We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night, last minute trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Cotton Exchange Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #63 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Park Hills, KY (just outside Cincinnati)
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One night, last minute trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband originally booked a room for him and a couple friends. I flew down at the last minute to meet up with them. We've stayed at the JW around the corner but decided to try the AC out. We ended up with a king and sofa bed room. It was definitely tight but doable. The view was of a parking garage but we were in the room for about 8 hours so no biggie!

The bathroom was awesome. The shower had the right amount of pressure and the rainhead felt great. The only complaint was the sloping shower floor (drain was at the end of the shower, not middle). After a night on bourbon street, it was tricky staying upright in there!

We had a slight billing issue that was handled immediately. We were also told breakfast was included for gold members but that ended up not being the case. They let us just walk away instead of being charged. The valet service was quick and painless as well. The access to the Quarter was great too!

I'm not sure I'd stay here again due to preferring a full service hotel like the JW or Renaissance but I definitely would not discourage anyone from staying here either.

Room Tip: 322 was as far from the elevators as you could get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    44
    29
    11
    14
See reviews for
22
56
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited this hotel from out of town on business and found the bar staff exceptionally helpful. Cassie was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and had a great understanding of the wine list in the bar, and I am a wine drinker. This is definitely a place I will visit again in my travels.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I stumbled into this bar on accident and I came back on purpose. Cassie, aka mixologist extraordinaire, has made this visit better than words can describe. Her skills are only outshined by her excellent customer service. I will come back to this hotel because of the amazing experience I had in this bar.

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The AC Marriott hotel NOLA is close to the French Quarter, and walking distance to food, bars, drugstores. Our room was clean and overall good with the exception that the lighting was terrible. Window overlooked a building letting in little light, and the ceiling lights in room and bath were minimal and disfiguring. The decor is very masculine, huge TV which my son liked. Not cozy but in most cases workable (again, lighting function excepted). The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My title says it all! I love this hotel! Traveling as much as my husband and i currently are this hotel was a little gem! Not only are the staff super friendly, clean rooms and great location.. but discovering they have a guest laundry room was where i fell in love! And the gym is awesome too! I would definitely stay here again or at this hotel in another location. Would highly recommend it

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, Hotel Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for writing a wonderful review regarding the new, European inspired AC Hotel at NOLA. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location, clean accommodations, as well as, all the facilities we had to offer. Our staff is driven to provide exceptional customer service so it is wonderful to have our guests recognize their efforts. Thank you again for your gracious words and for recommending us. We are delighted to hear that you and your husband will be staying with us again in the near future.

All the best,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel Management's responses to other TripAdvisor reviewers' comments state that this AC hotel is like European hotels with a minimalist vibe. Minimalist meaning - don't expect better lighting, more space for clothing, more desk space for laptop and paperwork, and importantly, thicker walls for quiet resting. These are all the cons of staying here. Oddly, the many European hotels (including ones in historic buildings) that we've stayed in do have all of the above amenities and features and more! In settling into the room, it took a bit of time to figure out how to adapt to the room's minimalism and oddities; not sure why this is necessary for guests to do.

The most frustrating design flaw was the makeshift space for clothing. It's actually a floor-to ceiling shelf, with the hanging space in the middle. That middle rung is not long enough to hang longer garments - clothing ends up hitting the next level which is the room safe and the one lonely drawer. The top shelf is so high that you have to be tall to comfortably use it. No storage spot for shoes. There is a bench that is the length of a wall where you can situate and live out of your suitcases and place your shoes under; too bad the bench can't be used for seating.

Other oddities - no facial tissue box but you get one small tissue pack (about 5 tissues); robes which we had to request (though advertised on AC's website as part of room amenities).

So what works in this hotel? The staff is friendly and accommodating, coffee in the room is good, daily two bottles of water complimentary, nice bath shower, and very good location. The St. Charles streetcar stop is about block away. For these reasons, I've given the hotel an "average" rating.

The restaurant is open for breakfast and closed for other meals. For Marriott Elite Members, breakfast is not complimentary; recommend to Management that hotel should do this since there is no concierge lounge. One welcoming beverage in the bar is offered complimentary to Elite Members. The breakfast quality and variety is average; highly suggest going to the many restaurants for breakfast/brunch.

If noise is a concern for you, request room that is known by Management to be quiet - not facing the street, not by elevators, not by the 6th floor courtyard, no adjoining rooms, etc.

There are two elevators - use the one that's a few steps further from the one in the lobby - the back one is always available and seems to be rarely used.

The AC Hotel is a good concept for Marriott, however, have to get the design right! We do like hotels like AC's ambiance, however, our next visit in New Orleans will be a stay at another hotel.

Room Tip: Request room that is known to be quiet - not facing the street, not by elevators, not by the 6th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, Hotel Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for being our guest at the new, European inspired AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon recently and for the detailed review. Although you liked our location, helpful associates and coffee in the room, I am sorry that we were not able to provide you with the most comfortable accommodations and did not meet your expectations. I am also sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the lack of closet space and amenities in your room. We do have different room sizes to choose from and I would like to inform you that, ours is an historic building with unique floor plans and no two rooms are identical. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all of the inconveniences that you mentioned in the review.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this further, so that I can do my best to make things right. Please feel free to contact me directly or email us with a phone number so our Hotel Manager can discuss your issues personally.

All the best,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Leaving Texas with all the weather issues on Monday (Memorial Day), our 4 1/2 hour delay was trying on our patience to say the least....however, upon our arrival at the AC Hotel New Orleans we were greeted by the beautiful smile of Dwan. We immediately felt at home. This new Marriott hotel concept worked for me and my wife. Our room had a unique feel but very comfortable...the only negative which has been mentioned in other reviews in the lighting in the bathroom...it could be brighter. Our overall stay was relaxing and enjoyable. The staff gave great recommendations for places to eat (Daisy Dukes, Gumbo Shop and Brennan's Steakhouse)....all were home run hits for us.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, Hotel Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing to stay at the European inspired AC Hotel in NOLA. We are sorry to hear about the delayed flight and the inconvenience you had, however, we are glad that we were able to provide you with a very comfortable stay experience. We get many compliments regarding the wonderful service that our associates provide to our guests, and I am delighted that you were happy with their suggestions and service with a smile! I will share your wonderful words with them, especially to Dwan as a confirmation that their "can do" attitude is noticed and appreciated by guests. We are delighted that you felt at home and your suggestions are much appreciated. Thank you once again for the gracious comments and we do hope to welcome you and your wife on your next visit to New Orleans!

All the best,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)

Address: 221 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Cotton Exchange Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect to the city in a completely new way at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon in the French Quarter Area. The first AC Hotel by Marriott in the United States, we provide innovative spaces of freedom and comfort, with a style that defines the most contemporary hospitality. We cater to travelers looking to immerse themselves in the energy of downtown New Orleans, LA. Stretched over eight floors, our 220 hotel rooms offer modern style and functional comfort with a touch of downtown flair. Thoughtful and intuitive amenities include complimentary mini-fridges, adjustable reading lamps, 47-inch flat-screen TVs featuring premium movie channels and deluxe bedding and pillows. Enjoy the freedom of complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and stay energized with a workout in our fitness center. Whether you're planning an intimate get-together for 10 or a reception for 160, our state-of-the-art event venues set the stage for memorable gatherings. Our lounge is open nightly, with a Happy Hour from 5pm to 7 pm and a light bite menu that will delight visitors and New Orleans locals alike. And while we want you feel welcome at the hotel, we also encourage you to explore; the French Quarter and the Warehouse district are right on our doorstep. Ready for an immersive and authentic travel experience here in New Orleans' most iconic neighborhood? Plan your urban adventure at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon, where personalized service and a modern mindset define us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.