We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd Room Layout” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) to your Saves list
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Cotton Exchange Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Odd Room Layout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Chose this room because it was walking distance to the French Quarter and just off the streetcar line. It appears Marriott is trying to bring some European flair to this American property, yet they chose to bring some of the European features that don't need imported. For instance, the bathroom door is lightly frosted glass. And it doesn't shut properly, it swings, both out and in. This affords a minimal amount of privacy. This might be fine for a single traveler or even a young couple but it is a strange choice in a room with two double beds. Also, the beds are on a part of the room raised above the door and bathroom. One edge of one bed is up against two stairs. Aesthetically fine, but in the middle of the night, not so pleasant to wake up teetering over the steps in the dark. I may stay again, but I'd ask for a room without the raised feature. I also wouldn't ask the staff for any restaurant recommendations. The doorman sent us to a tourist trap in the French Quarter that made us really regret that bathroom's lack of privacy the first night. He must get a kickback to send people there. There is a lovely crepe and coffee shop right around the corner that serves a good breakfast in the mornings. (He didn't point us there. We found it on our own.)

Room Tip: Ask about the layout of the room. Also, we had a view of a brick wall and some rooms overlook the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    34
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
40
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visited this hotel during a weekends stay with some friends. The front entrance was under construction but valet was very helpful. The decor is super modern and clean. The room was small and not a lot of storage but I didn't need it since I was there just over the weekend. Loved that It was very centrally located. Bourbon St. is a few blocks away and so is canal so we never actually took a cab. The only thing I did not like was that our room faced the front of the hotel and the street noise is very loud. The trolly car passes right in front of the hotel so that combined with fire trucks and beeping cars made for noisy morning. But not sure the hotel could have done anything different. I would stay again but just ask for a room in the rear or facing the back of the hotel. Staff was friendly and great and they have a nice bar onsite.

Room Tip: Request the rooms not facing the main road or the entrance street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just stayed three nights attending my first Jazz fest. My wife and I loved the hotel. Checked in with Dwayne and he went out of his way to get us acquainted with the property and the area. The room decor was awesome. Didn't want to leave the room. Spotless clean, great staff and perfect location. Just a block across Canal to French Quarter. Our friends stayed at a Four Points Sheraton in the middle of Bourbon street. No comparison. Their room was so small, older and in need of an upgrade. They loved visiting the AC and we met in our room each night for before dinner cocktails. GM, Melissa instantly responded to my email questions prior to arrival. Cassie does a great job in the very cool bar area. I Love NOLA and it's even better when your hotel blows away all expectations.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very new and European-style. The lobby and breakfast room are beautiful, and my room had hardwood floors. The staff was pleasant and competent. The breakfast, (which was 14.00 extra) was wonderful. It was a European style cold buffet with all of the prosciutto you can eat. You can slice your own prosciutto!

My room did not have a bathtub, but a very, very fancy shower. I do not know if they offer baths in other rooms. The Internet was free and worked well. There was also a coffeemaker, including the little creamers instead of the powdery stuff.

It isn't actually in the French Quarter, but two blocks away. And technically it's not on Bourbon street, because the street changes names at Canal Street.Be careful because right nearby, the streets aren't well lit when walking after dark to and from the hotel.

I would definitely go back again!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bathtub, I would ask. I don't know if they even have rooms with batht...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived to find no record of our pre-paid reservation.Gave reception the contact number,they said it did not connect.Had to use my Credit Card to get the room on the assurance it would not be charged once mix up sorted.Rang the same number myself next morning, got straight through to Hotelbeds .com they contacted the hotel and reception assured me prepayment had been allocated to my account.When we went to check out 4 days later there was still an amount outstanding including 6 breakfasts that we had not had-we were not even told by the reception that breakfast was available! After bringing the lady from the breakfast room to confirm that she had never seen us, they deducted them from the bill and again assured me that I would not be charged-but I was.When I complained to Marriott UK the hotel refunded my money only to charge it again 5 days later. It has taken 14 e-mails to sort it out .Administration is hopeless!!
Hotel is in a great position just a block from Canal and opposite Bourbon.Rooms are very clean but lack any character.Housekeeping was poor-our bed was not made on two occasions and we never received a full set of towels.Then there was the street noise-The streetcars run all night and sound like someone is rolling metal trash cans down the street.We were on the second floor and with no double glazing the noise was very,very loud.All in all a woeful visit, we would not recommend this hotel if you are a light sleeper and we certainly will not go there again. .

Room Tip: try a room at the back -no view but it has to be quieter and check your bill carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments areessential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. Furthermore, I will personally supervise that all your other complaints are addressed that everything will be in order on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very nice. Hotel lobby was noisy at night becaus of DJ with music and hotel bar. I asked for a room with a window facing the street and on a higher floor. I was given my choice. My room was also at the far end of the building away from the lobby. The rom was very quiet.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room like mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My laptop was stolen by housekeeping and the management is either covering up and complicit in the crime or they just don't care. There were long lines at check-in and the guests were just a big bother.
It is not safe.

Room Tip: go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, Manager at AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Tom,
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. I know that we have been in contact with you and I will continue to assist with resolving your issue. I can assure you that this is an isolated incident regarding your lost items. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area)

Address: 221 Carondelet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Cotton Exchange Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connect to the city in a completely new way at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon in the French Quarter Area. The first AC Hotel by Marriott in the United States, we provide innovative spaces of freedom and comfort, with a style that defines the most contemporary hospitality. We cater to travelers looking to immerse themselves in the energy of downtown New Orleans, LA. Stretched over eight floors, our 220 hotel rooms offer modern style and functional comfort with a touch of downtown flair. Thoughtful and intuitive amenities include complimentary mini-fridges, adjustable reading lamps, 47-inch flat-screen TVs featuring premium movie channels and deluxe bedding and pillows. Enjoy the freedom of complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, and stay energized with a workout in our fitness center. Whether you're planning an intimate get-together for 10 or a reception for 160, our state-of-the-art event venues set the stage for memorable gatherings. Our lounge is open nightly, with a Happy Hour from 5pm to 7 pm and a light bite menu that will delight visitors and New Orleans locals alike. And while we want you feel welcome at the hotel, we also encourage you to explore; the French Quarter and the Warehouse district are right on our doorstep. Ready for an immersive and authentic travel experience here in New Orleans' most iconic neighborhood? Plan your urban adventure at the AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon, where personalized service and a modern mindset define us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon (French Quarter Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.