We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Quarter Close By” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Exchange Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cotton Exchange Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotton Exchange Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Carondelet, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“French Quarter Close By”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was the cheapest place we could find in New Orleans that was near where we wanted to be (French Quarter) by a fair distance. Obviously due to renovations that are taking place. The rooms were a good size we had the misfortune of having no hot water while we stayed but were warned of this before we checked, and given the option to cancel free of charge by the very friendly front desk lady. The continental breakfast was comprehensive and good. The room was good size and clean so no problems there. You share parking with the Hilton next door self parking was about $28 per night. I would love to see this place once the renovations are complete should be very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
13
45
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

As other reviewers have commented, the building is being renovated so is something of a noisy mess; I booked on line a couple of days in advance and the price I paid was the best available in this part of town, being a very easy walk to the French Quarter (where the action is). Maybe the hotel is discounting the rooms because of the state of the building? If not, then they should be - no hot water for 1 of the days I was there and the advertised pool/fitness centre is closed. They have signs up asking for tolerance while they do the work, which is fine I guess but as far I am concerned I am a paying guest - they either provide a reduced service at a reduced price, or close completely until the work is finished.
+'s The room was actually very nice, comfy bed and seemed quite clean.
Breakfast is supplied although they don't restock it if something runs out; the girl whose job appeared to be the supervision of the buffet was entirely disinterested, spending her time playing with her phone. Various building contractors would wander through the dining area regularly and help themselves to the buffet which I expect contributed to the running out of some items.
Great location- easy walk to the cool area of town and also to a very nice food market 'Rouses'.
Self parking available in a building close by for $16/night which is a good price. I paid $30/night in Washington DC.
Good wifi service

-'s Not all the staff seem interested in their jobs
Building is far from being at its best due to the ongoing construction
Hot water service is at best, intermittent
Even though the room seemed quite clean, a rather large cockroach made an appearance. Suffice to say he is no longer in the building....

All in all, it is fine if you don't mind it being on a building site and don't have too-high expectations. I would certainly consider staying there again, but I would not expect to pay full rack-rate for a room.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms appear to be 'internal' as in now windows. Ensure you don't get one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton MS
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We didn't book in advance, and this was the only hotel that had a room available that wasn't $400.00/night.
The elevators worked.
The A/C worked and kept the room decent but was never really a comfortable temperature.
Our room (330) didn't have a window.
The room was clean, just had the typical stained carpet. It did smell pretty nice though.
The hotel is partially under construction (the lobby,which is really next door?)
The receptionist (all 5-100) was nice and helpful.
Located within a 15 minute walk to Bourbon St.
The fire alarm did magically go off at 4A.M for about 10 minutes, which no one could explain..? Overall, it was just okay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hotel has great staff and location. Hotel is located on Carondelet, out the front door and cross Canal and the name changes to BOURBON Street. Undergoing renovations, but still well worth the inconvenience. This fall when completed, it will be an AC Marriott. I personally saw 2 of the completed rooms and this hotel will be off the chart when renovation is complete.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

They should not be renting out rooms right now. First off, couldn't even find the front entrance because its closed off for remodel. We were on the 4th floor. After getting in the elevator it randomly goes down and up until it spurts us off on the 5th floor which looks like a scene from a horror movie. Completely empty and messy and unsafe. Then we go to find the pool, which is not there. I wish they had at least let us know of these things or give us a discount. OH and we came back early one day to find our water not working. After calling the front desk they let us know that it would be off from 10am to 4pm. Thanks for letting us know!!! I think the cotton exchange is just a hotel that was bought out and now doesnt care and is just fulfilling its final reservations because there are no other floors than ours that arent completely empty (no doors, not carpet, nothing) and there is no amenities (breakfast, pool, vending machine, ice). I just dont understand why they are still renting it out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa K, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your accommodations. Renovations are underway and will be complete this fall. We are closing one floor at a time to try to limit any inconvenience to our remaining guests. I do hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Melisa Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Friend booked this and we traveled as his guest. He says was told remodel would not start until June 1. We checked in May 13 and out May 17. Upon check in, found no lobby, no work out room, no concierge. As days unfolded we found pool had been closed, got woken up one morning at 6am to jack hammer noise, one morning at 3:30am to fire alarm and after evacuation was toid some wires got cut during construction.

Room not in good condition and not cleaned properly daily

This is only a few examples. These people should be ashamed to charge people for this

pat from wisconsin

Room Tip: No restaurant or spa, could not de select above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa K, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Please accept my apologies for your inconveniences during your stay. Renovations began on March 15 and will be completed by October. I am truly sorry that your friend was misinformed. Feel free to contact my office directly to discuss your issues and hopefully resolve them for you. I do hope you will stay with us in the near future.
Best Regards,
Melisa Kennedy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

They are in the process of remodeling this place...they better hurry. Stained carpets, stinks, beds are horrible. It was cheap and close to the Quarter and we were desperate....other than that...forget it. I would have to see the new and improved remodel before booking again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa K, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Please accept my apologies that you were not happy with your stay. Renovations are under way and expected to be completed by October. I am happy to show our model rooms during business hours at any time. We also have pictures up near the front desk so you can see what the future holds. I hope that you will stay with us in the fall to see our brand new hotel!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotton Exchange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Exchange Hotel

Address: 221 Carondelet, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cotton Exchange Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Cotton Exchange Hotel French Quarter/Downtown Area is located just 1 block from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter and within easy walking distance to the Superdome, New Orleans Arena, and other local attractions. The lobby, which features French impressionist paintings gives immediate access to the Greatroom. The elevator gives easy access to the guestrooms; meeting facilities, which include the Degas Ballroom and the garden rooftop pool. Vending machines available on all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cotton Exchange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Exchange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.