We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi gras 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Exchange Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cotton Exchange Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cotton Exchange Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Carondelet, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Purvis, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mardi gras 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Was a wonderful location would stay here again. Walking distance to everything. Would recommend.... Bed was okay not great. Our view was out the front of building so we were able to see down Boubon Street to the left.

Room Tip: prepared during Mardi Gras season to pay big..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear dianeclifton69,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the Mardi Gras 2013. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit at our Hotel. Your comments will help us evaluate the services we offer to our dear guests as well as inspire us to continuously strive in service delivery. We look forward to your next stay. Please do consider us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
10
42
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great location!!! within walking distance to Bourbon St., the French quarter and Harrah's. It's an older hotel so don't expect it to be the Ritz Carlton. The room was clean and quiet and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Kevin P,

We are very pleased to know that you were able to enjoy your stay with our Hotel’s great location. Your feedback is much appreciated as it greatly aids us in developing new ideas that will make your stay much more satisfying and wonderful. It has been a pleasure to serve you with our warm and friendly staff and rest assured that your kind words will be passed on to them. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here as it was close to the French Quarter. Not the best Hotel we've stayed in, but it's got a good location but still pretty cheap for where it is. The room we had was clean, but very small and had very old furniture and a tv we couldn't get to work properly. Not that we were bothered about TV. A lot of the days we were there it was hard to get the room cleaned. Some days I didn't care, but when you have to chase them down the corridor for towels and coffee, it puts you off a bit. Again though, the place is cheap. Breakfast, (ahem) well, it was a bit weird really....Some day it was pretty inedible. Most days the bread tasted stale. On at least 5 occasion's I had to ask for the bread or coffee to be refilled. On one occasion the lady looking after the breakfast was fast asleep in a room behind the dinning area. I woke her up!!! (This will be a live away to who I am now) However this was a small problem. The place fed us, gave us a quiet (ish) comfortable bed for a couple of weeks and a great price....I think paying the extra £20-£30 a night to stay elsewhere would be our choose next time, but it was ok,.........for the price........

The Chap on the desk was a complete hero though.....He must have worked 100 hours the first week we were there? it seemed he was always on the desk every time we went through reception. Very helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Paul B,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review your experience at our Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms will be immediately forwarded to our staff to ensure that it will be taken seriously. Your satisfaction is our business and we are saddened that we failed to exceed your expectations during your stay. We will also remind our staff to ensure that our guests are provided with everything you needed during your stay. However, it is enlightening to know that our front desk staff was able to attend to your needs. We value your opinion and business. Rest assured the comments you made will be addressed in order for us to improve our services; we hope you give us a chance to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My friend found a Groupon for this hotel. After reading reviews/guest pictures I was terrified but this was a great place to stay. The staff was amazing, we knew just about every staff member by name. John, the amazing bellman did all he could to accommodate us from beginning to the very end! (Thanks John!)

Room Tip: I would definitely stay at this hotel again even if I didn't have a Groupon. If your visiting NO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Rebekah C,

It is wonderful to know that you were able to experience a great stay at our Hotel. Your satisfaction is an achievement for our entire staff. We always look forward to guest reviews and to hear such kind words- especially to John is indeed an inspiration to our team. We will continuously strive to provide comfortable and relaxing stays to our dear guests. Please do consider us again on your next trip. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Staff was very pleasant. The bell hop John was extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The location is PERFECT if you want to be walking distance from bourbon street and all of the action but far enough away to get some peace & quiet. The hotel is walking distance from all of the french quarter attractions. I would definitely stay again based on its location alone. The room was decent, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear E_Jade614,

We appreciate you giving your feedback about your experience. Your comments regarding our accommodations and services will be forwarded to our staff. It is another inspiration for us to strive more and exceed our customers’ expectations of our Hotel. Rest assured the comments you made will be help us to further improve our services. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Clean rooms. Perfect location. Just close enough to Bourbon to be quiet at night. Close enough to walk to the Saints game. Close enough to walk to Jackson square, but we took the trolley a couple times just because we planned on walking all day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJKennedy221, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valorie325,
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience following your most recent visit with us. Our dedication to service delivery is supported by positive feedbacks we receive from our dear guests. Our Hotel values your opinion and business. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Very good location for all the sights visited. Very good value for the price. Had coffee each morning but did not eat the free breakfast but it appeared fresh with eggs, meat, and fruit. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, General Manager at Cotton Exchange Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Charles B,
Our hotel is very proud to know that you were well assisted by our staff during your stay. Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent visit. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with our good location and quality services provided by our efficient staff.

Your feedback will help in our aim to exceed our guests’ expectations of our hotel and we certainly hope we’ll be able to satisfy you more on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotton Exchange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Exchange Hotel

Address: 221 Carondelet, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cotton Exchange Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Cotton Exchange Hotel French Quarter/Downtown Area is located just 1 block from Bourbon Street and the French Quarter and within easy walking distance to the Superdome, New Orleans Arena, and other local attractions. The lobby, which features French impressionist paintings gives immediate access to the Greatroom. The elevator gives easy access to the guestrooms; meeting facilities, which include the Degas Ballroom and the garden rooftop pool. Vending machines available on all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cotton Exchange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Exchange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.