We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average? some good some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chateau Orleans to your Saves list
Chateau Orleans
240 Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Reno Nevada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average? some good some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just spent a week as a time share exchange. I usually drop my standards some with time shares and this property requires the same (I wouldn't stay here just as a hotel). While the location is very good in the quarter and the pool and courtyard are way above average, nothing else is run very well. Staff is only there 9-5 which isn't very customer friendly. In the main building, the walls are paper thin and there was no one to intervene when there was loud singing and talking after midnight. We had to resort to pounding on the floor! Supposedly there is maid service every day but Sunday but it was spotty and irregular. Our "Two bedroom" unit was really a one bedroom with an open loft with no privacy. This doesn't have to be a problem--we just wish we had been forewarned. The lighting is extremely poor which was a problem since we had an inside room without a balcony. They offer coffee in the morning but since no one gets there before 9 am, it was useless to us most mornings since we took advantage of morning hours before the town got too swampy. New Orleans casts its magic no matter what the room is like. There are signs around the property that they are upgrading but we didn't see any sign of it. Fair time share exchange or otherwise look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the outside cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    7
    6
    12
See reviews for
9
31
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a perfect spot to walk to all the main attractions, but quiet street away from all the noise. Friendly staff, and gorgeous pool and patio to relax by, but some rooms are small and dark, and if curtains are open give little privacy from other guests. Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

great Staff and wonderful people beautiful rooms and lovely courtyard/super comfortable room and Bed ! we are on the bottom floor had astraight walk out to the courtyard a little bit noisy from street noise but worth the comfort

Room Tip: try to get a lower room you can walk out into the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked two rooms here and we were very pleased with them. They are in he process of remodeling. The bathroom and the carpeting needing updating, but everything else was fine. The bed was very comfortable. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and it overlooked the very pretty courtyard and a beautiful pool, which was very clean. The location was on the end of the French Quarter close to Canal Street. It was quiet and close enough to walk to anywhere in the Quarter. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the buildings with an elevator. Would not have wanted a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Some friends had stayed here before so we tried it. With four of us staying in one unit, we had plenty of room. Our living room/kitchen was huge and our bedrooms were very adequate. The only downside was the spiral staircase up to the bedrooms and bathroom. It was very narrow and had many steps. Most other units did not have stairs. We had a complete kitchen, but who wants to cook when staying in the French Quarter? We did use the fridge, coffee maker, and glassware. We made our own coffee the first morning, but then we found that the manager prepared coffee and put it in the courtyard by eight o'clock. We really enjoyed sitting at the very nice table in the courtyard having coffee and later having wine or a cocktail. The manager was friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining and things to do. As with all places in the French Quarter, parking costs extra, but the price is very reasonable here. You do have to walk about two blocks to get to your car and you must park above level 5, and there's no elevator. The price varies for a room here depending on the occasion so check before you go.

Room Tip: There is a lot of variety here. If you can't climb a spiral staircase, you don't want that r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGV, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you want to stay in the French Quarter but somewhat away from the loud noise, this is the place! charming B&B style, brick house, original wood floors. They are in the process of renovating many of the units, so some of them still have somewhat original equipment (bath, kitchenette, etc). If you are looking for a resort style stay, look else where. If you are down for small, quiet, CLEAN place, this is IT!

Staff is very friendly, gave lots of good advice of where to eat.

Parking is very expensive in the area, the resort offers parking but still cost $30 a day. I was told later, it doesn't cost much to get a taxi ride from the airport to French Quarters. Public transport (streetcar) is very easy and cheap. Plus, you can WALK all over the French Quarter.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A girlfriend and I spent a week exploring the French Quarter while staying at the lovely Chateau Orleans. Great location only two blocks from both Bourbon St. and Canal. Our accommodations were a small 2 story house inside a tropical courtyard. The full kitchen was newly remodeled and the furnishings were attractive and comfortable. More floor or table lamps in the living room and bedroom would have been useful. Free wifi throughout the resort so making dinner reservations, etc. was simple. The manager, Paul, was so helpful and accommodating. He booked an excellent swamp tour for us as well as a plantation visit. Overall, a good place to stay with true NOLA ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard and away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Orleans

Address: 240 Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70112
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Chateau Orleans New

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.