We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FREE Trip Across the Miss at Sunset!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Street / Algiers Ferry

Canal Street / Algiers Ferry
1 Canal St, New Orleans, LA 70130
504 376 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 172 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Ferries/ Boats
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: See the city skyline from the Mississippi River for free. Nothing fancy, but kids are sure to love the pelicans and photographers will love the sights on the way to historic Algiers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“FREE Trip Across the Miss at Sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I thought it was rather thrilling to cross the Mississippi on a boat. The river is very powerful, full of undertow so if you fall off the boat you're a goner. When you take the ferry ( free for passengers; fee for cars) you will see the skyline of downtown, the shoreline of French Quarter, tugboats or ro-ros passing by, and the bridge. Go in the late afternoon when the sun is setting for beautiful view of all. Be sure to note: there are two ferrys. We took the shorter one that ran between Canal and Algiers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    100
    52
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“great free view of NOLA from the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We took the ferry across to Algiers around dusk and coming back had a lovely view of NOLA. and it was free. highly recommend this quick boat tour across to Algiers and back

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Making it real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Canal is a great historic area, but has seen better days. Be sure to go by Rubenstein's men's shop and then move down the street off Canal to Meyer the Hatter. These places have been there for generations. Great service and great product.
The Algiers Ferry takes me to the world of my beloved wife. She did it as a girl and now I get to retrace her life. I'm sorry this option is open to you, but it makes a world of difference. Her brothers worked in the boat dry dock by the ferry landing on the Algiers side. Her mother was baptized and married (as was my wife) at Holy Name of Mary church which you can see from Jackson Square. And my wife's family is buried at the amazing cemetery near the Mississippi Bridge which is often seen in movies.
For me this makes the food, drink and enjoyment of the quarter and the garden district more real.
When you are visiting New Orleans, take a minute to ask the locals about the places you will visit. They will tell you wonderful stories and it will make all the difference in your trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eufaula, Alabama
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Dependable Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband & I stayed in Algiers Point during our recent New Orleans vacation, so we depended on the ferry to get us back & forth. The ferry leaves Algiers on the half hours and Canal Street on the quarter hours. We used the ferry at least a dozen times during our stay and it never let us down!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Algiers Ferry is free and takes you from the Ferry Terminal at the foot of Poydras Street across the river to Algiers. It is fun just to ride over and back for the wonderful views of New Orleans. You can usually see lots of river traffic as you ride.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Street / Algiers Ferry also viewed

 

Been to Canal Street / Algiers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Street / Algiers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canal Street / Algiers Ferry to your Saves list