails here since they have a full bar. Atmosphere had everything from jeans/shorts to dress/jackets

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Luke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.